We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you need to know what to expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vernon Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vernon Downs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“you need to know what to expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We have stayed here numerous times. We are frequent travelers to casinos, including atlantic city and niagara falls, and you need to keep in mind where you are. you are not in vegas. you are not going to get vegas style rooms,vegas style food , or anything else. it is a small venue. vernon is a nice getaway, a quick getaway and it delivers. we have almost always have good service, free , clean rooms, and always had a good time. yeah, there is work that needs to be done, but isnt there always? it is different in a small but satisfying way. we are going for new years eve. good luck and best wishes to you all!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donaldtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    38
    33
    21
See reviews for
46
63
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Full disclosure - there are 2 hotel/casinos within a few miles of each other in this area. If you're looking for the "Vegas-style" hotel, this is not the one for you. The Vernon Downs hotel is more value based. And what a value it is! The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff has always been friendly and welcoming, and the ammenities are excellent. The pool/hot tub area is always clean, the exercise room has all the machines that you'll need, and the continental breakfast is not fancy, but enough to get you started for the day.All are included in the room price (unlike some others in the area) **My secret tip** Whether you are booking on-line or via telephone- ask for the "Post-time Rate"- the rate is reserved for the rooms on a specific floor facing the parking lot, but when the hotel has other vacancies you may automatically be upgaded to higher floors possibly facing the horse-racing track. All-in-all: my wife and I have stayed here many times and would never hesitate to return. It is all the hotel that the other "Vegas-style" hotel is at a fraction of the price and every time we return they keep improving little things that make a big difference.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithaca, new york
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed one night - October 18-19 - with family. Rooms were large and fairly clean - casino ok - pool and hot tub nice - breakfast enough to get you up and going. After returning home I realized my brand new Columbia white winter jacket was missing - after searching I found my coat had been left behind - my error because I trusted someone to take my luggage and coat to our vehicle while I returned to the casino with others - he said he could not remember if he left it in the room or the lobby but was positive he did not put it in the vehicle. I called both the cleaning service and security but no coat - was so upset because it had been a gift from my granddaughter.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel at Vernon Downs over Labor Day weekend. We were greeting at the front desk by Patty who was very friendly and happy. She upgraded us to a room with a veiw of the race track on the 6th floor at no charge and provided us with all the information we needed for our stay. To our pleasant surprise, we were told that there is a free continental breakfast Monday through Friday. This was a nice extra. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The view of the race track and the surrounding countryside was great. Each room has a mini wet bar areas with sink, small refrigarator and microwave. The televisions in the rooms are all newer 32" flat screens. We really enjoyed using the pool and the hot tub each day. The area is nicely kept with wicker chairs and lounges. You do have to sign a waiver for the pool use, so I do suggest if you think you might use the pool ask to do this a check in time, just to save a little bit of hassle doing it later. The continental breakfast is the usual fair of danish, fruit, yogurts, and bread items to toast. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It is not a place to go to if you are thinking Vegas style casino and hotel, but for a couple days to get away and relax it is great. We are already planning a trip back at Thanksgiving. Oh and there is a slots casino. The casino is open from 10 am to 2 am and there is a race track, harness racing with racing until early November. And if you don't mind a short drive there is shopping and restaurants in New Hartford.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irelandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica , NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

The rooms are ok for the price. The issues are the staff. The THUGS from the casino come into the hotel to smoke near the pool and throw dirty looks around at the guests
I wanted to pop a couple of them in the head and say 'what the hell you looking at?' customer service just doesnt ring through at this place. From the hotel to the casino no one is properly trained. I was in the hotel lobby with a 'hotel' styrofoam cup and one of the casino THUGS asked me what was in it??? The Nerve!!!! So if you have a strong stomach to be harassed by casino employees on their smoking break and dont mind incompetence and being treated like an intruder, sign up!! The general manager Jeff has contempt for you if you complain.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed for two nights for Hamilton College commencement and had a most enjoyable stay! The staff was very pleasant, the rooms were very clean, the buffet food was fine.

Best part was our room overlooking the harness racing track - we enjoyed watching the races at night and the practices during the day (some drivers were even texting - there should be a law!)

It seems like the recent complaints I see must have been a very off day. We highly recommend this as a reasonably priced choice,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is Definately not a place we (my husband and I) will be coming again!! We came for a night in a Jacuzzi Suite. They used to have unbeatable prices in the area on them, and that changed when they got new owners. They skyrocketted the ludicrous prices. This is DEFINATELY not the quality of the Turingstone Casino's Jacuzzi Suites. They are very plain in appearance and quality. The staff is very indifferant to this also. $199 for a Junior (a one person jacuzzi). It was going to be well over the $250 mark -not even happening!! The beds are comforable enough. The bathrooms are fine. And the kitchenette is acceptable. But for that price, definately, not something for fixed incomes or for someone who is on a honeymoon, or a romantic getaway. Also the places in the establishment for dining had new owners, which had raised their prices to ridiculous for their food... and the food quality had gone down.. Simply for food that was burgers that used to be terrific and a good amounts, not so anymore!! Definately not our "cup of tea" anymore.....

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandiTigerlily70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
4.5 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
16.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Downs Hotel

Property: Vernon Downs Hotel
Address: 4229 Stuhlman Rd., Vernon, NY 13476
Region: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vernon Downs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vernon Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vernon Downs
Downs Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing