We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most horrifying experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most horrifying experience!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Tower for a business trip our stay was for two nights. First off our light in hall by closet was broke,then the TV which they replaced with another TV, then the remote did not work properly and then the coffee pot did not work properly either. On the second night we discovered bed bugs beyond gross!! We were so grossed out we left at 1am and drove the 2 hours home beyond exhausted. Then what we had to do to our luggage and belongings to ensure we did not bring any of the critters home was taxing not to mention the emotional stress of it all. Management was very apologetic and did not charge me for the weekend.....which why would they after that experience. They also sent me free accommodations for one night stay but it will be a long time if ever that I would chase to back and stay. The other facilities in the building were fantastic but unfortunately the bed bug experience ruined it all:/

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for the insight into your recent stay. The concerns that you shared have been addressed and we sincerely apologize if you didn’t feel this was resolved after your conversation with our Executive Housekeeper. Regardless of the circumstances, we do hope that you will reconsider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    186
    79
    33
    15
See reviews for
77
189
18
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Extremely overpriced room that was quality of an express inn or hotel that you would pay half the price for. Mini bar scam, no alerts to the fact it's a weighted mini fridge and you can not put your own food/drinks in there. And so when i had done so and got charged, they were very slow and unpleasant with taking off charges that i never used. Thankfully will never have to go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IV830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Tower. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with your experience. Typically, our Front Desk team does a very good job informing guests about the mini-bar at check-in. We are sorry to hear that this was not the case for your stay. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your observations and experience. If you would, please take a moment to contact her at 1-800-771-7711. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you forget what it's like to be greeted by a friendly parking valet, escorted to the front desk by a courteous bellman, welcomed professionally by a front desk and shown to your room swiftly and proudly. The staff at the Tower exceeded my expectations, as did the room. GREAT shower! Looking forward to returning with my wife!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinghiale-13624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I came to the RUSA Rally last year but only stayed one night. Time wise it was difficult. This year I decided to stay two nights. It was a pleasurable experience that I plan to repeat next year. Everything was to our liking, the check in, the restaurant, the casino, and the banquet and meeting areas. I would recommend Turning Stone to anyone who wanted a get away. My overall experience was a positive one.

Room Tip: Definitely the tower. We didn't make our reservation in time last year to make it into the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanheart0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

TS was a great venue for our company meeting. I even came back up $20 from the slots!!! The company plans to hold the event there next year, so we will be back next. All members of the staff were helpful, from the valet to the check out persons.

Breakfast and lunch were just ok, but dinner options for our large group, all looked good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryFairport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. Room was spacious, clean and had free wi-fi that was easy to connect to. Bed was comfortable. I thouroughly enjoyed my stay. Bathroom was clean and had ample towels. Mini bar was well stocked and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Turning Stone resort had a number of positives.  The Tower rooms were clean, and offered an in-room safe and free internet.  The food and wine at the restaurants was good also.  
Unfortunately, there were also some negatives.  There was almost no water pressure in the shower, and we were warned at check-in not to open the minibar unless we were buying something.  Seems the minibar has built-in sensors that are ultrasensitive.  Even touching a bottle in the the minibar will record a sale and charge it to your account.  (From what other reviewers have said, there is no appeal on this.  You are charged even if you can show the item is still in place and unopened.)  This strikes me as an extreemly customer-unfriendly policy.
The primary negative for my wife an me related to a strange policy and an inflexible management that left us with a very bad impression of the resort. 
Knowing that our group was on a wine tasting tour of the Finger Lakes,  Turning Stone staff boarded our tour bus when we arrived and informed us that no outside alcohol could be brought onto the premises.  (There was no mention of this policy when we made our group reservation.)  
The leader of our group appealed to the management to make an exception on this policy, explaining that we were on a wine tour and everyone in the group had bottles of wine packed in our suitcases.  The managers were firm.  They would not allow us to bring it in.   So we had to unpack our suitcases beside the bus and leave our wine on the bus overnight. (This whole process delayed our check-in by at least 45 minutes.)
The rationale Turning Stone gave us was that since they sell alcohol in their restaurants, they cannot permit guests to bring their own.   Of course, every hotel I've ever stayed at has sold alcohol in the restaurant, but I don't recall another hotel with an overbearing policy like this!
Turning Stone needs to pay serious attention to the impression they are giving their guests.
We felt more like we were being checked into a prison camp than being welcomed to a luxury resort.  It spoiled what could have otherwise been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RbrtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
182 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing