We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, Troy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Comfortable, attractive, clean. Friendly, helpful, efficient staff. Has self-serve laundry facilities, which is very helpful if on a long road trip. Great place to stay in downtown Troy. Breakfast buffet is better than most.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank KEW686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future - especially because we have just completed a full renovation of our breakfast area and have many new offerings. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was slightly hesitant to stay at this BW since it was in Troy and I've always thought the area looked rundown when driving through but I decided to take the chance and am so happy I did!

The hotel is very nice with adequate parking around the building. The exterior was nothing fancy to look at but well kept. Step inside and the lobby has WOW factor! Check in was quick and easy and the front desk staff (sorry but I never wrote down your names) were very friendly and smiling. We were told where our room was and where the large breakfast room was located plus where ice/vending was.

I was only in town for the night as I was going to a concert in Albany. The staff made sure to tell me they could give directions if I needed them. It was a hop, skip, and jump to downtown Albany so I made the right choice in location.

The room, while small, while very clean and comfortable. Newly renovated it was in excellent shape. Bathroom was sparkly clean. Beds were super comfy. My teen niece was impressed with the comfort and the quality of bath products as was I.

No noise except for the typical rude group of people coming in at 3am shouting good night to each other in the hallway. No fault of the hotel that grown ups act like kids when away from home. It ended quickly so no harm done.

Hotel has a few restaurants and shops nearby. Hopefully I can visit again soon since the area seemed interesting and safe.

All staff from front desk to housekeeping to concierge were very friendly. Will definitely stay again when I'm in Albany area. Well worth the few minute ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are always happy to surprise our guests - not only with our hotel, but also with our city! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Albany, NY and we hope to have you back again during one of our many events this summer! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The breakfast was excellent! The room was neat and the hotel was spotless. Everyone was very friendly and I look forward to staying there again. It is conveniently located in downtown Troy and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We know traveling can be stressful and at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn we strive to make every guests' stay as comfortable as possible - which begins with a spotless room! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus as part of a wedding block. We really did not know what to expect and had low expectations. However, we were happily surprised. The room we had was smallish but it was clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. The air conditioner was quite loud but didn't bother us as it worked very well. We did not have the free breakfast that was included. We opted to explore the neighborhood and found a great coffee shop (coffee was ok, but food was great), a block away. We also walked through the farmers market which was a block away. The farmers market was one of the best I've seen, and the coffee there was great. Troy has very limited options for accommodations. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pucci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel - and we are so pleased that we surpassed your expectations! We love when our wedding guests have the opportunity to not only experience our award-winning hotel, our exquisite banquet facilities - but also our beautiful city! The Troy Waterfront Farmers Market is really a gem and we hope you are able to come back and taste more of its treats as the season goes on!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed @ this hotel because we were in town for a Springsteen concert in Albany. The location of this hotel is great - walking distance to numerous restaurants & bars and the river. Front desk was extremely helpful providing us w/ information and directions to restaurants, and she even gave us a tip on where to park in Albany for the show which saved us a twenty dollar parking fee! Can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff! Room was nicely appointed, bed comfortable, complimentary breakfast pretty standard, but hey, it is complimentary! Wish we had more time to explore Troy, when we return we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ssuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are so pleased that you "Enjoyed Troy"! We love our city and its proximity to Albany, Schenectady and the rest of the Capital District. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us while you were here for the concert and we hope you will return for another fun local event! Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We started staying at this hotel four years ago when my son first started at RPI. It was an above average experience at that time - but not anymore. Noise in the hotel is way up, price is up and the neighborhood is down. Cannot recommend to anybody with a clear conscience. Doors provide no sound insulation from hallway noise, elevator vibrates into room and the drywall between the rooms does nothing to muffle the midnight headboard bangers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize that you had problems with noise on your most recent stay with us. Unfortunately, we periodically have guests that do not respect the comfort of the guests around them - however, we will always speak to noisy guests and/or move you to another room that will be more comfortable. We greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests and strive to make every stay with us at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn a superior one. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further, please email me at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

working bathroom door (it probably should close all the way) hair on pillows (not my hair) hair on bed blanket (not my hair) stains on throw pillows (not my stains) non-working remote control noise everywhere, running water, foot steps in hall, door closings...just to name a few.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We sincerely apologize that you had issues with your room and your stay with us. At the BW Plus Franklin Square we take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and have brought this report of your stay to the attention of our management and housekeeping staff. In the future, please let us know if there are any issues with your room or service while you stay with us; we are more than happy to move you to another room or upgrade you when we have the availability whenever there is an issue that falls below our standards of cleanliness and service.

I would be more than happy to discuss this further and offer you a complimentary stay in the future. Please contact me at 518.274.880 or wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing