We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack Your Ear Plugs and Your Patience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pack Your Ear Plugs and Your Patience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

For those of you who have read my other reviews, I hope you will agree that I try hard to be positive and objective. This hotel did not allow me to do so. There are many hotel properties in Troy and the surrounding area. I recommend anyone considering this hotel also look near the Albany Airport just minutes away where there are many nice hotels that will hopefully treat you better. There were several problems. The biggest problem was extreme noise outside of our room much of the night. Apparently there were two very rowdy wedding parties in the hotel. I had asked to be placed at the end of the hall AWAY from the elevator. Instead, our room was just two doors down from the elevator. All night long, very loud guests were walking past our room partying and talking very loudly. The doors and walls are not very soundproof. It was impossible to get any sleep. We called to complain and the desk claimed they had come to our floor and found it quiet so they did nothing more about it. When I complained about the problem in the morning, I was told that an adjustment could not be made at that time until the hotel manager could review our situation.
I received a call later in the day from the manager. Contrary to what the desk personnel had told us that they could not find anyone causing problems, the manager (Ivan) told me that they had been forced to eject several guests because of the disturbances. Apparently, the situation was very serious. Although he offered a modest reduction in the price of the room, this did not compensate us for the complete lack of sleep that night. In short, we received NO VALUE for our room and we would have been better off simply driving 3 hours home instead, rather than staying overnight. We can understand that the staff cannot predict that guests may get out of hand, but when they do, they should control the problem immediately and make proper adjustments for the other guests who were put out by the extreme inconvenience.

A second but related problem is the HVAC system. Normally, we like to leave the fan on blowing on high to create white noise and help block any disturbances. The system at this hotel does not work that way. Once the AC compressor stops, the fan also stops. This means that the AC is cycling on and off throughout the night, stopping and starting. Of course, when it’s on, it helps block the ambient noise. When it’s off, you can hear everything outside the room. We turned the unit down to 60 degrees and the room was freezing (we used the extra blanket to stay warm) but the unit still kept cycling.

Finally, I was not happy at all with the room charge. We had stayed here a few weeks earlier at a much lower rate. Since I knew that we would be returning a few weeks later, I re-booked the hotel while at the front desk. The clerk never told me that the rates were 50% more than when I was staying on that occasion. So I was shocked when I got the bill this time around and saw how expensive it was. I also complained about this to the manager, and they simply argued with me that they charge different rates at different times of year. That’s fine, but what was upsetting was the lack of any communication when I booked the room.

Room Tip: Book far away from the elevator. Check your rate carefully. Look at other nearby properties before b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remdawg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. At the Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn we take great efforts to make sure every guest experiences the best comfort and convenience that we may offer and your stay did not meet our standards of service.

We apologize for the other guests at our hotel that were noisy late into the evening, and for the unrest and discomfort this caused you and your family. As soon as you brought this issue to our attention, our front desk staff went and spoke to the guests and followed the procedures we have in place for addressing noisy/unruly guests. They were ultimately asked to leave the hotel. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and in response we awarded you a significant discount on your stay.

Like all hotels our rates fluctuate with the time of year and based upon availability. We apologize if this was not made clear or not realized when you received your confirmation for your future stay. However, we always offer an RPI visitor discount for those visiting the university.

On behalf of all of our staff we apologize that your stay was not at the high standard to which we hold ourselves. We sincerely hope that you and your family will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the comfort and convenience that we pride ourselves in. Please contact me directly and I will assure you are placed in the most quiet room available.

I may be reached at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com or 518.274.8800

Sincerely,
Whitney Grey
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    132
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
175
91
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
fort ann, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we had a wonderful experience at franklin square. checked in 1 hour early with no hassle. close to many nice pubs and restaurants. this would be a great weekend get away hotel. troy is becoming more visitor friendly all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we sincerely hope you are able to come back and #EnjoyTroy !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great stay with a very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is outstanding. Endless hot coffee, waffles, eggs and sweets. Roomy sunlight area with many tables so there's no waiting or standing around to eat. In the center of all the action. Dinosaur BBQ across the street. Huge farmers' market on Saturday. Many little boutiques and restaurants within walking distance. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 124victoriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for complimenting our staff! We are rather proud of them as well! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore a bit of our town. The Troy Waterfront Farmers Market - its one of our favorites as well!

We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience more of what our great city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a family gathering at the Best Western in Troy. It was a great location right on the Hudson River and within walking distance of a newly renovated Troy, NY. I loved the fact that we could walk along the river, walk to great restaurants and walk to downtown without having to drive to a location. We were only 7 miles from the Amtrak that we took to NYC. We enjoyed four restaurants nearby, and saw a concert in the park right across the street. The room, staff and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Very inviting lobby, staff very helpful, location great, very clean and comfortable room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Saratoga Springs race track. Troy was a nice place to come back to every night. Great places to eat and very relaxing. The Saturday outdoor market was great and everything was within walking distance of the hotel. We had a view of the Hudson River from our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Saratoga Springs, NY! We love having racetrack visitors stay with us! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the surrounding area. Please come again soon - Fall is a great time in upstate New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and had a beautiful lobby. The staff could not be more polite. The free continental breakfast was very good and had a large selection. There were bars and restaurants all in walking distance. A magazine (518) called it the next "Brooklyn" Seems like alot going on in the area. Not sure if I would want to walk around late at night. The room was nice however TV reception was not the best. The price seemed high for a Best Western Plus however other hotels in the area were even more. Its two minutes from RTI. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff4431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We take great pride in our city and love when our guests are able to not only enjoy the comfort of our hotel but the convenience to this up and coming city! There are so many local gems that we really hope you have a chance to return and experience more of what Troy, NY has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn. Come back and #EnjoyTroy !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful. The breakfast in the morning was good.. The facility was clean and well organized. There was something there for everyone. There were stores and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing