We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local restaurant”
Review of Toro Pazzo - CLOSED

Toro Pazzo
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been there several times and the food is great. The other day we went there for a late lunch early dinner. I had linguini Luciano that's Calamari in a white wine sauce with toasted bread crumbs, this is oh so good. The Calamari was perfect, the pasta I believe was made in house. We enjoyed this restaurant very much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevent3869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hill, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why bother???”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Granted we were a large party (17 people)... One element of a restaurant can be lackluster and you can still enjoy the experience. But there is no excuse for dirty dishes (sticky coffee cup handles), bad service (our waiter disappeared throughout) with us having to ask waiters from other stations to fill our water glasses and food that was served one plate at a time. In addition, mine was "dead" on arrival (meaning that it sat in the window in the kitchen for a very long time) and I sent it back, unwilling to wait for another dinner.

The manager did comp dessert and coffee but given the rest of the experience, and the amount of good Italian food in the area, why go back? In addition, I thought they were quite expensive with some of the dishes upwards of $30 (for chicken --REALLY?), so I don't know why they have only 2 $ in their reviews... Maybe someone looked at the sandwich portion of the menu?

Basically, don't bother. Expensive, cold food with poor service...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank still-hungrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem in a Strip Mall”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Restaurant pros:
• Great food at reasonable prices
• Consistency of chef
• Excellent specials
• Good wines with generous pours
• Abundance of food
• Nice atmosphere
• Long, raised bar
• Attentive Staff

Cons:
• Can be noisy
• Crowded on weekends

Recommendations:
• Calamari arriabiata – a wonderful blend of tomato sauce and spices made this dish delectable. There is enough here for three people.
• Monkfish with capers, broccoli rabe, potatoes and white wine sauce – superb.
• St. Peter’s fish with pistachio crust on top of risotto – simply delicious

This is the second time we’ve had dinner here. We were there recently on a Thursday night. There was wonderful a singer who sounded like a young Frank Sinatra. The owner has gone out of his way to make the dining experience pleasant. The food here is always consistent and good. I highly recommend that you try it during the week, because on the weekend it can be very crowded and noisy. Toro Pazzo, keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppletreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not for families......”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Went here on a Friday night with my wife and two kids ages 2 and 5. When we walked in the place was empty and it did not appear family friendly because almost every table set up was for two people. There were four people at the bar which looks quite nice for a night out with friends.

The menu was diverse but slighty on the high side. I had the Frutti di mare $24 which was delicious and loaded with seafood. My wife ordered a special order of baked ziti....$18.95 for baked ziti with no sides or salad or soup is insane! Children had chicken fingers with fries which were $9. Restaurant had no covers or plastic cups for kids drinks. Kids milk was $2.50...really now?

Service was average and when we left at about 6:30pm there was no one at the bar and one couple eating. This is more of a place for drinks or a first date, Not good for families or large groups. I'd recommend thsi place change its name because I had no clue it was a restuarant until I saw the reviews on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haywood16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Local Find”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

There have been some good write-ups on this restaurant so my husband and I decided to try TP during the week. It is located in a small strip mall and you can't really tell how big it is from the outside. There is a large raised bar area but it wasn't that crowded and we were shown immediately to our seats . The bar looks like a nice place to come and just have a drink. It has that urban-industrial vibe and it was a little on the loud side.. The diners ranged from families with children to young couples to groups of older couples and service was friendly . The food overall was very good with a varied menu and daily specials.. We'll be back. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echo218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toro Pazzo also viewed

 
Wantagh, Long Island
Wantagh, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing