We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallkill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place with charm”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The minute we walked into Bernetta's we knew this was the place we wanted to be.The house has so much character right out of a storybook. It is fantastic!There is not a spot in that house that Bernetta has not put all her love into.The woodwork she has done in the house is amazing.We woke up to an incredible breakfast. The fact that it is dog friendly made our dog Henry very happy. Bernetta is a wonderful woman who made us feel right at home.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbrusq, Owner at Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you Marge, Neil and of course Henry for coming. It was a pleasure having you stay here.
I look forward to seeing you again, hope you liked the lake, it truly is a gem!
Best,
Bernetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and dog and I spent an absolutely wonderful last-minute weekend at Bernetta's, and plan to return as soon as possible. Bernetta's home is extremely well kept and comfortable, and her decorating style really sets this B&B head and shoulders above any other we have stayed before. She is a woodworker and artist, and has designed and built on to her home over the years, creating a very special and unique place to visit. Her home couldn't be better situated for a getaway; in a weekend we jogged daily to a pond for a swim, hiked through a state park, relaxed and read on her wrap around porch, and ate numerous remarkable meals (all recommendations from Bernetta). The fact that your dog is welcome here too only makes this place that much more dreamy. Thank you Bernetta!

Room Tip: The Wilderness Room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynSalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The place is lovely, Bernetta the hostess,is warm and welcoming and it's dog friendly. Add to that the opportunity to hike , eat at good restaurants or just relax in her beautiful B&B and you will have an all around enjoyable getaway. Each morning she prepares a wonderful breakfast which is just delicious. Even our dog didn't want to leave. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Each room has a different decor,so read Bernetta's description and pick what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Waking up at Bernetta's Place is like being at home. The beds are comfortable and the ambiance is perfect. The best part is you can bring your dogs, which is important to me. The breakfast is five star homemade by Bernetta herself. It's really a must stay if your in the New Paltz area. She knows the area like a true native and will tell you the best hikes, the best place for dining and where to go for a casual stroll. Her companion Lola will welcome you at the gate tail wagging waiting to greet you and show you around. It's truly a wonderful place to stay. So bring your hiking shoes and your best friends and go to Bernetta's place for an truly unforgettable stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Loved staying at bernetta's. she is so kind. Her breakfast was delicious. Her property was great for my 2 dogs to run around on. I would definitely come back. She tries her hardest to make you feel welcomed. Thanks for everything Bernett? We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We actually didn't bring our dog but that was a mistake: she would have loved it. Bernetta was great. Breakfast everyday was delicious. The surroundings are amazing and just being outside was relaxing. Even just two days made me feel as relaxed as some vacations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner booked this B&B last minute for the Labor Day weekend which turned out to be a wonderful surprise. Like the other couples staying there, we brought our dog. Pickles, a miniature poodle who never gets to run off-leash in the concrete jungles of the city, at first seemed at a loss to all that beautifully manicured and fenced-in lawn to run around. As most other reviewers commented, Bernetta is very warm and friendly and prepares delicious breakfasts with freshly baked goods and seasonal fruits.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with all the touches that make it homey and welcoming. We also appreciated having privacy and separation from the other bedrooms. The location was ideal to go exploring for a relaxed but romantic getaway. One night we visited the nearby Mountain Brauhaus for a hearty German meal and the next we drove to New Paltz for a delicious Italian dinner. We hiked the well-maintained and large Minnewaska State Park with Pickles who loved the whole adventure. We ran out of time to visit the nearby lake and paddle around in Bernetta's boats and also to try a dip in the salt water pool. We'll have to do so when we return another weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zodpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
150 reviews
14.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn At The Ridge
Inn At The Ridge
#3 of 4 in Wallkill
92 reviews
10.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
9.1 mi away
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake

Property: Bernetta's Place Bed & Breakfast Inn by the Lake
Address: 12 Calderone Dr, Wallkill, NY 12589-3337
Region: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernetta's Place B&B is a pet friendly inn located close to all the major areas near Mohonk, Minnewaska and in New Paltz. It offers all the country that you would want. There's a 22 acre lake that you can walk to, enjoy the view of the Shawangunk mountains. Rent kayaks or have a picnic basket made up for your relaxing time at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing