We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2014

wanted to see band playing at the Dinosaur BBQ so needed a place to stay over night. The location of hotel is excellent because the restaurant is directly across the street from the Dinosaur. There is also a walk way along the Hudson river which very nice as well. The hotel is very clean as well as the rooms. Staff is friendly. Only thing I did not care for is the ice machine is on first floor. would be nice if they had one on each floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heriberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to Dinosaur BBQ! (We love that place!) There are so many unique and wonderful spots in Troy, NY and it is always a pleasure to be apart of EnjoyTroy!

We hope that you will come back to the area soon! (You might like Rocking on the River - free outdoor concerts on Wed nights in the summer - just out the back door of our hotel.) We would be happy to direct your towards our favorite local restaurants, shops and watering holes on your next stay with us. Until then, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff: extended much warmth and helpfulness The place: lovely, comfortable, convenient Convenience: our daughter was staying at the hotel getting married at the party house next door. Everything was done to make this a wonderful experience for her and the bridal party. Breakfast: there was a nice variety...something for everyone no matter the diet they were on. The overall experience was excellent. We are very grateful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel gets great reviews from me. Here for a wedding that was directly across the street. So convenient and a very nice hotel to stay at. Clean, friendly. Clean rooms, staff always ready to assist. Area looked very old, but I think that is the condition of the whole city and I think they are trying to update city while keeping character.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend wedding stay with us! It is always a pleasure to have guests experience not only our award-winning hotel, but our exquisite banquet facility - the Franklin Plaza - as well! You also noticed that our city has history - Troy, NY is one of the oldest cities in the United States and has MANY historic buildings and is known for its unique architecture. We hope you are able to visit again in the future and take in more of what this great city has to offer!

Thank you again for staying with us and for reviewing our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

great hotel would love to stay here again! great bar b q across the street clean and friendly staff great location if looking to stay in troy new york breakfast was great with eggs and meat and hashbrowns

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank H9940WKjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn! We love it when our guests take the opportunity to enjoy the many fantastic local restaurants - and Dino BBQ is one of our favs! (And just out the back door!) You really cannot go wrong there. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the full complimentary breakfast at our property.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to have you back to Troy, NY at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The staff here is wonderful and knowledgeable. They are pleased to interact and happy to guide you to many great things to see and do in the area. The bedding is comfortable. The wireless internet is quick enough. The hotel is located close to several restaurants and within walking distance of stores, shopping, and the Hudson.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank BThomson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn! Our staff take great pride in offering the best service for our guests - and our location in the heart of downtown Troy, NY makes it easy! We hope you were able to enjoy some of the many unique shops and restaurants and that you are able to experience more of what our hotel and Troy, NY have to offer in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of February 2014. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is one of the better at BW that I've had. I didn't see any problem with snow removal in the parking lot as others have mentioned.
The rooms are large with a good size TV and there isn't much noise from the street, they do have those infernal AC/Heater units under the windows that could be annoying if you're a light sleeper.
There is a small but functional gym.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoWhee_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms clean & comfortable and our breakfast satisfying! We know that you have a choice when booking hotels and we appreciate your business. The staff at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn make it our goal to give each of our guests a comfortable and pleasant experience when they visit us. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed at the Franklin plaza numerous times. If your elderly or dont know how to ice skate dont stay in the winter months. After a storm they do not know how to clean up the snow, the parking lot is a sheet of ice and the snow isnt pushed far enough back making parking pretty difficult. For the past few years I have been staying at the hilton instead.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd1tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem while staying with us. While we have had a particularly brutal winter in the capital district of New York this year, we have a team of no less than 5 people who plow, shovel, salt and clear off the parking lot and vehicles during and after winter storms. I would really appreciate more details on your experience so I might relay it to my staff, especially what time of day you encountered an icy sidewalk or lot.

Please feel free to contact me at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com at your earliest convenience and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.

Best Regards,
Whitney Grey
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £74 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing