We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an overnight stay”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for an overnight stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The motel was not that easy to spot as you drove along the road, better sinage would help travellers. The motel was very good, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean with tea/coffee making machine and a very large comfortable bed. It was close to several different eating eatablishments. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you David for the warm review of our property. I am currently working on our signage to help our road wary guests find us a little easier. Our dedicated staff work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We look forward to having you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    197
    83
    31
    14
See reviews for
177
126
57
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Near all kinds of restaurants & services, this Red Roof Inn could use a bit of a facelift, but overall it was a good bed, good linens, lots of room, good WI-FI & a good price for 2 people - 2 beds. Best rates can be negotiated with a REDIcard, which I have. Staff was efficient, rooms were clean but attention to detail was lacking, as I found a damp, used bathtowel hanging behind the bathroom door when I first came in. I got a replacement when I asked at the front desk. I would go there again on my travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highwayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your open review. I have addressed the issues you have mentioned and am improving our hotel with the help of my team in order for everyone to have a delightful experience here at Red Roof Inn. We are, in fact, perfectly located off the I-90 and are within minutes to the Sangertown Mall, downtown Utica business district, and several of the colleges in the area. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Room was perfect for us and our dog! Much prefer hardwood floors rather than carpet. Nice clean rooms, well appointed. Comfortable beds. Very convenient from Interstate. Office staff were very friendly. Overall excellent value. No additional fee for pet.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side away from I-90
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you Barrie, for your positive review about us. I'm pleased that you found cleanliness and comfort, not only for you, but for your dog, as well! We, at Red Roof Inn are pet lovers and know how hard it is to find a pet friendly hotel when traveling. Therefore, we extend that love to our guest's pets at no additional cost. I hope we will see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just off the highway but with a large green area and no noise. Perfect for pet owners. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms have all been remodeled...at least the ones I have stayed in. We have stayed several times here and love the close by restaurants, clean rooms, and how the hotel is sort of tucked away from the main road. Utica also has some hidden gems for food so that makes it even better.

Room Tip: Try the Delmonico Steak house:-) Roadside pickup also there.....nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at this facility for a long weekend visiting family. The room was clean, did not have any foul odors, and was quiet (even with I-90 right outside the door!) The price was reasonable, and the only staff interactions I had were pleasant. Bed was comfortable, a/c worked fine, TV had adequate channel selection, and lighting was very good. The only complaints I have were that our washcloths were not replaced daily (I left them in the tub, and they didn't move, which also means the tub wasn't cleaned.) there was no shampoo provided in the room, and when I used the in-room coffee maker on the first morning, it was not replaced the entire weekend, so I had to visit the McDonald's right down the street to get coffee the next two mornings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotFoolingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The room was clean and basic, but the service we received from Melanie was anything but! She worked so hard for us and our family's unique room requests. Thanks Melanie, you impressed us. Otherwise, an uneventful night, which is what I expect from a motel. I will say that the beds are extremely small; larger than a queen is not quite accurate, but again, just ask for Melanie to make the room right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay. I'm glad Melanie was able to ensure that your stay was both comfortable and accommodating. Melanie is an asset to our team, where good customer service is our priority. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have had horrible accommodations at other Red Roof Inns, but not this one. The rooms are not luxurious, by any stretch of the imagination, but are neat and clean. Access is good off of I-90, though getting out of the parking lot in the morning was challenging. The motel was packed, vouching for its value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billw840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing