We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wine, excellent tasting experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heart & Hands Wine Company

Heart & Hands Wine Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heart & Hands Wine Company is located in a serene setting overlooking the eastern shore of Cayuga Lake. We are committed to producing cool-climate wines which authentically express the unique character of the Finger Lakes. Our production is quite small - currently under 1500 cases, which allows for an intense focus on quality. Our intent is to produce food-friendly wines, and we offer several wines crafted from Pinot Noir and Riesling grapes for your enjoyment.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, excellent tasting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I are finger lakes wine trail regulars, but we've never been to the east side of Cayuga before. As many others, we read about Heart & Hands in Evan Dawson's book ('Summer in a glass' - read it!) and had to pay them a visit. I'm so glad we did! We couldn't make it during their usual tasting room hours, but we called and they were happy to open up just for us. Even though we got a flat tire and were late for our own private tasting, Colleen was very gracious and friendly. The atmosphere is quiet and cozy (no tour buses allowed) and most importantly, the wines are wonderful. As a fan of dry reds (especially Pinot Noir), I was very excited to try theirs and I was not disappointed; they are complex, full bodied and delicious! In my opinion their Pinot Noir is top 5 in the entire finger lakes region and I wouldn't argue with anyone that asserted they are #1. The riesling is also top notch. If you're looking to taste the best wines around the lakes, you can't miss Heart & Hands.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent service and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

It was my first trip to the finger lakes and we stumbled upon Heart & Hands Wine Company. It was the best stop of the day. The amount of time and attention Susan is willing to give each customer that walks through the door is a testiment to their commitment to making and sharing great wine. The wine tasting area is warm and cozy with Fione as a wonderful greeter. I cannot recommend this wine company enough. Not only will you taste quality wine but you will get a fantastic education on wine growing, harvesting and bottling. I especially love the glass "corks." I shared their wine with friends when I returned home and they absolutely loved it as much as I did.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trk142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Heart & Hands Wine Company, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your wine tasting experience at Heart & Hands! We appreciate your kind words, and we thank you for sharing our wine with your friends. Thank you for taking the time to share your story! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great visit during the off season!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stopped in for a tasting on this very cold, blowing snowy day - reminds us that they are there year round, not just during wine season! And you get their full attention like we did today, asking many questions about wine production and process. The wines were excellent - they specialize in Pinot and Reisling - but we purchased a sparkling Brut Rose as New Year's Eve is just around the corner. Lots of great wine and regional conversation, enjoyed visiting with Fion the doggie too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a Finger Lakes "first growth"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

One of our top 4 wineries in the entire Finger Lakes (out of 120 & growing).

Tom Higgins makes only riesling and pinot noir wines - including sparkling - and they tend to be pretty dry (there is usually one off-dry or semi-sweet riesling choice). If you like food-friendly wines, these are really good!

Winery tasting room is cozy, with a very shy but curious swiss mountain dog keeping watch. One of their friends made some custom furniture for the tasting bar & a display table.

Depending who's pouring (Tom, his wife Susan, or their #1 employee Colleen) you may go from drier to fruitier (with riesling at the end) or from white to red (riesling at the beginning). Either way works fine! The small but lovely garden outside is very welcoming, with a view mostly of the newly producing vineyard (the view of Cayuga Lake is better from the vineyard).

Check their website for hours, they are closed for a while in the middle of winter and much of the rest of the year are weekends only. If you want to taste their wines but will miss the tasting room, try getting a glass at the Aurora Inn a few miles south, they usually have 1 or 2 Heart & Hands wines on offer by the glass and more by the bottle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the best wineries in the Finger Lakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

If you are a lover of Riesling or Pinot noir (like me), then this is the place for you! We generally stick to our favorite wineries on Keuka and Seneca when we're in the area, but this one is definitely worth the extra miles out to Cayuga Lake. The tasting room is quite small so it can probably get crowded, but it's worth it! I recommend doing the Barrel Room tasting, which is a couple of extra bucks. You get to sample several wines straight out of the barrels while Tom talks about his wines and answers any questions his guests have (and Fion, the resident pooch, will probably be on hand to make sure you are enjoying yourself). You can tell that Tom and his wife, Susan, really care about their wines, from the soil to the grapevines to the finished wines in the glass. We love their wines so much that we have been part of their wine club for over a year. That way we can enjoy them any time we want and only have to travel as far as our own basement. :) Check this place out for sure when you're visiting the Finger Lakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heart & Hands Wine Company also viewed

Union Springs, Finger Lakes
Union Springs, Finger Lakes

Been to Heart & Hands Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing