We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite theater”

Stanley Center for The Arts
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Please visit the Stanley if you have the opportunity. My daughter was in a dance competition recently, and she said she would remember for the rest of her life that she got to dance there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loricapress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid New York State
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed many performances here over the last few years and continue to be in awe of the excellent renovations that have brought new life to this theater. The new sound system and extended stage have allowed a wide variety of performances. It is such a joy to have a wonderful Art Center so close!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank laughing-egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Although this building was in terrible disrepair years ago, it has been restored to all its former elegance and more. We have seen several shows and heard several musical concerts there and always find it to be totally enjoyable. Its now an elegant old theater with a great ambiance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank UticaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I have been here for a few plays, musicals, and performances. The building really brings you back to old architecture and helps you appreciate how things were once built. My only complaint about the place would be the heating and cooling, as it seems each time I go it's either warm with stuffy air or chilly to where I need a sweater.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Broadway Theater League Shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The venue is beautiful although the seating becomes uncomfortable after an hour or so. The shows they bring in are usually excellent. It's a great night out and offers some culture to the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Center for The Arts also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Center for The Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing