We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Twice...Do Not Recommend”
Review of Wainscott Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wainscott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wainscott Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Wainscott B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Think Twice...Do Not Recommend”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I should have known when they were the only available hotel in the area for the weekend. I also should have known based on my first phone conversation and the abrupt manner in which I was spoken to. I also should have known when they said 3 night minimum, ok we will let you stay for 2 and then reduced the price. So buyer beware. Tennis courts are dilapidated and unable to be played on. Bathroom shower non existent lucky if its 2x2 feet and shower curtain, beige plastic liner! Pool towels that are provided are threadbare and the size of a hand towel. Beach passes? Be specific and ask for where as they only allow you access to one beach in the area and then you can drive out to Amagansett!

Ask for a possible late check out not even a moment's pause the immediate response "we're fully booked photo shoot coming in" guess what hours later, the parking lot was still empty! Assuming that they owners must be brothers...not nice, not customer service oriented whatsoever. It's a shame a true shame and such a poor reflection on the community out there. I have never had such an awful interaction with a hotel manager whether staying in a high end luxury or moderate accommodations. Give any other hotel out there a chance, PASS on Wainscott Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoriMA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    3
    4
    13
See reviews for
14
12
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed on a recent family vacation room temperature was at 86 degrees it was one of the hottest weekends in July , all the more reason to have your units working . When we complained the owner said there's not much we can do about it . Second night of our uncomfortable stay we invited him up to our room so he could witness how hot it was at 8:00 pm that's when he was able to find a singe window unit for our room , mind you there were 9 other rooms of family member staying with us that didn't receive a window unit . No service for Verizon users & there was no wi- fi available . Also on our last day the free continental breakfast that was advertised was taken away by the manager while we were still eating & we were asked to leave , very rude ! This was not a plot to get out of paying for our stay because all ten rooms paid & we were offered no discount . I would definitely find another place to stay !!

Room Tip: Would never return
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Ditto for this guest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wainscott hotels

Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed on a recent Hamptons visit and would never return again to the Wainscott Inn! Location is ideal, but that is about it. Place is run-down, owners a rude and unhelpful and rooms are not air conditioned in the summer as advertised. Yes, it was a hot weekend in July, but the air conditioning in the rooms was completly non-existent. Reported the owners on multiple occasions that our block of rooms was running around 80 degrees - mind you a block of family members that included young children, senior citizens and those with health issues. The owners did not care and refused to make any fair concessions to reduce the rates. Also advertised was a daily continential breaksfast which was also non-existent with the exception of our final day where Entemann's doughnuts and old juice were served. The place is a sham - STAY AWAY! So many other beautiful places in the same price range in the area to stay and with a little resarch you will certainly be happy somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyTravellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
These are the same guests with in one family who had their rooms paid for by someone else!

They were rude and blew their chance of any discount because of their behavior.

Notice only one review !

These are undesirable guests and are not allowed back on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Air conditioner got cool about 3AM and not before. The only cool place was the managers office.
No pool towels, we had at least 10 rooms for a wedding and we all complained to ask for more air conditioning and to no avail. No discount for being hot. As mother & father of the bride it was so hot getting dressed. I understood it was the hottest week of the year but the manager/owner was arrogant and nasty. We paid top dollar and no concessions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
This was the hottest week of the year. The guests were arrogant and rude, even after I added a additional AC Unit in their room and had a service man check the system.. The room was 72 degrees, hardly sweltering. These guests were looking for any way to get money back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

In the plus column:reasonable pricing, nice staff, frig, microwave and sink, high ceilings. In the minus column during stay: No Verizon cell phone reception in room, hair on bathroom floor, very large ants, wi-fi not working (a major problem as had been counting on that for work), very high, continual road noise, terrible foam pillows, cheap polyester bedding, tiny shower/bath, no rugs, no cups or utensils for kitchenette, no plugs near night tables for charging phone, tiny old style TV mounted very high and pointing down from corner near ceiling like in an old hospital room. With a little more effort, could be a cute, clean place to stay, but as is, would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 189Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
This person did not get her way which was she wanted only one night on a weekend stay which required a two night minimum. The rest of my customers that weekend were staying two nights and did not have any problems. I cannot change the policy for one person especially when others respect the hotel policy. She had a problem understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We are exploring New York for the first time. For a few days we have no plans just stopping at end of day and finding a place to stay. The Hampton's are amazing. So charming with the New England styles and we are here in the off season. Affordable was the main priority for my husband when looking for a place to stay.
We got this for $95 plus tax which totaled $106. The main house where you check in looks very New England and historic. The room we were put in is like a strip of a building (there are quite a few strips of buildings in clusters) with like 4 rooms lined up in a strip. I would say it was clean except I found a lot of hair on the bathroom floor and in the shower. I don't like to find other people's hair when I am in a bathroom. They also have a small ant problem in the bathroom. I saw ants last night and this morning when I turned the light on there was like 10 ants running around on there.
Besides that the room has a small old fashioned TV hanging up in one corner of the room, wood floors that are very impressive when you walk in, and the rest of the place was clean. No New England charm in these rooms just typical room. Bed was not real comfy, from 1-10 about a 5 or 6 for bed comfort. The price was right and its in a great location. The owner Jim was very nice when we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskansNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
I strongly disagree with this guests comments. I was on duty the entire length of their stay, and I was never informed of any problems. There is no record of any guest complaints for the same room that they occupied. I always give the hotel a chance to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I just returned from our most recent trip to the Wainscott Inn.
We were discussing in the car ride back why we love it.

l. It is family owned (not a chain).
The Inn was built from inception by the original owners and Jim and Streve go out of their way to make sure their guests are comfortable and happy!.

2. The property is not just large but beautifully maintained with lovely flowers on the groungs as well as tennis courts and a beautiful pool.

3. The accomodations are wide and varied including an individual cottages, larger rooms in the main house and smaller (less expensive) studio type units with a queen (or double) bed, a microwave, a table and chairs and a small refrigerator.

4. Daily maid service is included

5. A delicious continental breakfast is available each morning (in season) and is included also
.
6. LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION.
The Wainscott inn is just minutes from Sag Harbor, East Hampton, Bridgehampton, Watermill,- and a slightly longer trip to Southampton.

As the song goes-- 'WHO COULD ASK FOR ANYTHING MORE"

Room Tip: no fitness center or room service but who needs it??????
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wainscott
2.2 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
233 reviews
14.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainscott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainscott Inn

Property: Wainscott Inn
Address: 3720 Montauk Highway, Wainscott, NY 11975
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Wainscott
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wainscott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, The Wainscott Inn is more than a summer resort, allowing guests to enjoy the ambiance that each season brings to the Hamptons. Our central location to Southampton, Water Mill, Bridgehampton, East Hampton, Amagansett and Sag Harbor provides guests the opportunity to enjoy the pleasures of these nearby villages. Visit wineries, ocean beaches, farms, art galleries, antique shops, boutiques, historical landmarks, theaters, museums, restaurants, or take the ferry to Shelter or Block Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wainscott Hotel Wainscott
Wainscott Inn Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing