We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food exceptional service”

The Tailor and The Cook
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tailor and The Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 184 Restaurants in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$38
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Tailor and the Cook is one of the brightest spots in Utica's already rich Culinary nightlife. Attentive service and a comfortable atmosphere support provocative cuisine produced with the finest local products, whenever possible. The management of The Tailor and the Cook is devoted to offering their clientele great food and a path to the farmers and producers who make it happen. The relationship between the food we eat and where it is produced is of growing concern to many. The Tailor and the Cook brings the many bounties of CNY's rich Agriculture to the forefront, giving the public the opportunity to know where there food comes from and how it is produced. Featuring Local Product whenever possible, menus change based on seasonality, freshness, and availability of local goods. A rich and generous selection of Beer, Wine, and Spirits round out the Culinary Package.
New Hartford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent food exceptional service”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Great ambiance, fantastic service. Overall the food is quite good, but unfortunately the last two times I went my entree was just not that great. Last time steak was ordered medium rare, and was medium to well, this time my duck ordered medium was underdone, to the point that I did not eat it. Every other course, both times, was fantastic. I will probably give it one more chance, as the food that is cooked properly is absolutely delicious.

Helpful?
Thank kristen033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    43
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem of a meal”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fabulous staff, fabulous and creative food in a creative environment. It is a slow food experience -- about 2, 2.5 hours for dinner, but the staff was attentive, knew the food and drinks flawlessly, and the food was worth the experience. Great industrial, rustic, artsy space. The bread & maple salt butter was fantastic. Chicken dish was amazing. Didn't make it to the desserts as we were full from the fantastic meal. Wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my new favorite!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

ambiance is wonderful... food is exceptional! local, fresh.... ambiance is incredible... and many of the cocktails are unique and delicious... service was excellent... this is my New favorite restaurant in Utica! .. truly an absolutely wonderful experience!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeyItsLoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Farm to Table, Finest in Utica”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is one of the finest dining experiences you'll have in Utica. The Tailor and The Cook is an intimate, small, locally sourced bistro that is full of charm and grace. From the photographs of Snowy Owls on the wall, to the open kitchen, to the barkeeper in his traditional form, everything here is art. What comes on your plate will be appropriately small portions, inventively paired and beautifully presented with most of the ingredients coming from local farms, in season.

The staff are superbly trained and gracious. The Chef will always entertain your questions and comments and he'll keep your palate guessing. His food is to be savored, lingered over, talked about and remembered. You may order something that's completely foreign to you and be surprised at how much you like it. Or you may order an old favorite and be surprised by Chefs twist on it. Either way, you'll adore every bite.

This is the perfect place for an intimate first date where the tin ceiling, the exposed brick and the industrial-chic lighting will enliven your senses and set the tone for the evening. Or for a small celebration where you can feel like the whole place is there just for you. And it's an amazing place to go alone, sit at the bar and enjoy the distinctive craft cocktails and friendly conversation with like-minded, and like-palate-ed, people. Dinner is served at the bar only on Wednesday and Thursday nights, so plan accordingly.

Your bartender will be able to answer any questions and come up with a variation on your favorite, no matter what it is. Give him a drink genre and let him run with it. Half the fun is watching him work. Your server will be able to tell you the lineage of everything on your plate and guide you through any allergies or food restrictions with ease.

Attention to detail is what makes The Tailor and The Cook so special, in any setting, even more so in Central Upstate New York. From the motion sensor that turns on the light in the ladies room for me as I walk down the hall, to the extra piece of wood from the bartop they keep around so you can guess the tree source, to the full "carte de digestive" to finish the night, all of it is thoughtfully crafted.

You'll spend some money here, because it's worth it. You'll tip well, because they're worth it. And you'll come back again, because you love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Still not inpressed”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We again tried this retaurant recently. I can understand the rave reviews by locals because by comparison Utica has very few upscale eateries. That is not to say I consider this restaurant upscale. Yes the service folks are very good but for me thats where it ends. We ordered appetizers (which were small and lackluster). My steak which I ordered medium was well done and when I informed our server he proceeded to patronizingly explain the differences between rare, medium, etc. My wifes fish was a little dry and didnt have much flavor. At one point during eating a server asked if we could help her move our table a little so she could seat the couple at the adjacent table. Really? The tables are too close together and for the food prices they could eliminate a few of them and still turn a profit. We were seated by the open kitchen and as before the smoke from cooking quickly fills the restaurant. This restaurant is trying too hard to be trendy with its small portions, supposedly artful presentations, dim lighting and high prices. But for those who crave all flash and little substance this may be the place for you. There are better places to dine for the money. . .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Airfoils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tailor and The Cook also viewed

 

Been to The Tailor and The Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing