We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

There are actually two separate buildings. The one that has the entrance/front desk looks like a drive-up motel with an enclosed hallway. The second building - where I stayed - was across the parking lot.
The hallways, carpet, etc. are old and worn. The room was a bit better and appeared (and smelled) to be clean. The bath towels were surprisingly soft.
The breakfast was actually pretty good - variety of hot and cold options.
If you are looking for functional, this place will work. If you are staying more than a couple of nights, you may go home crippled from the hard beds like I did.
Keep in mind that there is no elevator, so if you have accessibility issues, ask for the ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent review of your stay at our property! We are so pleased that we could provide you with comfortable accommodations during your stay with us. We pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our guest rooms and are glad that your room was up to the cleanliness standards of Best Western. We have a great breakfast in the morning for our guests and provide a variety of items to accommodate all of our guests likes for breakfast! Again, thank you so much for your review, and I hope you will consider us again if you are ever in the area!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    106
    88
    33
    18
See reviews for
117
87
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is a basic motel with all facilities. The hotel has all the basic requirements. No issues. Most of the guest rooms are in a separate building from the lobby. The room is spacious. The toilet would make a huge sound everytime we flush. Other than that, we had no issues. Good breakfast, though the breakfast area is little bit cramped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vnarra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at our property! We are so pleased that we could provide you with a clean, safe, comfortable accomodation while you were here with us! We do have two seperate buildings here at our property. I do apologize that the toilet made a loud noise when flushing and will address that with the maintenance department immediately. We do have a great breakfast here at the hotel and are glad that you could enjoy it. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will consider us again if you are ever in the area again.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very old, worn property. It was not my first, second or even third choice. The desk clerk did let us look at the room so we knew what we were getting. It was late at night and not many options available. The room was clean but had a musty odor. The blanket on the bed was double sheeted. The bathroom was small with very harsh lighting. Toiletries were basic - soap and a shampoo/conditioner combo. There was a fridge with a microwave sitting on top of it. The tv was a flatscreen The carpet appeared new. The furniture was old and inexpensive. The heating/cooling unit was under the window, controlled by a wall thermostat. The outside door was warped and did not close/seal all the way. I would not have felt safe here if I was traveling alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent review of your stay at our property. I apologize that you had a musty smell in your room. We have recently implemented a preventative maintenance program and are in the process of deep cleaning every single room in our hotel. This program includes cleaning all walls and ceilings, grouting bathroom tiles, as well as shampooing the carpet. Our bedding is called triple sheeting. Best Western passed a motion that did away with old bed spreads, and this was an option that we had to choose from. The triple sheeting allows for a fresh look in the room. Our televisions were just installed early this year, allowing for the room to have a more modern look. I will immediately address your concerns about the door being warped and will have maintenance go through each room to ensure the weather stripping is secured and all doors are closing properly. I truly apologize for any incidents that may have happened during your stay with us, but hope you will give us another try if you are ever in the area again. If I can be of any assistance with helping you with you stay in the future, please contact me at 315.732.4121.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

we stayed there because we could not find anything else on a Saturday night during leaf watching season in new York. it's a hotel built in the 50' s that had little updates. the rooms had new fixtures but when the water for the shower turns cold from hot without touching anything... car alarms going off at 1 a.m. people sitting their cars . security? we tried to get breakfast but the tour bus group got there first and they consumed the breakfast area we tried to just get coffee from the coffee machine what came out of the "coffee" machine is anybody's guess. if you expect a lot for what you pay this isn't it. so don't pay a lot if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank P.scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent review of your stay here at our property. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. You comments will be brought to the attention of our maintenance department to ensure that our water is properly working. We do have many tour groups that come in during this beautiful fall season, and we truly do apologize that you were unable to enjoy our breakfast because it was so busy. Again, I do apologize for anything that went wrong during your stay and hope that you will come back and give us another try if you are ever in the area. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me at 315.732.4121 and I will be glad to assist you.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here last night. The service was good. The room was ok but worn out. The plumbing fixture on the john was the loud type you get in turnpike restrooms. The neighborhood was industrial and the train whistles would occasionally wake me up. This place was OK but could use a major make-over...and...if they do, add sound proofing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property. We here at Best Western pride ourselves in our customer service and are pleased that you thought our service was good! We hope to make improvements to our property in the future and will take your comments into consideration when renovating. I hope you will consider staying with us again when you are in Utica.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Conveniently located. Good staff. Have stayed many times and always find it a bit noisy. Wish they had a better breakfast because my wife has dietary restrictions but there's a great cafe down the street that opens early.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine7286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We pride ourselves in our customer service and are so glad that we could provide you with superior customer service. We are always accepting new ideas for our breakfast and welcome your comments for suggesstions. Thank you again, and we hope you will stay with us again when you are in Utica.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Travelling as a pair, we were relieved to have found this hotel. We had been on the road all day driving from Cleveland when we decided to pull off around Utica, it was a Thursday night and quite late, the first hotel we tried claimed to be fully booked - despite there being a fairly empty car park and when we later did a check, found rooms online! I won't mention names.

Nevertheless we decided to try the BW Gateway next and we were greeted warmly by the lady at the front desk who offered us a room with two queens at a good rate. I happily accepted.

The hotel maybe starting to show it's age around the edges but it has all that you might need. Our room was on the ground floor facing the driveway. The beds were clean, and the bathroom was well appointed.

As it was quite late we decided to order a pizza from the in room menu, which was delivered straight to our bedroom door.

In all, the hotel has all you might require from an overnight stop, plenty of parking, absolutely loads of places to eat all around, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so glad that we could provide you with a room that was clean and comfortable for you. We pride ourselves in customer service here at Best Western and are happy that we provided you with great service! We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area again.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing