We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Choice for Visiting RPI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
bucks co pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy Choice for Visiting RPI”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel while moving my son into RPI. My husband walked back from campus one day and it took about 7 minutes. Dinosaur BBQ is right across the street (highly recommend) and the town of Troy has many, many small restaurants and shops within walking distance. The Hudson River is just across the street and was a great place to hang out during our last few hours together before our tearful goodbyes. The breakfast was good, the lounge area was very nice and we loved the infused water and treats that were always available in the lobby. The vending machine was a little odd - tampon, condoms and eye drops right next to the chips and danish - and it needed some better snack options. The manager was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank copper471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We love hosting our RPI families as they visit their students and explore the area. We hope you are able to explore more of Troy, NY as you come back to visit the school. I also really appreciate your feedback about the vending options, I will communicate this to our vending company, we apologize for the inconvenience of too few options.

We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Troy! Stop by the front desk and we can give you some of our favorite spots:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    133
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
176
93
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is elegant, friendly, super clean and across the street from the Dinosaur BBQ on the Hudson river. For the money, the experience can not be beat. Warning: July and August is racing season in Saratoga just to the north. All or nearly all hotels and motels raise their prices significantly during this season.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area. Troy has so many unique restaurants, shops, nightlife and so much history! We hope you will be able to come back to stay with us and explore more of our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a king suite with two rooms on the Best Western website several weeks ago. We wanted two separate private rooms as we were taking our son back to RPI. When we arrived, the suite they assigned us to was one large room with a fold out sofa, fancy antique furniture and a whirlpool tub. When I returned to the desk to protest, I was told that there was only one two room suite in the hotel, and that it was already booked for a wedding party. The gentleman At the desk apologized and said he would give us an extra room except that they were completely booked.

Beware to other parents who think they are getting two rooms!

The suite itself (which was twice the price of a regular room) was well worn, stained carpeting and poorly lit. On demand TV didn't work. Worst of all, there was a sewage odor the entire time we were in the room which seemed to be coming from outside the room.

Needless to say, it was a disappointing stay. I really like the location of this hotel, right next to the river and in the middle of a reviving downtown Troy. With the only other hotel offering in town being a bland corporate style box, I suppose we will give this one another try on our next visit. In a different room!


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We apologize that there was an issue with the room type during your stay with us. I see that you booked your reservation online, and at that time only the one room luxury suite with the Jacuzzi was available. You may have seen pictures of the other 2 room suite, but that suite was already booked at the time you made your reservation. We sincerely apologize that there was confusion - if it would make you more comfortable for future bookings, please contact me directly at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com or 518.274.8800 so we may ensure you are in the type of room that works best for your family.

We also apologize that you had issues with the room you did stay in. We are currently in the process of replacing all carpet and renovating all of our suites and apologize that yours was not completed at the time of your stay with us. We also apologize for the smell you described and I have alerted my maintenance staff to this.

At the Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn we hold ourselves to the highest standards of comfort, convenience and customer service and we apologize that your stay did not meet those standards. We hope you will consider to stay with us again that we may offer you the type of experience we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great Hotel for visiting Rensselaer. Breakfast is decent. Rooms could smell better, cleaner, fresher. Close to Restaruants and small coffee shops. My suggestion would be that Best Western build another hotel near by RPI as there are not if any other good to great quality hotels near by. Parents week in October is already sold out. Parents staying in Latham and Albany all had varying stories on staying in other hotels. We all agreed and preferred to stay as close as possible to the RPI campus and would like to have another hotel near by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We love sharing our RPI pride with parents, students, and professors who stay at our hotel! We are sorry that we cannot accommodate you for parents weekend - we do recommend the La Quinta in Latham for that weekend if you cannot find anything in Troy, NY. We hope that you and your family have another opportunity to stay with us as your visit your RPI student! Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to make reservations for any future stays at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

For those of you who have read my other reviews, I hope you will agree that I try hard to be positive and objective. This hotel did not allow me to do so. There are many hotel properties in Troy and the surrounding area. I recommend anyone considering this hotel also look near the Albany Airport just minutes away where there are many nice hotels that will hopefully treat you better. There were several problems. The biggest problem was extreme noise outside of our room much of the night. Apparently there were two very rowdy wedding parties in the hotel. I had asked to be placed at the end of the hall AWAY from the elevator. Instead, our room was just two doors down from the elevator. All night long, very loud guests were walking past our room partying and talking very loudly. The doors and walls are not very soundproof. It was impossible to get any sleep. We called to complain and the desk claimed they had come to our floor and found it quiet so they did nothing more about it. When I complained about the problem in the morning, I was told that an adjustment could not be made at that time until the hotel manager could review our situation.
I received a call later in the day from the manager. Contrary to what the desk personnel had told us that they could not find anyone causing problems, the manager (Ivan) told me that they had been forced to eject several guests because of the disturbances. Apparently, the situation was very serious. Although he offered a modest reduction in the price of the room, this did not compensate us for the complete lack of sleep that night. In short, we received NO VALUE for our room and we would have been better off simply driving 3 hours home instead, rather than staying overnight. We can understand that the staff cannot predict that guests may get out of hand, but when they do, they should control the problem immediately and make proper adjustments for the other guests who were put out by the extreme inconvenience.

A second but related problem is the HVAC system. Normally, we like to leave the fan on blowing on high to create white noise and help block any disturbances. The system at this hotel does not work that way. Once the AC compressor stops, the fan also stops. This means that the AC is cycling on and off throughout the night, stopping and starting. Of course, when it’s on, it helps block the ambient noise. When it’s off, you can hear everything outside the room. We turned the unit down to 60 degrees and the room was freezing (we used the extra blanket to stay warm) but the unit still kept cycling.

Finally, I was not happy at all with the room charge. We had stayed here a few weeks earlier at a much lower rate. Since I knew that we would be returning a few weeks later, I re-booked the hotel while at the front desk. The clerk never told me that the rates were 50% more than when I was staying on that occasion. So I was shocked when I got the bill this time around and saw how expensive it was. I also complained about this to the manager, and they simply argued with me that they charge different rates at different times of year. That’s fine, but what was upsetting was the lack of any communication when I booked the room.

Room Tip: Book far away from the elevator. Check your rate carefully. Look at other nearby properties before b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remdawg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. At the Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn we take great efforts to make sure every guest experiences the best comfort and convenience that we may offer and your stay did not meet our standards of service.

We apologize for the other guests at our hotel that were noisy late into the evening, and for the unrest and discomfort this caused you and your family. As soon as you brought this issue to our attention, our front desk staff went and spoke to the guests and followed the procedures we have in place for addressing noisy/unruly guests. They were ultimately asked to leave the hotel. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and in response we awarded you a significant discount on your stay.

Like all hotels our rates fluctuate with the time of year and based upon availability. We apologize if this was not made clear or not realized when you received your confirmation for your future stay. However, we always offer an RPI visitor discount for those visiting the university.

On behalf of all of our staff we apologize that your stay was not at the high standard to which we hold ourselves. We sincerely hope that you and your family will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the comfort and convenience that we pride ourselves in. Please contact me directly and I will assure you are placed in the most quiet room available.

I may be reached at wgrey@franklinsquareinn.com or 518.274.8800

Sincerely,
Whitney Grey
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort ann, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we had a wonderful experience at franklin square. checked in 1 hour early with no hassle. close to many nice pubs and restaurants. this would be a great weekend get away hotel. troy is becoming more visitor friendly all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we sincerely hope you are able to come back and #EnjoyTroy !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great stay with a very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is outstanding. Endless hot coffee, waffles, eggs and sweets. Roomy sunlight area with many tables so there's no waiting or standing around to eat. In the center of all the action. Dinosaur BBQ across the street. Huge farmers' market on Saturday. Many little boutiques and restaurants within walking distance. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 124victoriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for complimenting our staff! We are rather proud of them as well! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore a bit of our town. The Troy Waterfront Farmers Market - its one of our favorites as well!

We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience more of what our great city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Latham/Albany North
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing