We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE OF A ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE OF A ROOM”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Friendly staff but I got the worst hotel room ever. WHATEVER YOU DO ** DO NOT ** get rooms on the second floor. There are a series of them that open to the buffet/breakfast area. Seriously, who designed this??? Starting at 6:30 am there is horrible music playing and people talking. And your view is this area!!! LOUD, miserable, ugly.

Also, CHECK YOUR BILL. TWICE I confirmed that I had NO CAR, was not parking and yet, on my bill, were charges for two nights of parking. Desk help fixed it quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the placement of your room so close to the breakfast area. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    160
    102
    66
    35
See reviews for
185
62
27
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was very comfortable to stay at. Check in and out was a breeze. Beds/sheets/towels where in excellent condition, very soft :) Carpeting was in excellent condition. Visited the lounge which was very nice. Did not have to worry about anything during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Decor and bathrooms tired. Breakfast marginal at best. breakfast should be free as it is adequate at best. Our travel companions had dinner there and said was very good. Room very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I want to thank Nicole Trificana and staff for the wonderful job they did as the headquarters hotel for the Kings & Their Cousins 2014 Family Reunion. The service and accommodations were above and beyond the norm. We felt like we owned the hotel for the weekend.
Larry Goodman
The Kings & Their Cousins 2014 Family Reunion Planning Committee.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Radisson in Utica is centrally located, clean, safe, and reasonably priced. Nice restaurant, lovely pool, pleasant and helpful staff. I am in Utica frequently for personal reasons, and this is my go-to hotel because of its convenience and comfort. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel before a court hearing at the federal courthouse in Utica. I cannot remember the last time I stayed at a hotel this bad. I checked in fine, went up to my room. Outside the door to my room was a tray from someone's room service. Given where my room was located and the tray was placed, it could have been from the room next door. It was 4:45pm. The likelihood was that the tray had been there for some time. If it was put there by the previous inhabitants of my room, it was there before the maids came and made up the room. I figured someone would be by to pick it up. I settled in to do some prep work before dinner. I went to dinner at 7:30pm (The Tailor and the Cook was actually quite good for a small town in upstate new york). The tray was still there. When I returned from dinner - around 9:30-9:45 pm, the tray was still there. Closer to the elevator were two new used/spent trays outside of rooms. That means that room service personnel came up to the floor and ignored the tray that had been outside my room for at least 3-5 hours and probably much much longer. In the morning, I left at around 9am. ALL THREE TRAYS WERE STILL SITTING IN THE HALLWAY UNCLEARED.

That was not the only problem. The sleep number beds don't work. So the bed is terribly uncomfortable. There is no changing the sleep number (not that sllep number beds are ever good anyway, but a non-functioning sleep number bed is atrocious).

The rooms were also filthy and dated. The windows are ringed with grime. Thick layers of dirt showing that they have not been properly cleaned in YEARS. The bathrooms are dated. The shower didn't drain. The valve for the shower was a plastic knob that probably hasn't been produced since 1985.

One criticism of this review could be that I did not say something. But if any one of these conditions are present in any room in a hotel, does the hotel not deserve a poor rating whether you say something or not? When they all exist, it's "terrible." Many of these problems are structural. The service trash and failure to clean rooms are unacceptable and no one should have to complain about them to have them remedied.

Stay away from this hotel. There are other options. I can't imagine they could be worse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Dwayne Spitzer, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Utica hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice with a great downtown location. But we had to call for maid service two out of three nights. Sleep number beds are great. But the control for one of our beds wasn't working. The pool was closed for repair and we weren't notified ahead of time. Big disappointment for the kids! The bar is good with much better than expected food quality. Rates are reasonable. But don't expect perfection!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre

Property: Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Address: 200 Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your escape to the Radisson Utica Centre, a premier hotel located in the majestic New York Adirondacks. Here, you can enjoy comfortable accommodations and outstanding amenities like an indoor pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center and newly upgraded, complimentary Wi-Fi, which allows you to work throughout the hotel. The Radisson is conveniently situated just minutes from Utica Business Park and major area attractions like the Adirondack Scenic Railroad, the Saranac Brewery and the Stanley Performing Arts Center. If you feel like exploring in Utica, NY, allow our hotel's on-site concierge to assist you with expert recommendations and arrangements. With flexible meeting facilities, a well-equipped business center and an inviting restaurant and lounge, the Radisson Utica Centre has everything you need for a pleasant and rewarding stay. There is a $7 per day parking fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre Hotel Utica
Radisson Utica
Utica Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing