We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safir Hotel Mazafran
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Zeralda
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I could not believe an hotel could be so shockingly disgusting as this. This is honestly the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The entire place, rooms, public areas, corridors etc are filthy. In the bedroom the sheets had holes in them, the mattress was damp and stained, the bathroom fittings were corroded and rusting. In the entire breakfast room it was not possible to find a table not piled high with the remainders of previous occupants breakfast, plates cups etc. Dire decoration and state of repair throughout. I was booked for 3 nights but checked out after one. I cannot imagine that the people who own this hotel live in a house that is in such a bad condition. Shame on you whoever you are for talking peoples hard earned money and giving such a poor service in return. The hotel/travel business needs to be protected from people like you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Dirty, unkept, expensive. How is it possible to conceive of such a poor hotel, while being 100 yards from the Mediterranean shore? The hotel feels like an old soviet-style monstrosity, with rusting metal and dreary decor. I doubt the hotel has been painted since being built decades ago. the area is not even safe as aggressions have been occured in the vicinity of the beach.

Algeria at its very worst!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It is far from the city, but the area is nice, it is located on the beach, service is terrible, no bell boy you have take your stuff yourself, room service is the worst thing in this hotel.

TV was not working in the first 2 days

I'm not recommending this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: Don't waste your money there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I has seen all bad reviews before I stayed at this hotel, but I was still surprised with what I've seen.
Unfortunately I had no other choice than staying in this hotel, since all other hotels were complete that night. Next time I'll stay home in that case...

A few examples: fungus everywhere, curtains that can't close, people entering your room at 11.00 PM (checking if you have a towel?), no need to clean some tables at breakfast, forced doors, the receptionist confiscated my international passport at arrival, Arab only, blood on the sheets, ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Not even know how to start from... Openned the bed, had hairs, i took my own head cover for the pillow and slept over the bed cover dressed with a pijama and socks very tighten... could easy seen that the bedroom had never been cleaned with a vacuum cleaner on its life. one of the elevators didnt worked, i saw them cleaning the tables at the end of the dinner to prepare for breakfast and they take the towels, the rest of the trash stays or it is sent to the ground, chairs... one day we had rests salad on the chair when sit for breakfast. Corredors with cigarrets on the ground. Food, simple, pasta, potatoes, some deserts, i avoid everything i could not identify, and had water bootled. The staff was friendly, its is about 100m from the sea, i went for the beach, i dont know who is courageous to make beach season there, but ok... its argelia, no one goes for turism.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed in Hotel Safir Mazafran in May 2008. It is 45 kms to the city Alger. Although the outside look is 4* I can rate the hotel's room as 2*. The window glass of the room never cleaned during my stay of several days, the door of the room needs to be hardly hit to be closed, and the drain of the shower is clogged. The employee make quite a noise in the morning when on duty. Breakfast buffet is rich but hardly to find a clean table and a cup
when the hotel is occupied. Food are quite expensive at restaurants. You can have grilled shish kebaps and fish at affordable good prices at nearby restaurants 300-400 mts away after you turn to left and follow the street and again turn to left at the corner. No wine and beer at those restaurants but there are bars oppoite the hotel at seaside. The same music played all the time in the lobby and hotels bar-cafe for days.. Quite boring, huh?.. :))

Not to forget to mention.. There are 4 mobile phone antennas (Base Transceiver Station) on top of the hotel roof. Are they hazardous to the human heath? I found them disturbing at least...

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RomulusRomulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2005

i stayed at the mazafran hotel last summer, i tried many hotels in algeria in the past few years due to my work, and always been satisfied.

the mazafran is not a 5 star hotel lets face it, however it is well worth a good 3*, the room were clean, the beach was very nice with white sand, and an amazing clear mediteranean sea water.

the staf were very polite, and helpfull.. as someone already posted on the algerian forum, the algerians are known for being very friendly, and warm.

the down side maybe is the lack of english speacking people in the hotel, and elsewere, but as a french speacking country i found more people speacking english in algeria then france itself!

if you are going to algiers city rather than the coast/beach hotel, then try the hotel el-jazair, or commonly known as the St George Hotel, its a boutique hotel in heart of the city right opposite the house of the President, i posted a review on the hotel on here, but feel free to email me for more information.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank jason2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeralda
0.9 mi away
AZ Hotel Zeralda
AZ Hotel Zeralda
#1 of 3 in Zeralda
38 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#17 of 27 in Algiers
93 reviews
19.5 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#7 of 27 in Algiers
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
City Hotel Alger
City Hotel Alger
#6 of 27 in Algiers
17 reviews
14.2 mi away
kt Hotels
kt Hotels
#2 of 2 in Blida
10 reviews
13.2 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Hotel Mazafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel Mazafran

Address: Boite Postale 201, Zeralda 16320, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Tipasa Province > Zeralda
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Zeralda
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safir Hotel Mazafran 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safir Hotel Mazafran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safir Hotel Zeralda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing