We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for College Drop-off, Meetings, or Travel Breaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for College Drop-off, Meetings, or Travel Breaks”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a lovey, relatively new hotel. It is clean, modern and the service is excellent. We stayed in a king suite which was large and comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size and there was an additional "bar" sink in the room which allowed two people to groom at the same time. The bed was comfortable and the sofa bed was as expected. The hotel has an indoor pool, a fitness center and they offer some additional off-premises perks. Breakfast was a bit above the usual morning fare only because the attendant was so dedicated. She knew many of the guests' preferences and she was exceptionally attentive. In the evening, they have trays of cookies and cheese, crackers and pepperoni. The service is extremely friendly and accommodating. The reason I say it is good for short stays stems from the area, not the hotel. I hear there are some great restaurants nearby, but we did not have the opportunity to try them. We did drive around to see what was nearby since we just dropped off our daughter at college. Downtown Utica was not a place I would want to explore on foot. There were times when we were uncomfortable in our car waiting at a red light. The atmosphere seems to change block by block. Therefore, this hotel does not qualify as a vacation spot for me, but as a hotel near my daughter's college, it can't be beat. The only fault with the hotel itself is that the doors closing are very loud. Every time someone near you enters or leaves, you hear the door closing. This is due to the style of the doors, not the guests. Also, it is not cheap to stay here. Rooms average around $180.00 to $220.00 per night during college activities.

Room Tip: End of hallways, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeelongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear deedeelongisland,
Thanks so much for your detailed review! We've shared all your comments with our staff, and we'll continue to stress the importance of great guest service for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    72
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
57
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this particular hotel because they advertised queen sized rooms. The room was a suite and was very large with a sink and cabinets separate from the bathroom area. The beds were truly queen sized and not some scaled down mattress that somewhere between queen and full. We had four adults in the room and it was very comfortable with the amount of space. There was also a small sofa in the room that could convert to a bed.

The breakfast was awesome with pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs, breads, fruits and juices. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

We did not use the pool or the exercise room but they both looked very nice. My son was told that if the exercise room did not have what was needed, he could use a nearby gym.

The hotel is also located within walking distance to Delmonico's Steakhouse where we have eaten in the past. The food there was excellent. We also loved the novelty of the old style McDonald's located beside of Delmonico's.

We would love to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite if staying for more than one night with a family or if staying with adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Cathy H,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review, I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed one of our two queen bedroom suites. We always recommend Delmonico's next door and are happy to give coupons for a free dessert with dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My daughter and i had an amazing stay because of these two attentive, resourseful , knowledgeable and insanely gracious young women... Karin was thorough, courteous, gracious, and went out of her way for every customer to provide service with a smile the likes of which you usually see at 5 star hotels and restaurants! Give this girl a raise, as she is the type of emplyee that is hard to find and she does her job spendidly...not only was the food properly serviced and attentively cleaned and prepped, but she went above and beyond the call of duty to specifically key into every diners needs and wishes. SUPERB! When we had a glitch that no one could have predicted ( noisey clanging, late night firemen banging around on the upper floors til all hours of the night) the staff- under the sage guidance of Ana sprang into action to do all they could do to abate the troubling problem...and they most astutely made accommodations to al those guests who were affected. my son is a new College student at a prestigious college nearby and i will be visitng a lot from Los Angelels... and you'd better believe that , largely because of the intensly well executed hospitality of both Karin and Ana, that my family will be back here consisitently for years to come. I will gladly recommend this fabulous " family" home away from home to all those visiting the stunning Utica area. Thanks for the chance to offer my thoughts and I will hopefully get a rroom next thursday when I return for another Freshman orientation! Cheers! v

Room Tip: go for upper floors in case people upstaire are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOXIEmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear MOXIEmamma,
Thanks so much for your great review, we agree, Karin does rock! We're always encouraging great customer service so I'm glad to hear Karin and Ana really stepped up to take care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I rated the stay here at Holiday Inn Express highly because of these following employees Karin, Breakfast Attendant, Jennie, Dana, Omayra and Desiree House Keeping, Jeff and Scott in maintenance and housekeeping and Anastasia and Anna at the front desk. These employees made my stay for 3 weeks comfortable and pleasant even with the loud and obnoxious guests that came and went. These employees are the most loyal and caring bunch of employees for their guests that I have ever met at any of your IHG hotels. My husband stays 100 to 150 nights a year at the IHG hotels and this by far is my favorite hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear lauralee,
We're so happy to see you naming all of our associates that made you feel at home. We'll be sure to share you compliments with our ownership!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here July 16-20, 2014 for educational purposes (I had a test that lasted the entire weekend). When we checked in they offered us a complimentary bottle of water and had complimentary snacks available. Everyday they had some sort of late afternoon snack in the lobby. Front desk personnel were friendly and we had no issues. My husband asked for late check out just in case my test ran over & they were happy to accommodate us (we didn't have to use late check out, but it was good we had the option). The room itself was a great size (we had a King Size Suite) and had modern décor. This hotel is still new so no major issues with the room. The bed was a little harder than what I cared for and we had some house keeping issues, but I would stay here again if traveling to Utica. Happy Traveling!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsslovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Mrslovestotravel,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! I'm so happy to hear our staff made you feel at home and that you enjoyed some of our amenities. If there's anything that you think we could do to help with sleep experience, please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Breakfast attendant Karin was excellent at her job. She always made you feel welcome. The staff was great too, I have stayed at this hotel twice already, and I would surely stay again if I am in Utica. Thank you











,

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaDurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear SuzannaDurr,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! We'll be passing on your compliments to the rest of our staff, and our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Breakfast attendant Karin was excellent ! The hotel staff was very attentive to all of our needs. I was traveling with my family on business we had 4 king suites that were just great ! This is the second time in the past 2 months that I needed to stay there and will surely be going back in the next month or so. Highly recommend this hotel.The Manager Lee was very accommodating !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schshlpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear schshlpres,
Thanks so much for coming back to stay with us again. We always enjoy hearing how friendly Karin is in breakfast. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
0.7 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Address: 23 Wells Ave, Utica, NY 13502-2521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the newest hotel in Utica NY and was built with convenience in mind. Located less than one mile from I-90, the hotel is also within walking distance of several famous Utica restaurants, like Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse nextdoor, and Aqua Vino Restaurant accross the street overlooking the Erie Canal. The long list of amenities includes free Hot Breakfast served daily with the famous Holiday Inn Express cinnamon buns and pancakes, along with wifi, parking, computer center access, and an indoor pool, fitness center, and patio in the rear. You will be looking forward to you next trip through Utica after staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing