We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast coffee-Thumbs down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    109
    88
    34
    19
See reviews for
120
87
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Hotels in the BW chain are usually reliably comfortable. This appears to be a motel bought by the chain, and it is in need of renovations. The shower controls were leaking, we had to repair the toilet as the chain kept falling off, no caulking around tub, and the room was freezing and could not be made warmer in winter weather. The TV was small and not flat screen. There were insufficient blankets on the bed to stay warm. The breakfast was the best part of the stay, although the prefab eggs and sausage were disappointing. The sheets were worn and scratchy feeling. The young man on the front desk tried to be accommodating, considering the state of the place. We did not book in advance, and there was a hockey tournament in town. I can see why the Hampton Inn across the street was fully booked and this place was not. Very surprised that BW has their name attached to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

It was very satisfactory for our purposes. Oddly enough however, the heat in the room could not be controlled. It was so hot we shut it off. Who knew.
All the rest was good.
that is all I have to say!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were driving to a wedding near Buffalo and found this Best Western by using cell phone internet and Trip Advisor. GPS sent us along a "back road" which was really a treat since highway travel was horrendous on a Friday night. We were walk-ins and the Desk clerk was friendly, informative, and honored our request for a king bed and ground floor and AAA discount. He also told us about Delmonico's( able to walk there for a marvelous dinner) and advised us about the complimentary breakfast. The room was exceptionally clean, nicely appointed for what we were paying. Comfy bed!! Breakfast was a wee bit of a strain but nothing the hotel could have done- there was a soccer team and some other large group deciding to eat at the same time we went into the area. Tea toast and fruit was fine. We would stay there again with no problem!!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the separate building- it's quiet- the groups seemed to be in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Boston. It is a little tired looking on the outside and I wasn't sure what kind of a room we would get. However, I was pleasantly surprised as the room was clean and nice. The bathroom was a little bit small but adequate with a nice shower and I especially liked the nice big fluffy towels. It was very quiet at night and the front desk staff were friendly.
The breakfast was very good, with a nice assortment of breakfast items, fruit, yogurt, waffles(not make your own) but still good, eggs, cereal, juice , coffee, pastries ect.
The room was a little bit cold however and I felt the beds could have used a bigger comforter on top. Other than that is was quite adequate for an overnight stay on our way home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel is in a good location. There were several restaurants close by, one of which was Denny's. The service was fast, the restaurant clean, and the wait staff very friendly. There's also a McDonald's in the parking lot.

We stayed in room 329. The room was very clean, but very basic for the price charged. I thought the price was a little high. Bed was very firm, too firm, which was not good for my bad back; therefore, I got about three hours' sleep. The bathroom was tiny, but clean. It was a really good thing I brought shampoo and conditioner, because there were no toiletries other than soap.

Probably the biggest negative for me was that when the door to the room was closed, there was a loud sound of whooshing air from the glass-enclosed hallway. It appears the rooms once opened directly to the outside, like a one-floor motel, and were then enclosed. It created a lot of negative pressure in the hall, which made the room noisy and it was difficult to open and close the door. It also caused a lot of cool air to be forced into the room under the door. That was actually a plus for us, because the AC unit would only push out warm air no matter what setting or temperature we set it to. So I guess we had "alternative air conditioning".

To sum it up, it was clean and convenient, just not comfortable, which is why I think it was priced a little high. Under 100.00/night would be more reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Room was great, very clean, housekeeping staff was extremely nice, very accomodating however the front desk staff could NOT have been more rude. I would not choose to stay here again simply for that reason.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinfall08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am so happy that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. I am very disappointed to hear that our front desk was not being customer service friendly! I will make sure that I address this matter immediately. I do hope that you stay with us again if you are ever in the area so we can show you just how friendly we can be!

Thank you,
John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing