We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was clean. Very affordable and pet friendly. We were looking for a place that had semi truck parking and a comfy bed, because we were exhausted. Good value. Rooms had been remodeled. There was no carpeting in our room, but we did have a pet. It seemed to be a common place for construction workers and other trades to stay while working. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    195
    80
    29
    14
See reviews for
174
122
57
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

These guys are incredibly professional, helpful and friendly. Kristen is awesome. She really helped to accommodate us when there was a bit of a mix up. The rooms were clean and like new. Will remember this location next time I'm in town. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcTR808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriston, VA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Red Roof is starting to become one of my best chains. Clean room, good amenities (free wifi, nice TV, decent coffee). Nice bedding and well maintained. Courteous staff. Nice location right off the highway and yet my room was quite. Italian restaurant in walking distance. Good price.

Being a budget hotel, really the most I can give is 3 stars- but if your trying to stay in budget this is one to use!

Room Tip: I like first floor in the building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, Vermont
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn while in Utica for a business interview. Its location right off of Route 90 made it very easy to find. The exterior of the building felt a bit dated, but the rooms themselves appear to have been recently renovated, making them feel very modern with a desk, flat screen tv, and laminated floors made to look like real hard-wood. Each guest room opens to the outside, so I kept the blinds closed over the giant window in the room to maintain privacy; though there were plenty of interior lights to make up for the blinds being closed. I found a long black hair on my folded hand towel and what appeared to be cat hair all over the desk chair. My room with two full beds also had a mini fridge and microwave, which was surprising considering I thought those features were only available in the Deluxe King room. The staff were nothing but courteous and helpful. At such a reasonable price and given its location, I would definitely stay at the Utica Red Roof Inn again.

Room Tip: If you're going alone, save a few bucks and get the two double beds versus the deluxe king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBZEROSKIDD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rebranded Red Roof Inn has impressed me in the past few years with clean, remodeled rooms at affordable prices. As we often travel with our dog, we also appreciate that the chain is dog friendly. Unfortunately, despite the widely advertised "100% non smoking" policy at this Red Roof Inn, there were lots of people smoking outside their rooms in the beautiful summer weather, and our room retained an unmistakable residue of smoke. I developed a headache and an itchy throat very quickly after checking in - nothing terrible, but definitely noticeable. When we mentioned it on checkout, the clerk was really nice but said that there's not much they can do if people smoke in their rooms aside from fining them and not letting them come back. It's a tough conundrum for them and I appreciate that, and this may well be the "pick of the litter" where pet friendly motels in Utica are concerned. Still, I would hesitate to stay here if you are super sensitive to smoke, as I apparently am.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikoandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was not on the highway, and it was a good thing we had a GPS or we might not have found it. It took a little while to check in due to computer problems.
This was an average hotel, but it was a good stay for the price. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at this location for 4-nights and would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in this area. The staff was very friendly, property/grounds beautiful and the remodeled rooms are very nice/clean. Excellent accommodations and the room rates are very reasonable. And it was very quiet even though the Inn was full most nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you, Terri, For your pleasant, descriptive review of our property. I always like to think of Red Roof Inn as an "Oasis off the barren thruway." I will share your review with the rest of the team, as they would love to hear your comments. We Hope to see you again on your next stay in Utica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing