We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's only a motel, but it's a good motel”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
London, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“It's only a motel, but it's a good motel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Utica Red Roof for an overnight pit stop en route to Boston, primarily because of the renovated rooms. It's still nothing fancy, but definitely newly outfitted and therefore clean without all the years of wear and tear.

This Red Roof is an old school motel without hallways, i.e. exterior access to your room. After reading earlier about internet connection issues, I had requested a room with good wifi when I originally booked online. Our room assignment was near the property's SW corner, facing away from the complex (vs. facing onto the courtyard and other rooms), and the wifi worked fine.

Our room didn't have any carpets (fake hardwood panel floors instead) because it was handicap accessible (not requested), but the lack of carpeting probably added to the new feeling. The room size is a bit smallish but adequate for a couple. Although there's a rail line nearby, the property is surrounded by a lot of mature trees and it was very quiet.

Handy bar refrigerator, good AC unit. Didn't need the microwave. Flat-screen TV was great and had a good channel selection. Comfy king bed. The workspace area is an extended counter-top and was pretty cramped with just a single laptop on it.

We didn't feel like going out for dinner so we hit the Master Pizza a few miles away on the edge of downtown Utica and brought it back to the room. Quick easy checkout in the morning, with no problems getting right back on I-90.

One thing I should add -- there was a disproportionate number of people traveling with dogs staying here, so if that bothers you for whatever reason, you might want to look somewhere else.

Room Tip: It's likely to be quieter in rooms that don't face each other on the courtyard. Good wifi re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    195
    80
    29
    14
See reviews for
174
122
57
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washingtonville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked two nights in Utica, so we could take the "Adirondack Scenic Railroad" train ride to Thendara. Having just spent three nights in an almost average and overly expensive motel along a lake, it was so nice to have a "super" clean room to sleep in, after a long day of traveling. Even better, was the value. There's no pool on the property, but that didn't matter. The staff was great! It was obvious that this property is managed perfectly and that it has an excellent housekeeping staff, people who take pride in their work. If this is how other "Red Roof Inn's" are, they'll be getting a lot of my business!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed, so make sure you get a room away from neighboring rooms that may have dogs. Nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had fled a crappy motel in the Berkshires in the late afternoon hoping to find a decent place to stop along I90 on the way home. They were able to get us in a room after 8pm. They were super nice on the phone and during check in. The room was clean and appeared to be recently updated. It was just the kind of place we needed to recoup before continuing our journey. Convenient location, lots of dining choices nearby, would recommend to any traveler. Also, this room cost the same amount as the flea bag motel from which we fled. ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your terrific review regarding your recent stay at Red Roof Inn Utica. My team will be happy to hear your kind words. I am glad that we were able to provide you with an affordable, clean room with great customer service. Great customer service is priceless, and my team infinitely offers the best! If you travel often, you may want to sign up for our Redicard in which you can earn free nights by visiting redroof.com. We hope you stay again soon on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was clean. Very affordable and pet friendly. We were looking for a place that had semi truck parking and a comfy bed, because we were exhausted. Good value. Rooms had been remodeled. There was no carpeting in our room, but we did have a pet. It seemed to be a common place for construction workers and other trades to stay while working. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

These guys are incredibly professional, helpful and friendly. Kristen is awesome. She really helped to accommodate us when there was a bit of a mix up. The rooms were clean and like new. Will remember this location next time I'm in town. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcTR808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriston, VA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Red Roof is starting to become one of my best chains. Clean room, good amenities (free wifi, nice TV, decent coffee). Nice bedding and well maintained. Courteous staff. Nice location right off the highway and yet my room was quite. Italian restaurant in walking distance. Good price.

Being a budget hotel, really the most I can give is 3 stars- but if your trying to stay in budget this is one to use!

Room Tip: I like first floor in the building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, Vermont
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn while in Utica for a business interview. Its location right off of Route 90 made it very easy to find. The exterior of the building felt a bit dated, but the rooms themselves appear to have been recently renovated, making them feel very modern with a desk, flat screen tv, and laminated floors made to look like real hard-wood. Each guest room opens to the outside, so I kept the blinds closed over the giant window in the room to maintain privacy; though there were plenty of interior lights to make up for the blinds being closed. I found a long black hair on my folded hand towel and what appeared to be cat hair all over the desk chair. My room with two full beds also had a mini fridge and microwave, which was surprising considering I thought those features were only available in the Deluxe King room. The staff were nothing but courteous and helpful. At such a reasonable price and given its location, I would definitely stay at the Utica Red Roof Inn again.

Room Tip: If you're going alone, save a few bucks and get the two double beds versus the deluxe king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBZEROSKIDD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Region: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing