We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Inn At The Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn At The Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Long Island
1 review
“A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I needed to get away from the stressors of everyday life, if only for a few days, and if only a few hours away. The Inn at the Ridge was recommended to us by a friend who stayed there in March. We were skeptical at first because we hadn't stayed at a B&B before, but looking online and reading the reviews, we were instantly excited to try something new - and it was just what we needed - a relaxing, quaint, cozy, and comfortable farmhouse with such friendly and warm homeowners - Bev and Sal - that instantly made us feel welcome. And, it's pet friendly, too! I highly recommend if you're looking for a clean and relaxing atmosphere to just get away and forget your troubles! This is it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hudson Valley Room - it had its own private bath and AC. The bed was extremely comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Shannon,
Thank you so much for your kind words and your description of the experience you had here at
"Inn At The Ridge”. As I have stated in other responses to reviewers, we try very hard to please and offer a quiet and calm resting area for guests that may have had stressors from business and everyday life. We also feel that a good meal to start the day off can add to a relaxed and happy experience. We hope to see you both again in the future.
Bev Cooper - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The owners make you feel like long lost cousins. I had a great time and look forward to visiting them again. My poodle had fun running and playing out in the back yard. The rooms are private and very comfortable and breakfast was fantastic---YUMMY

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Good Morning Carol,
It was our pleasure hosting you and Gracie. Your review becomes so helpful with other travelers and us. For us it lets us understand what we did , how we did it and how to correct anything that needs correction.
Your words are very kind and we thank you.
Please feel free to visit us anytime in the future. Our doors will always be open for you.
Wishing you well.
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Bev and Sal are great hosts. We always travel with our little Poodle Gracie, and she was met with open arms. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful..if you left the table and were still hungry, then you did not eat all that was offered to you with seconds, if you so desired. If we ever have to make another trip upstate we will definitely stay here. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Good Morning Bill,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review that you gave Bev and I.
It was our pleasure to have meet you, your wife and Lovely Poodle.
As I explain to all of our guests , a review is so very important for others to understand what we do here at “Inn At The Ridge”.
Good or Bad we understand that we cannot always please everyone but we try our best. If there is a negative review we thank guests for that one as well. Without a review we really would NOT know how we are doing and what to correct.
Again, we thank you Bill and you family for helping others.Our door will always be open for you guys.
Best Wishes,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I and our 3 pups are veterans of the dog friendly hotel, motel, and B&B circuit. We always bring or pups and won't leave home without them. We are also foodies and want not only a pet friendly experience , but also a good culinary adventure. The Inn at the Ridge satisfied and exceeded our expectations for both these desires. Bev and Sal, the owners and Inn Keepers, are lovely hands on folks who run the property on their own and clearly aim to please there guests at every opportunity. On weekends, they prepare a wonderful full breakfast essentially from scratch which includes, if you desire, local eggs made to individual order. They are subscribers to the Slow Food movement to buy, cook, and eat local. Sal is also a Culinary Institute of America alumni. They are very knowledgeable about the New Paltz area, surrounding towns, events, and destination spots including local dining. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling with Fido, as well as those poor souls who are don't have a dog.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that don't have their own bathrooms. I would recommend trying to book one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello Jerry,
Every time I say this or write this I remember Seinfeld.
hello Jerry and Alex,
Well I knew you had something to do about hospitality after I read your newsletters.
Very interesting. I met Tim and Anthony as well. Anthony at a show a one on one and Tim in the hallway of chopped studios. I did a sitting, but I guess I was not as drama filled as they would have liked.
I wanted to thank you so very much for writing such a wonderful review. Especially after seeing what you do and obvious you LOVE what you do.
Thank you again and I am sending you our Newsletter so that if you ever feel that you would like to trek out this way again you are ALL welcome. There are many different events happening in these warm months. I am so absolutely sure you know whats happening up here but I would like you to check it out.
We wish you and Alex all the best and give a treat to Ozzie, Petey and Lucy. Hope I spelled them right.
Wishing you well always,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When my boyfriend and I first arrived we had no idea what to expect, we've never stayed at a B&B before. Walking towards the house we were surrounded by beautiful gardens and country charm. Sal and Bev are great people who make you feel right at home. My boyfriend and I stayed in the drawing room, which has a blended theme of creativity mixed with a country vibe. I am no artist, but the art utensils that Sal and Bev provided made our experience even more enjoyable. The location of the inn is nearby great restaurants, hiking trails and wineries. We were able to fulfill our one day in New Paltz at the minnewaka state park, Robibero Winery, and then dined at the Tuthilltown Restaurant! It was a perfect day. The rooms and facilities at the inn are clean, and wonderfully decorated. Overall, the inn at the ridge is an amazing getaway...Bev and Sal know how to make a mean breakfast too! Thank you, we will be back soon :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyBritty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hi Brittany,
I would like to officially thank you for such a great review. You both were so welcoming as guests. Plus a great car.
We always try to do our very best for all our guests and I guess you noticed.
It was a pleasure and wanted you to also know that I send out a weekly NewsLatter to all our past guests. It helps them decide what to do when before they get here. Antique Hunting or Vineyard hopping. It is all good whatever you choose to do.
Again We thank you for the kind words.
Wishing you well and maybe we will see you both again.
Check the newsletter I sent you. We have real nice specials coming up.
All the very best,
Your Hosts,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Bev and Sal help make this sisters weekend an enjoyable experience. After a long day at the Country Living Fair we looked forward to returning to the Inn for rest and relaxation. The Inn is quaint and inviting and the breakfast is a treat to look forward to. Great atmosphere, great food and great friends. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello Cindy,
I would like to officially thank you for such a great review. You sisters were so welcoming as guests.
We always try to do our very best for all our guests and I guess you noticed.
It was a pleasure and wanted you to also know that I send out a weekly NewsLatter to all our past guests. It helps them decide what to do when before they get here. Antique Hunting or Vineyard hopping. It is all good whatever you choose to do.
Again We thank you for the kind words.
Wishing you well and maybe we will see you both again. Maybe the nest Country Living. We already have 1 room reserved.
All the very best,
Your Hosts,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Inn at the Ridge is simply sublime. From the welcoming and gracious hosts to the charming antique filled home to sprawling backyard and pond to the fire pit and s'mores to the fresh baked scones and bountiful breakfast spread, everything was simply perfect! The Inn is perfect for couples or families and it is pet friendly to boot! When you are arrive you are greeted by Bev, whose warm smile and genuine kindness is infectious. There are snacks and drinks and chocolates in just about every room! The home is warm and cozy and has been thoughtfully and fully restored, while there are modern comforts like TV and AC, I highly recommend sitting on the porch swing or relaxing in the hammock. The bedrooms are filled with character and have amazing firm beds, which guarantee a good night's sleep. Did I mention the place is spotlessly clean? Besides all these wonderful things the breakfast was AMAZING! There was anything we could possibly want from fruit, yogurt and granola to scones to French toast to eggs and bacon. Hands down the BEST B&B breakfast I have ever had. I cannot wait to head back soon and to bring friends!

Room Tip: The West Point Room was great and has a private bathroom. The Lavender Room is perfect for kids, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
GiGi,
I would like to officially thank you for such a great review. You both were so welcoming as guests.
We always try to do our very best for all our guests and I guess you noticed.
It was a pleasure and wanted you to also know that I send out a weekly NewsLatter to all our past guests. It helps them decide what to do when before they get here. Antique Hunting or Vineyard hopping. It is all good whatever you choose to do.
Again We thank you for the kind words.
Wishing you well and maybe we will see you both again.
All the very best,
Your Hosts,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
131 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.1 mi away
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
14.2 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Ridge

Property: Inn At The Ridge
Address: 2098 Bruynswick Rd, Wallkill, NY 12589-3255
Region: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1796 HOUSE "Inn At the Ridge" Historic Wallkill Farm Home w/Wifi, Gorgeous Lotus Pond & Majestic Shawangunk Mountain Views! Just Minutes to Antique Shops, Recreation Excursions, Wineries & Much More! This marvelous 4-bedroom, 3-bathroom vacation Farm Home for short term and long term stays with affordable rates provides the perfect combination of historic charm and modern comfort for up to 10 guests in search of a memorable New York State retreat, just 90 minutes from New York City. You’ll love the abundant scenery in every direction! As soon as you arrive at this astounding property, you’ll be captivated by the immense peace and quiet that characterizes the silent beauty of the area. The surrounding land is garnished with a blueberry patch, a natural lotus pond, assorted flower and vegetable gardens, and a picturesque tree swing hanging from the 150 year old Weeping Willow. Settled in the shadow of the Shawangunk Mountain Range, this Historic Farm House presents all the simple and rustic characteristics necessary to create a calming ambiance for your stay. The home itself still features some of the original aspects of its constructions in 1796 and is adorned with tasteful decor to signify the Primitive Era in which it was built. In addition to home comforts and classic furnishings, you’ll also find modern attributes that add to the appeal of the residence, such as complimentary wireless Internet access and charging stations. Look forward to sipping a warm cup of coffee on the front porch swing, admiring the Black Angus Cattle roaming the pastures on a cool morning. Spend the day exploring, then return to unwind in the cozy abode or read a book next to the dazzling lotus pond. When dinner rolls around, there’s no better way to make the most of your pastoral getaway than enjoying a home-cooked recipe at the lovely dining table. Later, gather your loved ones to play a game of cards or watch a movie on the living room TV - quality time at its finest. You’ll never find a shortage of entertainment here! From restful relaxation activities to exciting entertainment options, your trip will include everything you dream and more. For the outdoor enthusiasts in your group, ample opportunities to revel in the stunning natural landscape can be found within minutes of the home. Inquire with the owners should you desire to explore the terrain with a FREE day pass to the Mohonk Preserve, follow a trail to the famous ‘Mohonk Mountain House’ castle with over 5,000 acres of trails. The thrill-seekers will enjoy scrambling and bouldering in the mountains, and those in search of a more relaxing activity will love fishing the many lakes and streams and rivers in close proximity to the property. Take the entire family for a fun outing at the Rosendale Street Fair, Ulster County Fair, an antique car show, or various other events. At the end of an exciting day, grab a bite to eat at one of the many local restaurants, such as The Bruynswick Inn, Lombardi Restaurant, The Bauhaus, and Rough Cut, followed by a tasting at one of the 5 local wineries and vineyards and the original Distillery in New York State. No matter how you spend your time here, this exceptional Wallkill/Gardiner vacation rental home will quickly become a destination you want to visit again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn At The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing