We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discusting”

Happy Journey Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Journey Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Utica
nashua n.h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“discusting”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

the rooms where discusting, the bathroom discusting, the chairs in the room looked as though they where urinated upon the carpet looked brand new. the doors deedbolt would not engage so we proped a chair up against the handle like in the movies, sign says free cable not a chance not a single channel came in. left one of the snowy channels on just for light and some noise distraction it would have been better to drive another 30 minutes out of the way to not stay at this hotel. i called the front desk to make a complaint no one at the desk. the morning we left there was no one at the desk to greet you or anything drop your keys and run.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandzach2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyJourneyMotel, Webmaster at Happy Journey Motel, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the guest experience better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamson, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Our truck broke down on a Sunday on our way to Old Forge so this was the first place we encountered while walking from the auto garage. We had to stay somewhere because we couldn't even get the truck looked at until Monday. Well, from the moment we walked in the office smelled and looked disgusting. We didn't really have any options as we were walking to wherever we were staying, so we got a room. Oh my God how GROSS, is an understatement. The room was the size of a bathroom. The bathroom was the size of a closet. The sheets were dirty & so was everything else. It smelled of urine & mold & musty. I couldn't wait to get out of there. If you are ever stuck in Utica (which we now call EEWWWtica), please take a little extra time to look around for a better place. You will wish you had if you stay at this dump, in fact, dump may be too nice a name for the "Happy????" Journey Motel.

  • Liked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nsalvofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I booked 2 rooms in February for the HOF induction at $100 a night ,although when we arrived there the sign read $79. Then I had to cancel 1 of the rooms (5 days before our arrival) and they changed the rate to $150 for the 1 room.
Also, the room had bugs and the parking lot is horrible.
Avoid this hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ClutchWestChester_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

My family stayed at Happy Journey(and Scottish Inn, a joined hotel) and got fungal infections. Not only that, we got the bonus bedbugs and fecal aroma when the staff "cleaned" our rooms. The cleaning didn't include trash removal or carpet cleaning and when they did their rounds the room smelled like someone just used the bathroom... each time over the entire week we were there. We were given the rooms by an emergency relief after our house burned. They attempted to keep the pay for multiple rooms, meanwhile giving us one... we called the agency to report this. As we were going through enough with the tragedy in our lives, their brand of hospitality was uncalled for. But, they shouldn't be doing business like that at all. Do yourselves a favor and never stay there... ever

  • Liked — Inexpensive rooms
  • Disliked — It was grotesue and unmaintained. Sometimes, you pay for what you get.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sinisterbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Journey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Journey Motel

Property: Happy Journey Motel
Address: 300 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2318
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Journey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Happy Journey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Journey Hotel Utica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing