We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for Families!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warrensburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I spent Mother's Day weekend at Ridin-Hy and our entire group had a fantastic time. I decided to stay at the resort as some friends of mine had been going every year for over ten years! Our group consisted of me, my husband (age 36), our two sons (ages 4 and 7), my mother (age 62) and my sister (age 27).

The following is a review of the various aspects of the resort.

Rooms:
We stayed in a chalet and it was perfect for us! It had a small living room, bedroom with a queen bed and two full (small) bathrooms on the 1st floor. The loft upstairs had 3 twin beds and a double bed. Although we found the beds somewhat short (?) it was a great set-up for our group! Please note that there are no TV's and no locks on the doors! We thought the TV thing would be a problem for us but we never even missed it with all of the activities! The lock thing was strange but we didn't mind or feel uncomfortable at all.

Activities:
If you go here with active kids, do not plan on getting much rest! The horses and the "cowboys" are FANTASTIC! They are so helpful and cater to all skill levels. My 7 year old arrived on Friday having never ridden a horse in his life. By Sunday afternoon he was trotting and wanted to buy cowboy boots! It was a wonderful experience! The activities staff was wonderful. We did everything! Fishing, paddle-boating, swimming in the indoor pool, bingo, kids games, ping-pong, horseshoes, tennis, shuffleboard, playing on the playground! The kids and the adults didn't have a minute to be bored. We also saw some other people just hanging out on their porches reading and enjoying the incredible view! (Hopefully we can do that when the kids get a bit older!)

Food / Drink:
The meals were delicious! If anything, there was too much food! One small criticism is that I didn't find a "healthy" choice during the lunches or dinner. We were only there for a 2 nights but I can see this being a small problem for health-conscious people if they are staying for longer periods of time. Everything we had was delicious! The "Saloon" was a very lively place in the evening. They had a fun country band and dancing and a nice bar and friendly bartenders. Each night there was also some type of food served at 10PM! Friday night was a hot dog roast and Saturday was chili & nachos!

Staff:
I have never encountered a place that truly makes you feel like a part of their family as Ridin-Hy did! Every single person we encountered was friendly, enthusiastic and genuine! As a mother of two young and active children, it is rare to find a place that is so welcoming to families. Even so-called "family resorts" can cop an attitude when it comes to normal, "child behavior". This place made us feel so welcome. The guests that stay here come back year after year and I totally see why! We already reserved our chalet for next year...

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelOt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2008

I just returned from Ridin' Hy ranch with my troop of 10 and 11 year old Girl Scouts. They had a wonderful time, despite dismal weather. They rode 5 times over the weekend and swam in the indoor pool 5 times. The food was good, plentiful home cooking. The staff was friendly. Our cabin was clean and comfortable, if not luxurious.I have been to another ranch with my other troop, and Ridin' Hy was superior in every way. We want to return next year, and hope for sun this time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricket966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Ridin-Hy ranch provided the relaxation similiar to being at home in your easy chair watching TV while a fine chef cooks dinner and a maid cleans up. I have never come back from any vacation more relaxed and with nothing but nice memories.

The accommodations are first class; comfy beds, lovely wood interior, clean sparkling bathrooms and plenty of room to move around (room service every day). There are no TVs in the rooms due to its remoteness but we never noticed. Rooms were for sleeping, showering and changing clothes. The buildings included chalets and single story motel like rooms. Each had a lovely front porch with chairs for just sitting and enjoy the view.

The lake was great for swimming, tubing, fishing, skiing and cruising. Very picturesque. And the main lodge was a work of beauty with its large stone fireplace and woodwork from floor to ceiling. The indoor pool and jaccusi were wonderful after horseback riding.

The meals were excellant and served in a charming dining room of mostly windows facing the lake. Three meals a day were provided and each one was well cooked comfort food. The steak fry and smorgasboard night are not to be missed. You can take your food and eat outdoors at one of the table overlooking the lake. Happy hour was always a treat. There was a country band, dancing and a lively game of bingo each night. Big TVs in the bar and lounging area were on for the sports fans.

You sign up for horse riding each morning for afternoon rides (or in the afternoon before for mornings)choosing your own riding schedule each day (not one dictated to you at the beginning of the vacation by the resort). If there's enough horses you can ride more than once a day. The trails are lovely and the guides entertaining.

The staff make you feel like family and are more than pleasant and accommodating. This is the kind of vacation were you can relax and do it all at your own pace.

If your looking for fast pace, tiring, running around trying to do everything so you can justify spending way too much for your vacation, this is not the place for you. But if you want to have a real vacation from the "Rat Race" of life for half the price and still enjoy the comfort of the higher price resorts than Ridin Hy ranch fits the bill.

1  Thank JW5NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

What a GREAT place! Good food and plentiful, great staff, plenty of activities and very good accodomations. The horses are cool too.

1  Thank SHawksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We spent five days here in July 2006. We brought six adults and two kids, ages 5 and 2. EVERYONE had a fabulous time!

There is a variety of lodging available - from multi-room chalets to motel-style rooms. Most (if not all) have long porches where you can sit and appreciate the view, or just relax after dinner. Everything is within a two minute walk to the main lodge, where all meals are served.

The food isn't gourmet but it's great - you get a choice of 2-3 entrees for lunch and dinner, and pretty much anything you want for breakfast. The servers are friendly and always smiling. The resort assigns you a table at the beginning of your trip, and this is where you eat for the remainder of your stay. You also have the same servers the entire week. (Also, if you get hungry between meals, there is always cold water and cake - mmm - available at the lodge.)

Horseback riding is fun because they offer rides for every level, from beginner to advanced. The cowboys and cowgirls are great at what they do, and the scenery can't be beat. There are morning and afternoon rides available, all included in the resort price. You can ride as much as you want! (Although by the end of our stay, after two fast rides, I'll admit that I was a little sore!)

For those who don't like to ride, they won't be bored. There's tennis, shuffleboard, volleyball, basketball, softball, archery, a huge lake (with paddleboats and rowboats), plus a lodge filled with board games and cards.

There is always something going on after dinner and at night. A live band is always playing at 9pm next to their large cash bar. There is also bingo, line dancing lessons, scavenger hunts, scheduled hikes, etc. Kids will love the pony rides, playground and petting zoo.

Honestly, despite a lack of TV in the rooms, you will NOT be bored here. It's heaven! We've decided to make it an annual trip because we had so much fun this year.

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank Melanie3979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Turners Falls, MA
14
Reviewed 14 June 2005

Best place we have found for our senior class trips. High School.
Safe and fun.
Very helpful staff.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015
Google Translation

Thank Camila_C_Monteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrensburg
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
7.1 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,661 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
#1 of 2 in Stony Creek
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#14 of 89 in Lake George
187 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cornerstone Victorian Bed & Breakfast
9.6 mi away
Merrill Magee Inn
Merrill Magee Inn
#4 of 7 in Warrensburg
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort

Address: 95 Riding High Ranch Road Sherman Lake, Warrensburg, NY 12885
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Warrensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Warrensburg
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Ridin-Hy Ranch Hotel Warrensburg
Ridin-Hy Ranch Resort Warrensburg, NY - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing