We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia,PA
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Beautiful place to stay, especially if you are into impressionist art. Lots of interesting paintings by obscure, but extremely talented American artists. And the food ain't bad neither... Loved the grounds of the hotel and the beautiful gardens,,very well tended. The town is small and sleepy, but there are a number of architecturally notable homes and commercial structures to view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcohen107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
203
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

There is no place like home…that is exactly how you feel when you spend time at Juniper Hill.

Upon arrival you are greeted by the sight of beautiful gardens accompanied by the noise of a lovely period fountain. At the door Bruce, one of the owners, greets you and provides a wonderful tour of this historic mansion. No detail has been left undone. From the wonderful art collection on the walls, to the antique furniture, each room is more beautiful than the next. There is a game room to enjoy, or the large living room with the fireplace. Sit outside by the fountain or in the backyard and enjoy an afternoon bottle of wine.

Breakfast is served at individual tables in the formal dining room, with another wonderful fireplace, or in the large sun porch overlooking the gardens. This 3 course breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. All served so elegantly by Bruce and assisted by his partner David.

Our room, the Frank Benson, was very comfortable with all a guest could want: comfortable bed, love seat, desk, fridge, very large bathroom, iron and board, and many amenities. We were lucky enough to see the other rooms and each one is decorated beautifully and very large. The room with a bathroom across the hall is smaller than the others, but the bathroom is very large.

Bruce and David are always available to answer questions, help with sightseeing ideas, along with recommendations for dinner. They also have a lot of literature available for the area which is a big help in making plans.

Juniper Hill is conveniently located to everything in the Finger Lakes. You are at the center of it all, waterfalls, wineries, hiking, museums, wonderful towns, galleries, shopping, etc.

Be sure and visit Hazelnut Kitchen. We ate at Hazelnut three times during our stay. Lisa, one of the owners, and all of her staff did a fantastic job. We enjoyed everything we ate; it truly is a culinary delight.

After spending seven nights at Juniper Hill Bruce and David made us feel like we were part of the family and we did not want to leave. We look forward to our return. Hopefully it will be very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a magical place. The grounds and house are elegantly luxurious, yet homey. Our room, the John Singer Sargent, was meticulously clean, and provided every detail we could have possibly hoped for (well...except hair conditioner, make sure to pack that!) We particularly loved the short walk into town, and enjoyed dinners at Dorothy's Music Room as well as Hazelnut Cafe (we recommend both!) The breakfast is over the top...three courses of gourmet food that left us stuffed all morning.
We booked a private car to drive us on the Seneca wine trail....if you want to do the same, call Joel at Cayuga Lake Limo: 607-279-9027. He was wonderful and his rates are so reasonable.
We love the Finger Lakes, and we love Juniper Hill...we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nykittyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperhill, Owner at Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I just want to say that we listen to all our new friends at Juniper Hill. After this guest asked for conditioner, the first request in six years. We purchased 400 bottles from our supplier. You won't believe it but as I was typing this they just arrived. So Thank you for your input, and here's to soft shiny hair from now on at Juniper Hill...;) Thank you. Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Five years ago my boyfriend and I found Juniper Hill by luck. We booked a room here because of the convenient location to the Seneca/Cayuga wine trails and to Watkins Glen. Turned out to be our best decision of the trip! We were completely impressed with this charming cozy house, the AMAZING breakfasts, and the host Bruce (you'll adore him, guaranteed!) When we planned our recent return trip to Finger Lakes, we booked another stay. Both visits, I can honestly say, we left wishing we had spent more time at Juniper Hill. One night here and you won't want to leave either!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaChris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Juniper Hill. I had high expectations based on the reviews, and we were certainly not disappointed! The house and grounds are immaculate and beautiful. Bruce is a warm, gracious host, and it is true--the breakfast is to die for! We only stayed one night, which was too short. At Bruce's recommendation, we took the short 10 mile drive to Ithaca to stroll around and have dinner. What a lovely town! We stayed in the Lillian Wescott Hale room. I was a little worried about privacy, as the bathroom is across the hall, but it was really no big deal at all. We were provided with robes and slippers, and between all of the treks to the bathroom, we never crossed anyone in the hallway (not that it would have mattered). The bathroom was spacious, with a gorgeous steam shower and divine antique vanity. We were even provided with a CD player and a collection of essential oils for use in the steam shower. It was a wonderful stay! We will definitely be back, and I highly recommend it to anyone! No matter how high your standards are, they will be exceeded!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I are just returning home from a wonderful weekend at Juniper Hill. I can only add our own highly positive recommendation to the 5-star reviews already on Trip Advisor. Bruce was a delightful host who was there to offer advice when asked and to help make the stay go very smoothly. Bruce suggested dinner at the Red Newt Bistro, and we very much agreed with his appraisal of the food and the high quality of the local ingredients used.

In searching for lodging in the Finger Lakes Region, I think that Juniper Hill's location in Trumansburg has many positives to consider whether you will be spending time in Ithaca or just want to run over to Seneca Lake to one of the very nice restaurants on the lake's eastern shore. We were not very familiar with the area, and Juniper Hill served as an ideal location for us.

As stated by other reviewers, breakfast is incredible--including today's roasted nectarine with pistachio crust which was one of three courses served. Bruce, thank you for being such a wonderful host. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbvpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A short walk away from a couple of nice restaurants in Trumansburg proper, and about ten minutes by car from Ithaca, this place was a nice little touch of New England charm without being so far away. My wife and I came up for a two day stay while we hit Lakes Cayuga and Seneca (also a mere minutes away!) and Bruce and Dave were gracious hosts. We found the house to be intriguing, with all of its artwork and period pieces. The attention to detail in design and maintenance is second to none. We stayed in a cozy room with a full bath across the hall that was private for us--one key worked both rooms. Bruce and Dave had coffee, tea, and snacks out all day and night, as well as a delicious and seasonably appropriate breakfast each morning. There's not much more to say about this gem of a B&B. My wife and I have stayed on the lakes at other B&B's and this is the best one we have found.

Room Tip: Some travelers may want their room to have an on-suite bathroom, in which case they should book acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
11.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
11.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
10.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
15.3 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,204 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16 Elm St, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9544
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast offers luxurious privacy, yet easy walk to eclectic Trumansburg shops and bars/restaurants and short drive to Ithaca culture, Cornell and Ithaca Universities. Enjoy the beautiful Finger Lakes in upstate New York along the Seneca and Cayuga Lake Wine Trails. Our Inn is right in the heart of 25 New York State Parks and a variety of museums and historic homes. The countryside is dotted with over 90 wineries, orchards, dairy farms, award-winning restaurants, and shopping/antiquing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Bed And Breakfast
Juniper Hill Hotel Trumansburg
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast Trumansburg, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing