We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare yourself to smell like a smoker”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Big Flats, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prepare yourself to smell like a smoker”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although the room and restaurants were very nice, the whole place reeked of smoke. I do not smoke, but after staying here, I smelled like I did. My hair and clothing smell horrible. My eyes were watering, and my sinuses were stuffed. If the entire campus was smoke-free, I would rate it a 5, but the smoking everywhere is horrible. I look forward to casinos in NY where they will be smoke free.

Room Tip: Choose the smoke free Marriott facility across the way if you want a true non-smoking facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65BethA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    186
    79
    33
    15
See reviews for
77
189
18
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was a business trip staying only one night for a meeting at the property. From the minute we handed the valet the keys to the minute we picked up the car staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. My room in the tower was in perfect order when I checked in. The free wifi was fast and easy to access. We had a welcome reception for our group in the Turquoise Tiger and then stopped at the Tim Rooster and The Gig all three of these new venues are extremely well done and the service was flawless. After a few hours of gaming we had dinner in the 24 hour restaurant food and service were outstanding. The next morning we had breakfast and a meeting in the conference center and once again every aspect of the experience was excellent. Over the last five years Turning Stone has been transformed from an Indian casino to a truly world class resort. Great job by both the staff and management.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Fabulous accommodations. The staff was very friendly and helpful.Altho I don't gamble much there was still plenty of other action. The selection of restaurants made it very hard to decide. From bistro to buffet with everything in between. There could have been a little more help at the corner Starbucks which seem to be quite busy most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNorway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was at Turning Stone for a business event and did not need to leave the property all weekend. The restaurants were great! My first night was unfortunately ruined by 3-pack-a-day neighbor smoking one after another on our NON SMOKING floor. The staff did their best to eradicate the smell (with an air purifier), because there was not another room available. They did move me the next night, and the experience was completely different! Great spot for a business event.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Tower for a business trip our stay was for two nights. First off our light in hall by closet was broke,then the TV which they replaced with another TV, then the remote did not work properly and then the coffee pot did not work properly either. On the second night we discovered bed bugs beyond gross!! We were so grossed out we left at 1am and drove the 2 hours home beyond exhausted. Then what we had to do to our luggage and belongings to ensure we did not bring any of the critters home was taxing not to mention the emotional stress of it all. Management was very apologetic and did not charge me for the weekend.....which why would they after that experience. They also sent me free accommodations for one night stay but it will be a long time if ever that I would chase to back and stay. The other facilities in the building were fantastic but unfortunately the bed bug experience ruined it all:/

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for the insight into your recent stay. The concerns that you shared have been addressed and we sincerely apologize if you didn’t feel this was resolved after your conversation with our Executive Housekeeper. Regardless of the circumstances, we do hope that you will reconsider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Extremely overpriced room that was quality of an express inn or hotel that you would pay half the price for. Mini bar scam, no alerts to the fact it's a weighted mini fridge and you can not put your own food/drinks in there. And so when i had done so and got charged, they were very slow and unpleasant with taking off charges that i never used. Thankfully will never have to go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IV830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TS_Management, Manager at The Tower at Turning Stone Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Tower. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with your experience. Typically, our Front Desk team does a very good job informing guests about the mini-bar at check-in. We are sorry to hear that this was not the case for your stay. Our Front Office Manager, Kim Lane, would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your observations and experience. If you would, please take a moment to contact her at 1-800-771-7711. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you forget what it's like to be greeted by a friendly parking valet, escorted to the front desk by a courteous bellman, welcomed professionally by a front desk and shown to your room swiftly and proudly. The staff at the Tower exceeded my expectations, as did the room. GREAT shower! Looking forward to returning with my wife!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinghiale-13624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
182 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower at Turning Stone Resort

Property: The Tower at Turning Stone Resort
Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Verona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower at Turning Stone – AAA 4 Diamond award-winning high-rise hotel, offers a stunning panoramic view of the countryside. The Tower features spacious guest rooms and elegant suites. 100% Non-Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tower At Turning Stone Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing