We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Walden B&B and Inns
1 review
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dave & crew (Maegan) were responsive, helpful, generous & so easy to coordinate plans with. We were so close to everything 'New York' ... West Point for graduation festivities, took the train to city & local sights (plus shopping). Very nice ... We settled in to our 'home' for apart a full week. Slim, the cat, just added to our home 'feel' ... THANKS Dave!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMToom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed with our little 10-month old for one night at Tin Brook. I couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. We would have liked to stay for 2 nights, but it was booked. David was friendly and helpful and the room was cozy and comfortable. Loved having Breakfast delivered so we could eat in our pajamas with our little guy. Additionally, it seemed as if David had baby-proofed the room for us. He didn't say anything, and we weren't sure, but the bottom shelves from bookcases were empty and wires were hidden. That's attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here while visiting relatives scattered about the Hudson Valley area. We were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable Pumpkin room which had private access. We appreciated the nearness to Walden with its several restaurants and bike path, which we walked. David, the proprietor, was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delivered to our room hot and right on time, which was a nice touch. The house is on a busy road but the traffic noise disappears at night. The room is in good condition in a historic house, bathroom was large and modern.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandH_GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

As my husband and the title say, our stay was a great bang for the buck!! We were originally scheduled for one of the singles for a couple nights during the Thanksgiving weekend, but David graciously upgraded us to one of the suites for the same original amount. And, while I'm sure the single would have been great, the suite allowed my husband to crash in the other bedroom the first evening while I finished up paperwork and made tea in the microwave. In addition, after realizing it would be easier to check-in earlier in the day, David graciously accommodated us to facilitate that as well.
Breakfast was hot, abundantly filling and yummy both mornings -- waffles bacon and fruit the first morning and french toast, bacon and fruit the second morning. As mentioned in other reviews, yes, it wasn't anything fancy, but the waffles filled the dinner-size plate and were obviously from a scratch batter and the french toast was just perfect. And, the bacon was so good that it almost inspired a food fight.
Thanks David for a great stay! I'm sure we'll be back the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We've never stayed at a B&B before, and it almost never occurred to us. We thought we'd be stuck in a crummy hotel in Newburgh. For less $ than expected we had all the comforts of home...but even better! We enjoyed the Vineyard room for a couple of nights, and the Pumpkin Patch for a few nights. Both rooms were wonderful, the breakfast was terrific and the service exceptional. We were in the area to visit family but it would be great for anyone that wants to enjoy that area, Walden is a great place to stay and be close to all sorts of stuff. We highly recommend Tin Brook and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were equally charming, clean and comfortable. The Pumpkin Patch has a whirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We're from the country, born and raised and still living there, so we're not often knocked over by what most "city folks" see and appreciate with so much amazement. Have to say, though -- and maybe it was just the time of year, the start of fall and right before Halloween -- that Tin Brook B&B kept us in "LOL" mode as we enjoyed these country fixins'.

As others have said, Dave goes out of his way to provide good service, at a tremendous price for this area. We were in the Pumpkin Patch room, and it had all the comforts of home ... and more. Nice large bathroom (with jets in tub), sturdy bed, modern TV, and the orangy decor with the pumpkin pillows and pumpkin towels and pumpkin quilts and pumpkin knickknacks and pumpkin wall-hangings was not-so-tacky that it bothered us -- we actually embraced all of it! Extremely comfortable. (Oh, there's also a whole bunch of pumpkins right outside!) This is slightly different from other B&B's we've stayed at, as the rooms in which you stay are apart from the dining area, which is on the side of a nifty gift shop featuring many crafts, in a separate building.

It's an older house, where guests stay, with thinnish walls so you may hear other guests' intoning, and close to what seems to be a busier-than-you'd expect road, so you may hear vehicles whizzing by. But any noise wasn't enough to be annoying.

Walden turned out to be a great location for our stay, as we got up, had breakfast, checked out, and hit a couple of local wineries before heading home. We'll keep Tin Brook in mind for future stays, as it's nearly halfway between home and where our grandchildren live farther upstate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My Mom and I stayed 5 nights in the Vineyard Room and it was just perfect for us. My husband was working (and staying) nearby on a project, so the good value of this room ($79/night) was a blessing. It has it's own access to the driveway, it's on the ground floor (perfect for my Mom, with a bad knee) and the room was a good size, with a TV, frig, coffee maker and table and chairs. Also an ironing board, iron, and hair dryer. You can see the decor online and choose the room for you, but it was clean and comfortable, and that's all that mattered to us. David, our host was great, and happy to get us anything we wanted, including an extension cord I asked for; he also carried all our bags in. He's nearby most of the time, and got us breakfast when we wanted everyday, and WHAT we wanted. Breakfast was delicious! I absolutely recommend this place, especially if you are on a budget, but want a clean, decent, safe place to stay. Thanks, David!

Room Tip: Vineyard is ground floor, with access to the driveway, and quiet, I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walden
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
16.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Berea Rd, Walden, NY 12586-2905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Walden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tin Brook Bed and Breakfast provides beautiful rooms and economical rates for all travelers. Get out of the city for a weekend or stop for the night on your way to New England. We are located at the crossroads of the Northeast. We are also perfect for visits to the Hudson Valley Wine Country, West Point, Bear Mountain, Storm king Art Center or dozens of other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing