We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST way to experience autumn in New York”
Review of Inn At The Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn At The Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Wallkill B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST way to experience autumn in New York”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife, and our two dogs, have stayed at the inn on two separate occasions and both times were amazing. Bev and Sal are very gracious hosts. They have made the space extremely cozy and comfortable, and intimate as you wish to make it. In the recent year they have expanded the outdoor area which now includes a campfire which my wife and I enjoyed under the moonlight. Also ingredients which magically appeared on the kitchen table for us to make s'mores upon our return from dinner. Sal is an amazing morning chef as well. We always end up eating a light lunch because we stuff our faces with all the goodies he makes - the chocolate infused french toast is so yummy.

We look forward to our annual visit to the inn because it truly is a lovely escape from our city life in the fall. And visiting with Bev and Sal, and other guests who may be staying.

Room Tip: The rooms with the bathrooms are also the rooms with the best view to the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Nathan,
It was our pleasure to host you , your wife Geneva and your two Chihuahua’s.
We were so pleased to hear from you when you were returning this October.
Your Baby’s were well behaved and were very sweet just like the last time.
We appreciate you reviewing in TripAdvisor since it is the best way to know whats happening at different venues.
We thank you again for the kind words.
Wishing you all well until the next time.
Bev & Sal
Inn At The Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Yet another GREAT stay at Inn at the Ridge. The great hospitality coupled with the inn's central location to hiking, climbing, antiquing and much more makes it the ideal location. My wife and I stayed with our three dogs who love the Inn as well. We were accompanied my son and his girlfriend who enjoyed sitting by the pond and on the porch. The Inn's owners, Sal and Bev, make you feel at home. I would highly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
John and Gina,
Thank you for bringing your Son and his Girl Friend. Scott seemed to be out of his element to start, but it seemed like he warmed up and became calmer and more relaxed towards the end of your week stay. I know you and Gina had a blast at the Hunter Mountain Area. There is so much to explore in this region for sure.
Thank you for staying with us again for your continued support of local businesses in our area.It is always a pleasure to see you both enjoying yourselves to the fullest. Your reviews are always such a pleasure to read. Thank you for your continued support.
Wishing you all well.
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It was an amazing experience staying at the Inn. The hosts Sal and Bev were very warm and friendly. The bedroom was comfortable and charming. The bathroom was clean and dry . We helped ourselves to the stocked fridge and Sal even gifted us a bottle of wine( for my husband's birthday). Our Pug Manny didn't want to leave at the end of our stay( although We were under no pressure to check out early). Sal laid out a wonderful Sunday breakfast and all the other guests felt like long lost friends . All in all it was a wonderful and warm experience. Highly recommended. Trust me you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are bright and airy. Try to get one with attached bath, although the ones at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachnadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Rachna, Witin and of corse MANNY.
First and foremost I must say again as I have said this when you were here, MANNY made me smile every time I approached him. His small presents gave off a hugh effect to me. His always happy wiggling self, wanting to be your friend with nothing to expect but a little petting.
What a joy he was for me and the guests.
Now, I wanted to also mention that your presents was rewarding for us. Your understanding of what we are doing here at “Inn At The Ridge” made it very easy to host you. Especially having never been tot a Bed and Breakfast before - you were very comfortable and relaxed which made us feel more at ease.
Thank you for all the kind words on your review. It makes it easier for the TripAdvisor Family to see what we actually do.
Our doors will always be open for you.
Wishing you well,
Bev & Sal
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had an excellent time on a pop up to Minnewaska with our dog. We stayed at the Inn and enjoyed delicious feast breakfasts with everyone else staying at the hotel. Be prepared, this is much more quaint Country House than an Inn or other bed and breakfasts we've been to with large rooms and more typical hospitality-like amenities. But it was quiet and we got to enjoy all the late summer treats of the Hudson Valley farming... so we loved it all!

Room Tip: Make sure to book one of the rooms with a bathroom, but know that the sink is in the room and not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Day J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so very much sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community.
Bev and I feel that this is a major way to let future guests know how we are doing.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the area of our Hudson river Valley.
If you ever have a feeling to get away in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out or just book on our interactive booking agent.
Thank you again for your review,
Wishing you well,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Recently my wife and I had to travel to New York on family business. We chose to stay at a Bread and Breakfast that was pet friendly. What we found was great Inn and perfect Innkeepers.
From the first phone conversation with Sal & Bev till the time we pull out of the driveway we were treated with kindness; compassion and caring.
The facility is a unique 1800’s house with antique furniture; comfortable beds and an inviting eating /living area. We had total access to the kitchen and pantry. Each morning the coffee was made, fresh bread ready to slice, local fruit and jams as well as traditional breakfast fair.
The outdoor area was inviting and peaceful; great view of “The Ridge”; a wonderful pond with Lotus plants; English style gardens; plenty of outdoor seating and a beautiful front porch.
The Inn is within easy driving distance of many activities in the Hudson Valley.
If pleasure or business takes you to the Hudson Valley – stay at the Inn at the Ridge.
Sophocles said, “One who knows how to show and to accept kindness will be a friend better than any possession”. This is who and what Bev & Sal are.
Thank you for caring and thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Doc and Carol,
The circumstances that brought you here to “Inn At The Ridge” were unfortunate.
We tried to make life for you while your away from your home less difficult.
You both were gracious guests and have such a lovely family member “SPICE”.
I have heard of the breed, but never were so pleased with such a large breed before. I would seriously love to have a Bouvier as part of our Family.
Our doors are open for you as is to all of our past guests.
Thank you for sharing such a nice review with the world.
Wishing you well and maybe we will cross paths again
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My boyfriend and I really needed a nice, quiet and relaxing get away to de-stress and the Inn at The Ridge was the perfect place for us. We are cyclists and found this B&B very serendipitously. We were on a ride about a month or so ago and decided to stop and take a few photos of some cows with their calves. A woman came over from across the street to take some photos as well and asked if we were staying at the Inn -- we said we were just riding by. She said she was staying at the Inn across the street and couldn't say enough about the hospitality, the food, the grounds -- her overall experience. We made a mental note (and took a photo of the sign!) and decided we'd like to try it. The wonderful thing about the Inn is its location. We love New Paltz and its very close -- we enjoy the restaurants and shops -- The Bistro is great! We also recently discovered The Main Course -- delicious meals, salads and baked treats. I had never been wine tasting before and we went to a winery right down the road from the Inn. It was a lot of fun and we brought a nice bottle of wine back to the Inn, grabbed a couple of wine glasses from inside and sat by the huge pond in the back yard to relax and later made our way to the huge front porch. Did I mention we had a Number Bed! We had a great night's sleep and it was nice and quiet even though there were guests pets upstairs. My boyfriend has neck issues and usually likes to bring his own pillow if sleeping away from home. Unfortunately, he forgot his but was happy to report the next morning that even the pillow was comfortable! There are so many options in the area, you'll never run out of things to do. The owners, Bev and Sal, have a wealth of information on things to do -- hiking, apple picking, pumpkin picking...etc. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and really take great pride in their Inn, which is very evident. We had such an enjoyable time that we already made reservations to go back in October! Thanks again Bev and Sal! See you next month!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karmascounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Judy,
I am so pleased you and your Boyfriend had a great time with us. We try to do better each and every time we have new guests. It was such a great story you told in the review about speaking to a guest while you were checking out the cattle across the road of our “Inn”.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay while bike riding and checking out the Gardiner, New Paltz area.
Truthfully if it was’t for guests like you guys. being adventurous, enjoying your time at our Inn and just relaxing, it makes it easier to continue to do what we do.
Thank You both so very much for your visit here at “Inn At The Ridge”. Maybe we will see each other again in the future.
Wishing you well,
Bev & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My Husband and I took a trip out to the Inn At The Ridge. We were only there for 2 nights but it was wonderful. The Inn was beautiful and the surrounding yard was full of surprises: A garden full of growing vegetables, a fish pond, a swing to lay back and relax in and ducky the friendly and loving gangster cat (she has a tilted head that makes her look like that). Breakfast was delicious and the coffee was good too. We had a great time and were able to switch gears really quickly. Thank you Bev and Sal for the really nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaLuccanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhosts, Owner at Inn At The Ridge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Ana,
We thank you so much for the nice review.
I just taught Ducky our “Gangster” Cat to say “WUZZUP” LOL.

It was a pleasure having you Ana and Anthony for the weekend visit. You both were so gracious and pleasant to talk too.
We always try and do our best and your review tells us that we are doing fine. We will continue to be the best we can be since we keep having guests as nice as you both.
Wishing you success in NYC and hoping to see you both again.
Bev and Sal
Inn At The Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallkill
4.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
131 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.1 mi away
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
14.2 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At The Ridge

Property: Inn At The Ridge
Address: 2098 Bruynswick Rd, Wallkill, NY 12589-3255
Region: United States > New York > Wallkill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wallkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1796 HOUSE "Inn At the Ridge" Historic Wallkill Farm Home w/Wifi, Gorgeous Lotus Pond & Majestic Shawangunk Mountain Views! Just Minutes to Antique Shops, Recreation Excursions, Wineries & Much More! This marvelous 4-bedroom, 3-bathroom vacation Farm Home for short term and long term stays with affordable rates provides the perfect combination of historic charm and modern comfort for up to 10 guests in search of a memorable New York State retreat, just 90 minutes from New York City. You’ll love the abundant scenery in every direction! As soon as you arrive at this astounding property, you’ll be captivated by the immense peace and quiet that characterizes the silent beauty of the area. The surrounding land is garnished with a blueberry patch, a natural lotus pond, assorted flower and vegetable gardens, and a picturesque tree swing hanging from the 150 year old Weeping Willow. Settled in the shadow of the Shawangunk Mountain Range, this Historic Farm House presents all the simple and rustic characteristics necessary to create a calming ambiance for your stay. The home itself still features some of the original aspects of its constructions in 1796 and is adorned with tasteful decor to signify the Primitive Era in which it was built. In addition to home comforts and classic furnishings, you’ll also find modern attributes that add to the appeal of the residence, such as complimentary wireless Internet access and charging stations. Look forward to sipping a warm cup of coffee on the front porch swing, admiring the Black Angus Cattle roaming the pastures on a cool morning. Spend the day exploring, then return to unwind in the cozy abode or read a book next to the dazzling lotus pond. When dinner rolls around, there’s no better way to make the most of your pastoral getaway than enjoying a home-cooked recipe at the lovely dining table. Later, gather your loved ones to play a game of cards or watch a movie on the living room TV - quality time at its finest. You’ll never find a shortage of entertainment here! From restful relaxation activities to exciting entertainment options, your trip will include everything you dream and more. For the outdoor enthusiasts in your group, ample opportunities to revel in the stunning natural landscape can be found within minutes of the home. Inquire with the owners should you desire to explore the terrain with a FREE day pass to the Mohonk Preserve, follow a trail to the famous ‘Mohonk Mountain House’ castle with over 5,000 acres of trails. The thrill-seekers will enjoy scrambling and bouldering in the mountains, and those in search of a more relaxing activity will love fishing the many lakes and streams and rivers in close proximity to the property. Take the entire family for a fun outing at the Rosendale Street Fair, Ulster County Fair, an antique car show, or various other events. At the end of an exciting day, grab a bite to eat at one of the many local restaurants, such as The Bruynswick Inn, Lombardi Restaurant, The Bauhaus, and Rough Cut, followed by a tasting at one of the 5 local wineries and vineyards and the original Distillery in New York State. No matter how you spend your time here, this exceptional Wallkill/Gardiner vacation rental home will quickly become a destination you want to visit again and again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn At The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing