We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the bed!”
Review of Vernon Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vernon Downs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's all about the bed!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spent a Friday night at Vernon Downs for our anniversary and stayed the night in one of the suite rooms (331).

The room itself was very large and spacious. It consisted of a large, open bedroom area with a Jacuzzi tub in one corner and a king bed against the wall. The is a door off the bedroom that opens up into a living room area with couch, sink, fridge and flat screen t.v. There is also a small closet.

The room itself was pretty nice, and very very spacious for just the two of us. The room appeared clean on the surface but if you really looked at things you would notice that the bathroom floor was dirty around the toilet (which kept clogging) and there was some fuzz and other small items in the corners of the room on the floor.

The Jacuzzi was old but worked great and was very nice. Big enough for two!

But what really made this stay for me was the bed. And when you are staying at a hotel over night it's all about the bed. This bed was so amazingly comfortable that I actually pulled up the side of the sheet to see what brand it was. (It was a Simmons Beauty Rest Super Pillow Top). The bedding felt luxurious and the pillows were just how I like them. I probably got one of the best sleeps that I have gotten in such a long time. I woke up relaxed and rested so this hotel gets 4 stars from me.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful, with a huge fireplace and nice sitting area. There is a nice place to eat connected to the hotel and we enjoyed a great meal sitting outside on the deck watching the horse races. There is also a connecting hallway to the casino. We did not hear any noise from either the casino or the races in our room.

Overall a great stay. Would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the race track. When you wake up in the morning you can open your bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and I’m thrilled we met your expectations while visiting. We are very proud of our property and work very hard to provide all of our guests with outstanding guest service. Your correct about the beds being comfortable as we receive many compliments about them. Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    41
    34
    22
See reviews for
48
67
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I just wish there was more to do in the area. But the hotel itself is gorgeous, and the second nicest room I've stayed. Bed was super comfortable... pillows are dreamy. My room had a coffee pot, microwave, and fridge. There was a half-eaten cookie in the night stand drawer, but the cleaning person wouldn't see it unless the drawer was pulled out completely. I only found it because I pulled the phone book out.

My only complaint, which requires me to dig deep, is I couldn't find a way to change the aspect ratio on the TV, so that some of the programs the images were a bit skewed. But really, who cares?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I did let our housekeeping staff know how important it is to check all aspects of the room to avoid those types of issues. I do apologize for the problem with the television and when you stay with us again please remember there is always somebody at the front desk that will try to provide assistance with any problems during your stay. Once again thank you for your comments and I’m looking forward to you visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fulton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel and casino staff are very well trained in customer service ! Fast ,easy check in! Not a big casino, but a feeling of being safe is important ! There are several events going on every Friday,Saturday and Sunday that make it fun! The horse racing is a huge bonus! We look forward to every racing season at Vernon downs! The slots are not as tight as there competition. A few hundred dollars goes a long way when spending a weekend playing machines ! unlike neighboring casino that sucks your money up in minutes! Rooms clean and comfortable ! Have good bands on Friday and Saturday, would be nice of they added a few more nights for us seniors that go other nights! Great place to visit!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I really enjoy it when our staff provides quality service all around for our guests. We are very excited with our property and now with racing on Thursday and our party on the terrace on Wednesday starting this month we do provide more entertainment throughout the week. Once again thank you so much for your feedback and we will continue to work hard at making all our guests have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yarmouth, MA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Room was spotless and the pool was great. The Bed was very comfortable. I slept like a baby. Breakfast buffet was surprisingly well equipped. All in all, THIS TIME we had a great stay. A HUGE improvement from our last visit and will bring me back to stay again when the weather is better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you from the entire staff for your feedback regarding your visit. We are very proud of our property and the service we provide and it is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable visit. Once again thank you and we do look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville N.y.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is hotel built next to a harness track and casino upstate NY. It has become a tired looking place, a few years back they spent some money to try and attract events and weddings but they only spent the money on cosmetic stuff and construction of things that appear to get little use. I want my room t be nice I don't care about the lobby or unused deck.The rooms are the big issue. All the carpets, bedding and drapes look like they were designed for a motel 6 and were probably installed the day the place opened. The housekeeping staff try hard but you can't make dingy shine, even when cleaned well it looks dirty and tired. The bathroom has the most narrow tub you can imagine and then instead of putting in a curved shower curtain rod they have a straight one. As a result the gross rubber feeling shower curtain presses against you when you shower. It is slimy and gross. When we pointed this out along with a few other very small items that could make the place better the manager said there were no better options for shower curtains. Obviously he has never been to a real hotel. Recently we also noticed in an effort to save money the bath amenities consist of one tiny bottle of shampoo/conditioner combo and two dollar store bars of white soap, We have all of our own stuff so we don't care about this, its just the perception you get. With turning stone resort within 5 miles we now only stay here when we can't get a room there (and are desperate). We get our rooms free and even with that, we don't come that often. We have even stopped on the way at the dollar general and bought a cheap shower curtain to use once and toss, that's how much we are bothered by the shower. Even when you try and give actionable feedback, in a kind way, its always the manager knows best. Its too bad because we like all of the casino, hotel staff and even the cleaning staff who have the deck stacked against them. A few thousand well spent dollars could really upgrade the place. Someday and when it is done I will give them an updated review.

Room Tip: Don't even think about Jacuzzi rooms you would not use it. If you really need to stay here start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjdfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I do apologize that your visit with us fell short of your expectations. We are extremely pleased with our new event center which has provided wonderful memories for our guests attending weddings, concerts and shows. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job keeping the rooms clean for our guests. If you get the opportunity please join our party on the terrace during the summer on Wednesday evenings to experience good food and entertainment with a view. We are continuing to improve our property and always working hard to provide a wonderful experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Cassville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A few family and friends went to the hotel for my birthday. The check in took longer than it should have but there were only 2 desk persons and a lot of check in activity going on. We all stayed in rooms with either two double beds or one king size, the rooms were nothing special, just pretty standard hotel rooms. At least there was a mini fridge and a microwave in each room which I think is a real plus. We all ate at the Friday night buffet, which for $13.00 a head was well worth it. All the steak and clams (mahogany's) you could eat and plenty more. We went to the bar at the casino after dinner to listen to the band. The dance floor could stand to be a little bigger. I found the bartenders to be pretty friendly and the service was good. After the band quit we went back to the room and I have to admit, the bed was fantastically comfortable. I slept great on it. I usually wake up with back pain but not in that bed. My brother and his wife said their bed was great too. Overall, this is a pretty nice place for an overnight get away or maybe even two. It isn't a Vegas casino, and you won't see the beautiful people gambling like the movies show, but what do you expect from a small town in upstate NY? I'd go again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments which allow us to always look at ways to continue to improve. Yes we don’t consider ourselves a large casino but we are very proud of our property and the high level of customer service. I apologize for any delay during the check in process as we do work hard trying to reduce the wait time getting guests checked in. It sounds like you all had a wonderful time and if you visit us during our racing season we have much more to offer. Once again I would like to thank you and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tully, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel staff was accommodating. Rooms were typical for price. Breakfast had many choices.
Lobby was warm and inviting with a fireplace. Pool was ok but no where to change or leave cloths.
Lots of chorine but we were the only ones in the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at Vernon Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit with us. We do work very hard toward exceeding our guest’s expectations so they have an outstanding visit. We do have large bathrooms near the pool entrance but it seems most prefer to change in the room prior to going down to the pool. This is something we will consider as we continue to expand. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
4.3 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
11.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Downs Hotel

Property: Vernon Downs Hotel
Address: 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, NY 13476-4516
Region: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vernon Downs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vernon Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vernon Downs
Downs Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing