We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly, stunning wedding venue.”
Review of The Green Cornwall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly, stunning wedding venue.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We live in Nottingham. When we met with the team at The Green and saw the venue we instantly decided that we wanted to get married there. Our wedding was 7th Sept 2013. We hired the house and the cottages for our wedding party for the weekend. The accommodation has everything one could wish for and are decorated beautifully. The venue is spotless clean and everything is completed to a high standard. The views are breath taking - such a peaceful area. All our guests commented on how fantastic the place was and that it was well worth the long journey!
Whilst preparing for the wedding the team at the Green were extremely helpful. They literally did everything to make the day perfect. We had 47 guests to the wedding which made the day intimate and very personal. The suppliers that The Green work with are of a high standard. Everything from the florist, hairdressers, photographers, caterers etc were fantastic. The ceremony was held in the barn which is decorated lovely with bunting then the meal was held in the marquee which is spacious and enjoys fabulous views. We had photos taken in the grounds and by the lake which look amazing. We can not thank the team especially Moira and Zoe enough. We had a perfect wedding and we recommend this venue to all individuals.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Green for a short break with our toddler and baby. The cottage was beautifully decorated inside and to a very high standard. The baby pack had everything you could possibly need, they even bought an extra booster seat for us. We had meals from their delivery service which were fresh and very tasty. Our children enjoyed the playground and orchard.The location is a bit out of the way, but we did day trips everyday to interesting locations and beaches.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent a very comfortable and relaxing short break (Mon-Fri) at The Green at the end of June with our dogs. Our cottage (No 2) was extremely comfortable and clean, with all the facilities needed and with just the two of us in the two bedroom cottage (plus dogs) there was plenty of room. Patio doors opened straight out onto the large lawn, where rabbits played right outside. I guess we were spoiled being the only people staying that week, so we had the grounds to ourselves, but there is plenty of room to find some quiet spots if it's busier. I did find the memory foam mattress a little uncomfortable - they made me feel rather hot and sticky on the warm nights and I had to sleep without the duvet.

We had lovely weather, and had some great walks in and around Bodmin Moor. A walk along the Camel Trail to Padstow, and a train trip into Looe from Liskeard were also great fun. It was a 5 minute drive to Upton Cross for the nearest shop, where we got some local farm produce, milk and papers in the morning. Not fussed about the pub in Upton Cross, new managers put us in the games room as we had our dogs, but much more welcoming in the Rila Mill pub, which is walking distance away. We will be recommending The Green to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had our wedding at The Green on 1st June 2013. It was absolutely perfect. The venue can manage comfortably parties of up to 120 (which we had) for a seated evening meal and plenty of space for dancing afterwards (I think pretty much our whole party were up and dancing for most of the night). Moira and Zoe were on hand throughout the build up to the wedding to answer questions and also just to help with general preparations - e.g. babysitters, taxis, hair and make up recommendations. The great thing about The Green as a venue is that you can sleep up to 32 people on site - this is a real bonus as you can get most or all of the family and wedding party on site for accommodation. The other great thing is that you have exclusive use of the venue from Friday until Monday - so we were able to host an informal brunch on the Sunday to maximise the time we spent with our wedding guests and extend the partying a little.

The cottages are really lovely and have pretty much everything you could wish for in a self-catered property. They are all nice and spacious.

The Green worked really well for us as a wedding venue as we wanted a large venue, with exclusive use and also we wanted the wedding to be fairly informal with a very outdoorsy feel to it. The Green ticked all these boxes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croft, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Having just visited this large rental complex for our daughters wedding this weekend, I would like to make a few suggestions.....the place is lovely and we had a superb time...helped by fab weather....however for a wedding venue...I watched lots of ladies damage their designer shoes on gravel paths ...that were slippy...difficult to walk on and totally inappropriate for a wedding situation....the upstairs cottage we stayed in..no 4 was a death trap after dark with very bad lighting after dark.....safes need fitting in the cottages and perhaps.....more towels and soap would have been much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Within 10 minutes of arriving at The Green we were sitting on the balcony of our cottage with a glass of wine enjoying the absolute peace and the view, not often you feel so relaxed so quickly. Its location near Bodmin Moor is perfect for exploring the surrounding area.

We stayed in cottage number 4, it has literally everything you would need and more. Simple touches in the kitchen like jars of teabags, coffee (and a cafetiere), milk on arrival were really welcome and the kitchen was so well stocked that you really wanted for nothing. In the living area, books, dvds and boardgames along with lots of information were provided. The high beamed ceilings added the wow factor along with the modern, tasteful décor. We were childishly impressed with the amplifier that allowed you to plug in your ipod and the music be played into all rooms separately! Our son and his friend loved the play park and especially the hammock.

Normally when I go away I have trouble sleeping but the bed was so comfortable that this wasn't the case here.

We had the best, most relaxing long weekend we've had in years and would highly recommend staying at The Green.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Myself, my partner and 2 boys age 5 years and the other 6 months had a wonderful time in Cottage number 2. It was so peaceful and relaxing and had everything we needed. The location is so tranquil, the stroll to the local pub is perfect for a pre evening meal distraction and The Green is perfectly located for surrounding attractions of both walks or a trip to seaside Looe. I am looking forward to going again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheila d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Green Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Cornwall

Property: The Green Cornwall
Address: Netherton Farm, Upton Cross PL14 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Upton Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Upton Cross
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green Cornwall 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious Cornish escape, set in 20 acres of lush green countryside...surrounded by apple orchards, meadows, a lake, and the stunning skylines of Cornwall's iconic mining heritage. The Green, House and Cottages, provides the ultimate contemporary comfort - from stylish interiors to beautiful grounds, chef services to spa treatments plus lots to amuse the little ones. The Green is perfectly located for a dreamy holiday in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing