We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spot and sorry to leave”

Review of Elms Farmhouse

Elms Farmhouse - Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear
Swimming Pool
Elms Farmhouse - Kitchen west view
Elms Farmhouse - Lounge
Breakfast room / Children's room
Master double bedroom 1
Master bathroom
Family ensuite bedroom
Family ensuite bathroom
Triple bedroom
Green rear double bedroom
Mid rear double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom 1
Downstairs double bedroom 2
Attic double bedroom
Front twin bedroom
Stairs and Hallway
Elizabethan passage
Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Wangford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeliaDiam...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and sorry to leave”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at the Elms Farmhouse. Loved it! So many nooks and crannies to explore...spacious yet warm and cosy with an inviting atmosphere. I managed to completely relax, even though we were in a large group. Our hosts made us feel welcome with extra touches, like the spectacular Christmas tree in the dining room, and the games that we had great fun playing each evening. I want to return in the summer and make the most of the gorgeous grounds and swimming pool.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzir64
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house, in beautiful surroundings, exceeded all expectations and would highly recommend for family gatherings”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We celebrated my dads 70th birthday and felt at home as soon as we walked through the door of this amazing house. The photos do not do it justice , the rooms are big and spacious, especially the wonderful dining room where we all congregated for my dads 70th bday meal. There were 4 generations staying in the house and activities to sort all.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for all the family”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the property for our silver wedding anniversary and wife's 60th Birthday celebration for all our children, their partners and our grandchildren and of course our sons dog! Six individual families in essence so a big house was a 'must'. The house was all it said it was and with eight bedrooms everyone was catered for. One of the bedrooms is small and does not have any natural light in that there are no windows but it served my little granddaughter very well and she was very pleased with her room. The picture also gives the impression that there is a pond in the front but people who are worried about safety should have no fear as it is actually across a small road In front of the property. Everything is to hand in the property and two dishwashers and two large fridges are brilliant if having meals in. The large dining room seats all very comfortably but we used the separate breakfast room as the children's dining area, Where they had all their meals and no doubt enjoyed the adult free zone. The games room is well equipped and also thrives on what some families who have stayed, donated but some of the games and indeed the pool table are getting a little 'tired'. Everyone enjoyed the garden and it's different areas as well as the undercover pool at the end of the garden. The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything that a large group would need as well as having cutlery for children.. Anything that needed doing was communicated to the owners who ensured that satisfaction was maintained. The pool was regularly maintained by the owners who checked water quality, correct fill and temp. My only niggle is that quite a large deposit is taken a few weeks before and is returned some couple of weeks after the stay which seems quite a long time to wait for a satisfactory cleaning report. I would add that as in most large family occasions, accidents happen and a glass was broken but by advising the owners as soon as practicable it was noted and no extra charges were made. I would recommend that if there are small niggles or something that should be made aware to the owners, that a note is made in a book kept in the house so that others can see any problems noted and how they were rectified. It also leaves free the guest book which is supplied to reflect what sort of time the 'renter, had hopefully enjoyed. This is is a large property and with large gatherings it means that people can find some personal space if required. Overall this is an excellent property for special occasions involving numbers of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space within the house and garden and the pool
Liked least: Large deposit made larger due to dog deposit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bygravey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOR LARGE PARTIES”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just had a lovely family weekend in Elms Farmhouse. Took a fog, kids and adults and it worked a treat. The house is really well proportioned and had ample room, never feeling crammed or cluttered. The kids loved the feel of the house and had the tough decision on whetehr to hit the games room, the pool or play hide and seek in vast number of rooms open to them! The weather was lovely which helped but even without that the indoor ameninities certainly help fill down time during the day.
Good pub (1 of 2) walkable and the village Spar shop has everything you need for daily provisions. We drove to Southwold a couple of times - which was around 4 miles & of course is well worth the trip.
Only niggles - main TV was not working in lounge - the guy was eager to fix but needed professionals in to do so & wifi sketchy on one half of building.
However this didn't impact on a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beautiful House
Liked least: TV not working
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved the really warm swimming pool and the grandness of the hosue
Liked least: couldn' find anything to dislike, it was all great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynn R
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, well-equipped farmhouse”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time - the house is wonderful and perfect for a big group like ourselves. Sometimes properties are advertised as having space for a certain number when in fact its a real squeeze. This was not the case. We all had plenty of room and were very comfortable.

We cooked a 3 course meal for my Mum on Saturday night for 15 and all sat round the enormous table then we had a cream tea on Sunday for 19!

The games room and pool were a big hit with the teenagers, clever idea having them away from the house so we could have a bit more peace indoors.

My daughter is away travelling having a gap year at present so she was missing the party but we skyped her on the televsision in the living room and she joined in the cake and the singing of Happy Birthday- it couldn't have been more perfect.

I don't think I've ever been to a better equipped or more comfortable holiday home - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space for the full 18 people
Liked least: The warning notes displayed around the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool!
Liked least: It was all superb.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing