We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Collyweston Slater
Ranked #1 of 1 Collyweston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Called into the pub totally on spec as it is an area we are not familiar with at all. The first bonus was that there was a "Dog Friendly" notice outside. It had just started raining. The dog friendly area of the pub was cosy, lovely leather sofas. The staff made a fuss of our dog and made us feel very welcome. We had a fabulous meal, all home made, and reasonably priced for the amount and quality. It's a shame we're not local to the area as we would definitely make it a regular stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    21
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
56
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our stay in this small hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlord who got up early to do breakfast an hour before he would normally be preparing it.
We had dinner in the restaurant the evening we arrived which was very pleasant with polite and helpful waiting staff.
There was some road noise during the night, but the room was comfortable and clean.
Would stay here agin if in this neck of the woods.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slugbreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

stayed at local caravan site and spent a nice evening enjoying food and drink. The staff were very welcoming and attentive and the food was very very generous and very very nice tasting..yummy yummy in my tummy!!!! next time I am staying at fineshades I will be popping on by for more of the same...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999christian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

For the last few months I have been a regular resident at this wonderful establishment. Working away from home can be disheartening, but the warmth and welcome of these consummate landlords, their family and their staff has more than made up for it. Unlike a chain hotel your surroundings are not sterile and cold, but create a welcoming stylish atmosphere. The rooms all have very different styles but are decorated to a high standard and are beautifully maintained. The menu is varied and well thought out, the wine list constantly improving and the standards of service exemplary, a tailored cooked to order breakfast is always a good start to any day. The sense of community in this local village pub is palpable, and is testament to the hard working, friendly team.

Room Tip: If you want an enormous free standing bath then Harrod is the room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My partner and I first stayed here in Dec2013. while visiting family before christmas. That evening ourselves and our large family group (think the were around 18 of us) all enjoyed a fabulous meal there. The evening meal was wonderful and thoroughly enjoyed by all members of the family aged from 7 to 70+. The staff and owners were all friendly and very efficient, nothing was too much trouble.
Our room (double room with shower) was spotless, and beautifully presented.
We enjoyed our stay here so much that we booked again for another visit with family just before Easter. This time we had a different room, it had a Kingsize bed and an amazing roll top bath as well as a shower. Once again everything was beautifully presented and maintained to a high standard. Just hope i didn't use too much of their hot water enjoying the bath!
I highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the area for whatever reason you will not be disappointed. It really is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed and I'm really upset that the next time we are due to visit the area they are fully booked and so we have to find somewhere else to stay :(. But we will definitely go back again some time in the near future it will be our first choice from now on.
I really cannot find a fault with any part of our stay here and think that whoever wrote the previous bad review must have either stayed somewhere else or completely lost their marbles!

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in beautifully presented but my favourite was the one with the gorgeous rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend here. Room was immaculately clean and luxurious. Owners made us very welcome and were very kind to my husband who has to follow a special diet. They cooked individual meals for him. The food was excellent. Try the lemon chicken on specials board, it was the best chicken ever. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great choice on menu. A beautiful traditional inn. When we sought advice from the staff, they could not have been more helpful. The village is very picturesque and well worth a walk around. There are lots of things to do and we enjoyed visiting the magnificent Burghley House which is just down the road. a wonderful weekend at a super inn. We will be back!

Room Tip: I saw all three rooms as friends were staying there, they all looked beautiful. Ask for the room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here and was disgusted with the cleanliness. The carpets in the rooms are stained looks like could have been used for a brothel...i found the owners rather rude and uptight and overheard a conversation i would rather have not (feel sorry for their staff) food was excellent surroundings wonderful. Just the management lacking any kind of interpersonal skills! Shame for them i am an actual critic and will be writing up of my dismay. 5/5 for food 5/5 surroundings 3/5 for decor -5/5 for management. Dont stay here unless you dont value your health.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collyweston
3.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
7.3 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
478 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Exeter Arms
The Exeter Arms
#1 of 1 in Easton on the Hill
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collyweston Slater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collyweston Slater

Property: The Collyweston Slater
Address: 87 Main Road | Nr Stamford, Collyweston PE9 3PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Collyweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Collyweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collyweston Slater 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collyweston Slater is a traditional coaching inn dating from the 17th century. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village of Collyweston, we are 5 miles from Rutland Water and only 3 miles from the historic market town of Stamford. An open fire greets you as you enter the flag-stoned floored building. Cosy and warm, you will find real ales (and free Wi-Fi), great hospitality, fine wine and locally sourced food on the extensive menu. There are three comfortable, en suite bedrooms where you can put your feet up after a day's walking around the shores of Rutland Water or after a spot of fishing, sailing, cycling or horse riding. The Collyweston Slater is also a convenient stopover for business cliental as we're only a few minutes' drive from the A1 at Stamford, the A47and close by to Peterborough, Leicester and Corby. This is a traditional English inn where great pub food, family hospitality and customer service is the focus.We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Collyweston Slater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collyweston Slater Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing