We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house everything we wanted.”

Review of Elms Farmhouse

Elms Farmhouse - Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Elms Farmhouse - Front
Elms Farmhouse - Rear
Swimming Pool
Elms Farmhouse - Kitchen west view
Elms Farmhouse - Lounge
Breakfast room / Children's room
Master double bedroom 1
Master bathroom
Family ensuite bedroom
Family ensuite bathroom
Triple bedroom
Green rear double bedroom
Mid rear double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom 1
Downstairs double bedroom 2
Attic double bedroom
Front twin bedroom
Stairs and Hallway
Elizabethan passage
Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Wangford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lornajwat...
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house everything we wanted.”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I booked this house for myself and 12 friends to celebrate my Hen party.
We had an amazing time. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed. Rooms where all spacious and the kitchen facilities perfect.
We had a chef come in and cook for us on Saturday evening who also stayed and made breakfast for the Sunday.
We walked to the local pub and shops but apart from that we just hung around the house and it was brilliant.
The house is fairly old and does have some trip hazards and low celling's to look out for but it did not effect us too much.
Clair at Big House events was very helpful and a pleasure to do business with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful property, accessible location perfect for groups”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved staying at Elms. We went on a work trip and it was the perfect property - cosy but without feeling on top of each other. We walked to Southwold and then got the bus back which was incredibly easy. Fab kitchen which was well equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
461danir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a great weekend break. The property was clean, spacious and comfortable. Situated in a quiet area with a very large back garden. We had some great country walks. The house had great character . Good value for money. thank you Claire for arranging it rather late for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evelynwat...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Huge house and wonderful garden for children excellently placed .”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent location for visiting the sea ,garden for games and pool and games room for more recreation. Dog friendly. House very good for a large group well equipped kitchen but limited surfaces for catering for 18. Mixed age group family all had a great time.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweed1946
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“felt like I was Coming Home”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I managed to get a group of friends an family to join me again at this lovely old Farmhouse. As soon as I walked through the door I felt at home again, I couldn't wait to get into the kitchen to prepare a lovely meal to serve in the large formal dining room. We lit a log fire and enjoyed the cosy feel of this very large house. We used the swimming pool, (nice and warm), and the games room, good fun all round. I love the fact the house is a mixture of low old beams and high Georgian ceiling's , something to suit everyone with a modern feel to it. Plenty of seating in all areas, including the garden, we were lucky with the weather, but in a house of this size it doesn't matter, there is room for all. One of my favourite places.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a wonderful time at Elms Farmhouse. A large group of us stayed and there was plenty of room for everyone. It has a lovely feel about the place and is really homely. The dining room is great with enough space to seat more than 18 people and we enjoyed a special birthday celebration dinner. There's also plenty of room in the living room and it was so nice to all be able to sit in there together too. The garden is huge and our two dogs loved running around it. The angel inn is only a five minute walk away and the food there was delicious. We also went on a nature walk nearby the farmhouse which was really pleasant. Being just a short drive from Southwold, staying here is convenient if you have a car and want to venture out a bit too. All in all we had a lovely time, it was the perfect location for a 60th birthday get together and we'd definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
please note that this review was posted by someone in the same group as the posted review on 15th Dec 2016 by 'Harriette Coop', who left an unwarranted negative review of 1/5.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweed1946
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like a lady of the manor”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed in this lovely old "Farmhouse" in the summer with my family and some friends, ages ranged from 6 up to 80, there was so much to do in the local area, we loved the Quay in Southwold, and the quaint high street with it's varied array of shops, the pier is a great attraction. The House was very large and accommodating for us all, furnished very nicely with lovely bed linen. The kitchen was great with two dishwashers and two of everything so no shortages when dishing up the lovely meals we made while there, As a caterer I was very impressed with all the gadgets making life easy as at home. the formal dining table is amazing large enough for us all to sit round and wide enough to use all the lovely serving dishes etc. the swimming pool was lovely suited swimmers and non swimmers, I didn't mind the walk across the garden as it was so nice and we had good weather. We all enjoyed the games room with the pool and darts and other games, also lots of books and games available. We are already looking to next year to have a weekend reunion as we all got on so well, great fun all round. Well done Clair and Scott, special mention to Clair for her help in shopping tips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky way the rooms and stairs were, it was fun for the young ones to play hide and seek
Liked least: If I had to be picky it would be the walk to the pool, not very far but I was walking badly at the time.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing