We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for dogs (and people too)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for dogs (and people too)”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

To put it directly, we loved Bernetta's Place. Our room was spacious...kitchen, living room, bedroom. Two couches in the living room, and a lounge in the bedroom, so there was plenty of room to spread out. Very comfortable. There is a very nice pool plus hot tub outside, all of which are surrounded by attractive tall grasses and flowers. (My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed both.) Bernetta has done a great job of making the entire facility look attractive and well-thought out. She's an incredibly friendly host, and a great cook. Her breakfasts were nourishing and tasty. And I for one liked that one breakfast wasn't the latest health-food fad...it was pancakes with strawberries. Yum. (Though I concede that the dish before the pancakes was fresh fruit topped with yogurt...but in spite of it being healthy, it was also delicious.) But what made the place such a delight is that the grounds are maybe 2 acres or so, and it's all fenced in, so our dogs were able to go off-leash and just run and explore to their heart's content with no threat of escaping. And believe me, they LOVED running around, meeting the other dogs staying there, getting petted by other people staying there, tromping around the grasses, and generally just having a great time. Finally, the surrounding area is very attractive with good places to hike and explore, and the New Paultz area is surprisingly blessed with a number of good restaurants. We HIGHLY recommend Bernetta's Place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It was just wonderful. It was hard to belive all the great reviews. They are all true. The outdoor space, the pool, the main house all incredible. It is spotless and very comfortable. The grounds are completley fenced in. Our dog Sophie and her dog friend Cooper just loved that. Bernetta is so helpful at guiding you into activities you might like in the area. There is so much to do in the area. We went hikking and wine tasting near by. Bernetta was very helpful with picking out things you might like. It was a real pleasure to stay here. We will go back for sure.
So close to NYC also.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We just came back from an amazing weekend at Bernetta's place. We have been to many B&Bs and this was easily one of our favorite, if not the most favorite one. Not only was the location perfect, the suite we stayed in was so warm, comfortable and cozy. Everything was spotless. The main inn was breathtaking. All of the finishes and wood work were hand done by Bernetta herself and we were in awe. We went with our Irish Wolfhound, Emerson and he loved it just as much as we did. Plenty of room to play in the snow with no worries as it is all fenced in. If there is enough room for him to play there will be no worries with your dogs.

If you are looking for a place stay in the hudson valley, we would definitely suggest staying here. We loved it so much we are coming back in a couple months. The location is great for hiking, restaurants in New Paltz , wineries and overall relaxation. Close to it all but far enough away to enjoy star gazing at night. You can't go wrong here.

Bernetta, herself is an amazing woman with many talents. We had the BEST breakfast every morning including eggs benedict, homemade granola, fresh fruit with creme fresh, and much more. It was a pleasure having the opportunity to meet with her and stay at her home away from our home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Bernetta's Place is truly a relaxing and magificent retreat for those wishing to escape the daily routine of life. Bernetta is a strong, charasmatic, and beautiful woman who knows what her guests expect and she delivers! From the moment you meet this unusual woman, you know that the time spent in her home will be a treat. The house and grounds are well appointed and well cared for. Her wonderfully warm country kitchen and the common areas ooze charm and warmth. Her breakfasts are unusual and delightful - and are visually works of art. The table set to perfection. If you need some advice for a planned activity - just ask and you will be pointed in the right direction. If you're lucky enough to share a glass of wine and some private time with your hostess, you will find out how she became Bernetta of Calderone Drive. The Inn is well situated - within 5 - 20 minutes of everything you want to see. Oh, and dog friendly? Yes!! Cooper, our 2 year old labradoodle had a great time meeting other pups and playing all weekend in the autumn air. We all were welcomed with amazingly open arms and left with hugs. Of note, is that last fall we read a negative review of Bernetta's here on TripAdvisor. We took the author's advice and visited the INN at Lake Joseph based on their review. What a mistake!! The two are not comparable in the least. Not sure why ANYONE would recommend Lake Joseph - and can't imagine ANYONE not loving Bernetta's. Clearly the author of that review had another agenda!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Milbrook Mountain Suite. Bedroom, LR, Kitchen, Bath. Basement apt, but level with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centerport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just returned home from our first stay at Bernetta's Place and it was just amazing. Just a little piece of heaven. Bernetta is an amazing women who takes much pride in all she does She is extremely gracious and her home is kept impeccable. My husband and I
are so grateful to find such a wonderful place like this . We cannot wait to revisit again
in September. THANK YOU BERNETTA!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I went kicking and screaming to Bernetta's Place a couple of days ago. I hate B&B's. Usually cramped rooms, many times you share a bathroom and the food most times is well... she she (not guy food)  for a lack of a better term.
All I can say is UNBELIEVABLY fantastic! Grounds were huge and beautifully well kept. The rooms were better than many hotels I've stayed in over the years. Well appointed and a good size. But the breakfast was the best surprise. Hot strong coffee early and plenty. One morning I had fruit, orange walnut pancakes and BACON. I made my wife get the recipe for the pancakes. They were that good. The next scrambled eggs and bacon, potatoes and fruit and  again plenty of hot coffee. It was really hot and there was plenty of juices and water provided. Bernetta was extremely attentive to all the guests, and the best part... she allows your best friend to come with you. As long as you dog is socialized. Ours had a great time roaming the grounds and taking a dip in the crystal clear lake. We loved it so much, we booked a weekend in Sept. Thanks to Bernetta's Place my attitude towards B&B's has been transformed.

Guys I'm telling you have no fear, you'll love it.
 
 
 
 
 
 

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Bernetta is a gracious host and keeps her Inn in great condition. We stayed in the Adirondack room, which is just rustic enough for effect. We much enjoyed a nice walk to the lake, dipping in the hot tub, the salt water pool and the delicious breakfast (among the very best we ever had). Lots to do and good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.5 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
16.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

Property: Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Address: 12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589-3337
Region: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernetta's Place B&B is a pet friendly inn located close to all the major areas near Mohonk, Minnewaska and in New Paltz. It offers all the country that you would want. There's a 22 acre lake that you can walk to, enjoy the view of the Shawangunk mountains. Rent kayaks or have a picnic basket made up for your relaxing time at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing