We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusted” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Collyweston Slater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Collyweston Slater
Ranked #1 of 1 Collyweston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here and was disgusted with the cleanliness. The carpets in the rooms are stained looks like could have been used for a brothel...i found the owners rather rude and uptight and overheard a conversation i would rather have not (feel sorry for their staff) food was excellent surroundings wonderful. Just the management lacking any kind of interpersonal skills! Shame for them i am an actual critic and will be writing up of my dismay. 5/5 for food 5/5 surroundings 3/5 for decor -5/5 for management. Dont stay here unless you dont value your health.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    20
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
48
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have just had 2 nights here and gad a lovely experience, the staff and locals are very friendly, room very comfortable and excellent value for money, food tasty. Better value than staying in Stamford and it's a lovely village, thank you to all.

Room Tip: Harrod is a lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolkangel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have just stayed an overnight here and for a second time i cannot fault anything about this place.The warn friendly welcome the attentiveness and politeness was second to none.
Accommodation itself is clean and facilities everything you could need.The bed and pillows so so comfy i could have slept a few hours more quite happily.
Food on the menu at night offered a good choice and the taste of the food and presentation was appealing.Prices also affordable and cannot complain.
Breakfast tasty and choice really good...oh and the coffee just what i needed!
Thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Stayed twice both times both rooms faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there for one night in Feb 2014. Lovely room, very friendly welcome, superb food and the staff were excellent. We received a very warm welcome, and we just loved the place from start to finish. I would recommend this place every time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were very impressed with the value for money offered. We stayed in herrod room which included a huge roll top bath, it was overlooking the main road but this didn't bother us as the noise was minimal and didn't stop us sleeping. The bed was very comfortable in fact we found it so comfortable we were late to check out! Breakfast was delicious and very generous. Dinner was much the same offering generous pub grub! The owners are very friendly and make a great atmosphere. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during January, the room (Harrod) was faultless, beautifully decorated, a large freestanding bath. Even though the room overlooked the main road through collyweston there was no traffic noise at all. Breakfast was very good. We chose what time we preferred to eat and was offered a good choice of breakfast food. We also dined here in the evening too, the menu is quite basic and typical pub menu style, but it all seemed to be homemade, portions were filling and good value for money. I do feel that the pub may be selling itself a bit short with the menu though, perhaps if the menu was a little more adventurous maybe it would attract a bigger audience. Overall well worth a visit and a nice base to stay if visiting Stamford and Rutland water.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julesedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

we stayed here so we could visit friends in Stamford, it is a short drive to Stamford town which is very pretty and good for shopping. We had an nice evening meal, nice choice of foods, and was nice to sit on sofas by the woodburner. would reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collyweston
3.2 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Willoughby Arms
The Willoughby Arms
#8 of 28 in Grantham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collyweston Slater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collyweston Slater

Property: The Collyweston Slater
Address: 87 Main Road | Nr Stamford, Collyweston PE9 3PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Collyweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Collyweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collyweston Slater 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collyweston Slater is a traditional coaching inn dating from the 17th century. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village of Collyweston, we are 5 miles from Rutland Water and only 3 miles from the historic market town of Stamford. An open fire greets you as you enter the flag-stoned floored building. Cosy and warm, you will find real ales (and free Wi-Fi), great hospitality, fine wine and locally sourced food on the extensive menu. There are three comfortable, en suite bedrooms where you can put your feet up after a day's walking around the shores of Rutland Water or after a spot of fishing, sailing, cycling or horse riding. The Collyweston Slater is also a convenient stopover for business cliental as we're only a few minutes' drive from the A1 at Stamford, the A47and close by to Peterborough, Leicester and Corby. This is a traditional English inn where great pub food, family hospitality and customer service is the focus.We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Collyweston Slater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collyweston Slater Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing