We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Jewel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Last minute plans during Finger Lakes peak season had us scrambling for accomodations. We were lucky (or perhaps it was Divine intervention) to find the last room in this precious B&B. The home has been lovingly restored and includes some modern additions without taking away the feeling of rich history such an old house exudes. The room was, for a better word, quaint and simple with period touches but not overdone. The bathroom was very large and included a bar of wonderful homemade soap. The public areas and common kitchen were warm and inviting with gardens in the back yard filled with a variety of trees, plants and flowers. The scent of roses....

Now we need to talk about innkeeper Jack! If anyone was meant to be an inkeeper it is Jack! Warm, welcoming, friendly and oh yes did I mention a fantastic cook? The two breakfasts were delicious fresh creations. A perfect blend of sweet and savory.
He helped us plan our days and offered helpful suggestions. for example, dinner at Dorothy's Music Room. We would have never picked this tiny place and would have missed out on the excellent food they had to offer.
Thank you so much Jack and sweet Willie!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

It was a sincere pleasure hosting the McNeals for their Anniversary celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip through upstate New York since I would be in Rochester for work. We found the Black Walnut B&B online and decided to book it and have our first B&B experience. We could not be happier. Jack was amazing and pointed us in the right direction for our short trip. We will definitely be returning the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cclif22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I found the Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast while searching online for a bed and breakfast near Ithaca, NY for a short vacation/anniversary get-a-way. My spouse and I traveled to Trumansburg, after returning our daughter to Rochester for her summer employment. We had talked about one day engaging in a tour of the Finger Lake wine region, and we had done a bit of research in preparation. jack Moore the owner/innkeeper greeted us warmly upon arrival, chatted a while to familiarize us with the house and surrounding restaurants, and informed us that when we returned from dinner, there would be two glasses, a bottle of red wine on the counter, and a white in the fridge for us to enjoy as a welcome. We spent the late evening perusing Jack's collection of regional menus and wine trail brochures. Additional research was done online to narrow our aim at vineyards that specialize in dry reds. We retired late, having consumed the better half of a pleasant pinot noir. The next morning. as we awakened, the smell of bacon beckoned us to head downstairs to find a very nicely laid table with a view of the rear garden. Even with rain, the grounds were obviously well tended and a pleasure to view. Jack chatted with us about our dinner choice the previous night asked of our plans, and offered advice in order to speed our explorations. We returned to the property after a long day driving, wine and spirits tasting, and walking near Keuka Lake. Jack and his friend Rich were making dinner, and offered some opinions on Ithaca restaurants. We decided upon Just A Taste, a great small plate venue, off the Concourse, downtown. Jack continued our gustatory adventure the next morning with a delightful savory Italian bread pudding. With advice about trails and hikes in the nearby state parks, we set off to explore Robert Treman and Buttermilk Falls State Parks, and finally the Conservatory and Wildflower Gardens on Cornell University campus. Returning to the lodgings we showered and prepared to set off for dinner at a historic inn/brewpub, but were easily dissuaded upon Jack's recommendation and offer to call for a reservation at Danos Heuriger, an Austrian bistro, located overlooking Seneca Lake. We reluctantly departed the next morning, stuffed on Southern Style Baked French Toast. The house is charming and and a soothing blend of contemporary and 19th century decor. We were comfortable and at home from the start. Jack Moore's friendliness and easy going charm added to our enjoyable stay. He was quick to offer advice if asked, and was perceptive enough to know when our plans might be at odds with our expectations or desires.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Many thanks to Daniel and Kristin for choosing the Black Walnut for their 3-night stay. For an innkeeper, it is truly a delight to have guests as nice and interesting and fun as Daniel and Kristin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I travel the state for work and have found this wonderful B&B on the in Trumansburg/Interlaken NY and have stayed here several times. The hosts are wonderful, friendly and full of information to help you with the area. Jack makes a wonderful breakfast to start you day off and to make the day even more fun and easy there is a wonderful winery with a really good restaurant walking distance down Covert Road (1/4 mile?) that allows you to safely stumble your way back after enjoying a wonderful meal and a bottle (or two) of wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Last minute idea to go to Finger Lake area became a great find in a B&B. Jack is very attentive to his guests and makes you feel right at home. He has great suggestions on area restaurants and his breakfast was outstanding. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Black Walnut because I had a bedandbreakfast.com gift certificate and we used it for the first night of our trip to the Finger Lakes. Unfortunately, we booked the remaining nights in a hotel. We were so disappointed with ourselves for not booking all nights with Jack at his charming b&b. We were the only guests on a Thursday evening, so we were upgraded to the king suite. The inn is older but beautifully renovated. Breakfast was delicious. Jack was a wonderful host. We will definitely return if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbull222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a first stay at a B&B for my husband and I. It was a thoughtful Christmas gift from our son. The Black Walnut B&B was cozy, inviting, and home-like. Jack was the perfect host...offering us a glass of wine, talking to us and showing us around our suite and the inn. He offered to help us with maps and recommended places to visit and dine. The breakfasts were a culinary treat!!! All our needs were met and I would never hesitate to stay there again!!! Thanks Jack from Jon and Janice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4278 E Covert Rd, Trumansburg, NY 14847-9719
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range: £82 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Black Walnut Bed And Breakfast Trumansburg, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing