We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Vernon Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vernon Downs Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
WALTON
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the Hotel that is attached to the casino and race track at Vernon Downs. Being a mature couple we appreciate the friendly atmosphere. Have a beautiful indoor pool, hot tub, exercise room, free wifi in room, Loads of tv channel etc...The rooms are quite spacious. We have stayed in one with a Kingsize and also others with 2 Double beds. We have never been disappointed in the look and how clean the rooms are. The ladies that take care of them are excellent and very attentive. The staff is very friendly and the buffet is EXCELLENT! as are the other eating places there. There is also a basic continental breakfast and even outdoor terraces to eat and drink on. Prices in restaurants and buffet are very very reasonable Nice to have other activities besides casino,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding you visit with us. I’m extremely pleased when we meet or exceed our guest’s expectations. The hotel team works very hard always trying to make everyone’s visit the best experience ever and once again thank you so much for your comments. I’m looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    41
    35
    22
See reviews for
49
67
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at Vernon Downs Hotel on 9/1/13. I was very disappointed in it. It was my anniversary so I was hoping for a wonderful stay. We waited in a very long line to check in at 3:00. We stayed in the Jr Jacuzzi Suite. Our 1st impression was that it was very outdated. The carpet was old and stained & the walls were scuffed up in many places. The Jacuzzi tub was not big enough for 2 people which was disappointing and the shower was also very small. The wall behind the toilet was gross. There were pretzels pieces left on the floor at the edge of the bed from previous guests and even though it was a nonsmoking hotel the room smelled of cigarette smoke & a musty smell. The breakfast did not offer many items and there was not enough seating for all the guests. The coffee was horrible. I was so looking forward to this trip, but left disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony9Rose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to apologize for any delay you experienced during check-in as the front desk team works hard to keep wait time down. The room you booked did have a personal Jacuzzi but we do have two personal Jacuzzis available. I do again apologize for what you experienced as we do work hard to improve in all areas of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Angola, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Vernon downs in the past. This time I was concerned about the few bad reviews in trip advisor. I called the hotel and asked to speak to the manager about my concerns. He advised that there may have been a few mishaps due to the hotel being fully booked for many days. He said he resolved the issues, which we confirmed with our stay. Rooms are large with seating areas, microwaves, refrigerator & coffee pot,
most importantly very clean. We are looking forward to next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay and was able to answer any concerns you had prior to your arrival. It makes us very happy to know we are meeting our guest’s expectations and they are having a great time staying with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nothing but rave reviews on our stay. From pulling up to the front of the hotel we were very impressed. The grounds were immaculate! Lobby very homey and staff great. Third floor outdoor deck was great, overlooked the track which was very nice . Planning on going back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I was extremely pleased that we met all your expectations and you had a wonderful visit with us. We work very hard to provide outstanding service from all of the departments. Once again thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I guess this place is adequate, but they sure don't train the front desk personnel. I waited, unacknowledged, in front of the desk clerk while she completed her phone business. After a good ten to fifteen minutes, she finally asked for my ID. No please. No welcome. No thank you. No information about Internet, breakfast, or any other amenities. Had to find out for myself. You get a warmer welcome at the DMV. Just not a good start. Creates a bad feeling.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to apologize for the way the check in process went when you arrived. The front desk team works very hard to make sure the service levels are professional at all times. I did have one of my team members review a concern that they were alone at the desk due to a staffing issue which created long wait time at check in. I want to believe that this may have been when you were experiencing a shortfall in customer service. This is not our standard and again I do apologize for what you experienced during your arrival. I want to thank you for your feedback as this is how we continue to improve on any shortfalls in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We, too, stayed at the Vernon Downs in July, 2013. I completely agree and was VERY happy to see the photos you posted of the dirty room. I was going to take almost the same photos myself, including the dirty, filthy bathroom fixture. Our room was dusty, the carpet was dirty and the floor area below the air conditioner was criminal. The alarm clock face was covered in crud. I threw it into the drawer. I thoroughly cleaned the phone and remote with a Clorox wipe.

The air conditioning was loud and uneven, so we were either boiling or freezing. I bet the interior was also dirty as heck.

The manager might think the lobby remodel is great, but we don't sleep THERE! They should have done the rooms first. Pitiful! Even if you are desperate, don't stay here!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMKtravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your response and will review this with our housekeeping department to continue to work on any shortfalls with our rooms. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and again thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
4.3 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
11.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Downs Hotel

Property: Vernon Downs Hotel
Address: 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, NY 13476-4516
Region: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vernon Downs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vernon Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vernon Downs
Downs Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing