We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Convenient motel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is an older motel but well maintained. Rooms comfortable, and accessible. Good breakfast. Easy on and off the turnpike. There are a lot of restaurants nearby including a Friendly's. Breakfast was included eggs and sausage. Plenty of seating area too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat P, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have started the remodel on our hotel and we hope to have it all done by early next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    110
    91
    36
    19
See reviews for
123
88
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For us, the stay at BW Gateway has always been about the staff relationship and our being made to feel like we mattered. It is hard to make an assessment at this juncture because management ownership has changed, staff has changed after may years of stability and there are major renovations taking place, Will keep you posted. There can be complaints, but overall, this place is comfortable and familiar and that makes it nice to come "home" to. So far, so good. The competition in this area is really tough and loyalty is a key ingredient. Caring goes a long way to rectify any problems.( look past the place, rooms are comfortable and pleasant, renovations, long overdue, are taking place making some inconvenience), to the people serving you,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 56RonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chat P, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
I want to start of by saying that you hit some major points in the review. Loyalty is a big part of our business. Under this new management we are bringing some long over due changes. What will not change is the helpful staff you always experience when you come to our hotel. The interaction between our staff and our guests plays a major role in how our guest feel about our property. Which is why customer service, clean rooms, and a good value will always be our main priority. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with my family during our travels cross country. Room was clean, but no extras: no microwave or fridge. Had a single cup coffee maker and a hair dryer, two full size beds. Took 25 minutes to check in even though we made reservations ahead and no one else was in the lobby. Price seemed competitive with others in the area. Cleanest two star hotel room we've had this year so far, but lobby smelled like cigarettes and hallways were in need of vacuuming. The parking lot was also being repaired during our stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FamilyPMWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

As another guest noted, the lobby smelled like smoke which is discouraging when we specifically look for 100% smoke free hotels. The room was clean, although it did look like someone just put caulking over a moldy area in the tub rather than take it out and do it properly. The beds were comfortable enough, overall the cleanliness was okay. It was suitable enough for our last night on the road during a cross country move. Lots of parking so we had no problem with our truck/trailer. Grocery stores and restaurants very close to the hotel which was nice. Even though we got there less than an hour after breakfast started, all the hot food was gone. We didn't have the time to wait so not having breakfast further diminished the "value" of staying at this location. There is one washer and one dryer in the building (coin operated $1.25 to wash and $1.25 for 40 mins dry time), in the foyer that goes from front to back with a sign that says not to leave laundry unattended but no seating nearby. We stayed in other hotels that cost us less and had at least a dorm sized refrigerator in them. So overall I'd say I was underwhelmed but since that whole area is extremely overpriced for hotel rooms (pretty much anywhere along the NY thruway is), knowing what it is for what I'm paying, I'd probably stay again if I couldn't find anything better (but I'm sure going to look!). Oh also when we were checking out, there was some sort of employee meeting going on, which was fine, but no one was minding the desk which is a little annoying when it's time to leave. Customers come first.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad we could provide a comfortable accommodation for your last night on the road. Although not all rooms come equipped with a fridge and microwave, we do have certain room types created for this particular selection which will include a fridge and microwave. We truly do appreciate your feedback and will pass your words on to the staff. Thank you again!

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not a great choice. Cleanliness was an issue here. Long dark hairs on bedding and in bath. Mold in bathroom. Dirty ice bucket. Breakfast was horrible - picked over; dirty silverware; not restocked - there was over 1.5 hours left when we went. Woman working breakfast was not friendly. Staff in the evening was excellent. Day staff seemed busy and unapproachable. Will not be going back. This is the ONLY Best Western I have been disappointed by out of 4 recent stays with this hotel chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. We appreciate your feedback, and will address the cleanliness issues immediately. We are happy to announce that we are currently in the process of starting our renovations to the hotel. These renovations will include, new tub surrounds, new carpeting, new bedding, new wallpaper, updated outside appearance as well as new landscaping. We are very excited for these renovations and hope you will consider us again when the renovations are complete. Again, I thank you for your review.

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utica hotels

Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room was dark. There was a corridor which was noisy because of a group. The beds were comfortable. Suggest taking a room from the annex or find another place to stay. The environmental system was hard to control.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our property! We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that you found your stay noisy. We did have several groups in house during your stay and tried to handle all noise complaints quickly and efficiently and speak with the group leaders as well. Our annex building is equipped with brand new heating and cooling units which are very easy to control. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you will consider staying with us again so we can do a better job at providing you with great accommodations!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If I only had to rate the room we stayed in, I would give this hotel an excellent review. Our room was newly renovated and very clean. The lobby smelled a little of smoke, but our room was very clean. However, this is NOT a hotel -- it is an old motel redone as a Best Western. And, much to my dismay, the corridors that lead to the rooms are all glass (so anyone off the street can watch you go to your room) and, worse yet, there is no security lock from the outside into these corridors! I was very uncomfortable staying there with my 10-year old daughter. Although we had no problems, it did not make for a comfortable stay at this "hotel".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property! We are so pleased that we could provide you with comfortable accommodations during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that safety of our guests is the number one priority for the staff here at the Best Western. We do have two separate buildings, one which is more of the "motel" style, and the other which does have secure locks. If you would like to stay again with us, please request our Annex building and we will be sure to accommodate you with your request for your safety concerns! Again, I thank you for your review, and hope to see you again!

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing