We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel and Attentive Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Arrived really late after a four hour drive and was pleased to check into a room that was well maintained and clean. Crib we had requested was in the room, as well as a gift bag with snacks and water. At breakfast the next morning the attendant offered and set up a booster seat for my 14 month old niece. All staff were pleasant, professional, and attentive during our stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to review our property! Out staff takes great pride in giving each of our guests the best possible experience, from check-in, to the comfort and cleanliness of your room, to your morning breakfast! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great hotel when attending functions at Franklin Plaza, or this area of Troy NY he rooms were great, all of the staff friendly, the lobby area is very comfortable with fireplace going, comfortable couches and easy chairs;

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent event at the stunning Franklin Plaza! We love serving our wedding and event guests and hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The staff at the front desk are excellent. Very nice and helpful in restaurant recommendations and directions. The lobby area is relatively nice. I was on the third floor and thought the floors were dirty and hallways kind of dark. . My room did not appear to have been vacuumed or at least it was done poorly. The room is small and quite tight for more than 2 people. The beds were comfortable but I would bring your own pillows. The blankets also seemed old and worn. You could not plug anything into the outlet near the bed without the whole outlet going into the wall (Maybe you could use it but I was concerned enough that I didn't). My room faced the river and you could hear traffic outside, maybe the other side is quieter. The location was perfect for our purpose. If I return to that area I will likely look for someplace else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We do apologize that you experienced some issues during your stay. We are currently in the process or replacing all the carpet in our hotel and adding crown molding to the rooms. Unfortunately it seems our construction interfered with the comfort of your stay and we sincerely apologize! We greatly value your business and would love to have another opportunity to give you the service and accommodations we pride ourselves in. Please contact me at personally at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com the next time you are planning to stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Upon arrival, the staff greeted guests immediately and there was no delay in finding and processing my reservation. The room was ready for my early check-in and I was able to receive the room keys immediately. The staff were helpful in sharing what amenities were available in the hotel, as well as their location in relation to my room. They were also able to help me identify other things in the area that may be worth exploring. Hotel room was extremely clean, bathroom was in beautiful condition. Hotel staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast offered a great variety of different foods and the foods in the buffet style serving were all hot and fresh. Overall great facility and prices on rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location, service great, breakfast over all good, only because I don't like the "cheese" omelet day, otherwise good options. Great restaurants nearby, there is a public bus that takes you directly to the Albany State Museum (for $1.50 one way ITS A DEAL!) and the state capitol. Amazing restaurants within walking distance ( Brown's Brewing CO. on 4th st) and lunch at Spilin the beans, on 3rd st. Will come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rooms looked "like new"; everything was so clean; bed was very comfortable; nice sized bathroom; friendly staff; terrific free breakfast; ample parking; pet friendly; and great sound-proofing. We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Not as posh as the Hilton Garden Inn but nicely located near the arts district, river and restaurants. Service was excellent. No complaints about the room. Very quiet. It would be nice if there were an indoor pool, so families traveling with children might want to take that into consideration. There is a pool at the Hilton, for what it's worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately we do not have a pool, however there are many family-friendly activities in downtown Troy that are as accessible to those staying at the Hilton. Our front desk staff would be happy to give you any information upon your next visit!

We are also the only hotel in Troy that offers a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet, and we know that is very convenient to guests traveling with children.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will choose the Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn on your next trip to Troy, NY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £74 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing