We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was our second Autumn stay at the Breakers and once again for a very reasonable rate, we had a nice room with a sea view (if rather noisy aircon) and easy access to the (artificial) beach in front of the hotel and best of all, a walk along the jetty to the wonderful reef for snorkeling. The only difference this time was that because the hotel was fully booked it was a struggle to get a decent table at breakfast and especially dinner.The waiters did their best to cope (and responded magnificently when it rained during breakfast!) and the overall restaurant service was very efficient.The food was reasonably varied with the breakfast being the most enjoyable whilst the lunch options were very limited.
Our only real frustration was the poor wi-fi service which was confined to few public areas and sporadic at best.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    132
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
91
262
110
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went to the Breakers for 2 weeks in September 2012 following the recommendation of a friend who has also stayed here and loved it. We needed a very relaxing, no hassle holiday with good snorkelling and this was perfect. The snorkelling was great, I even saw an octopus.

Everything is absolutely spotless and they take great pride in the kitchens in particular, which they open up so that the guests can see how clean they are. The food is really good and there is plenty of variety.

We slept incredibly well for the whole two weeks as the beds are very comfortable and there is very little noise from the bar or anywhere else. The beach is lovely, and so is the hotel pool. There was never any problem about finding sun loungers.

We absolutely loved this hotel and our holiday, which was incredibly relaxing. We have been to Egypt several times before, so didn't feel the need to go on many trips. We just snorkelled, sunbathed and sometimes went for a walk along the sea front (if you walk for about 25 minutes you get a the Marina, which has a few shops and a small and pricey supermarket.). Other than this and the hotels, and golf course, there is very little in Soma Bay. We absolutely loved this tranquility, but it would not suit anyone who wanted anything a bit livelier.

If you want to be sure of getting regular internet access then take a laptop, and reception will give you a cable to connect up in your room. If you just have a smartphone and are relying on the hotel wi-fi then you need to be quite laid back, as it is a bit temperamental.

Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tizzyh149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

There have been a lot of positive reviews and a lot of positive aspects have been mentioned. The same goes for us as we have been totally satisfied with the service, food and staff. We've been there a bit in the off-season and still everything was available, the personnel perfectly friendly and the food just tasty. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is better in reality than it looks in the brochure. It's well laid out and attractive and very well maintained. Our room was a good size, had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, a good shower, firm but comfortable bed, TV with some English channels, safe etc. The public areas were immaculate. Wifi in public areas and foc, also a terminal in reception. They run a half hourly (except at lunchtime, beware) free shuttle to the kite bar. There's a good sized pool, well laid out sun beds with umbrellas on the beach, beach towels etc but the real reason for selecting this hotel is the jetty with steps at the end making getting into the sea very easy. The water's choppy (not surprising in view of the wind - it's not a great location for kite surfing for no reason) but pretty clear and there's a good range of fish if not a particular abundance of them. If you're not a strong swimmer (I'm not) flippers are particulary helpful as there's a definite current. Some snorkellers were wearing wetsuits but we just wore a T shirt over our costumes and didn't find the water too cool in May.

The big surprise for us was the quality and range of the food. We feared the worst, imagining the usual boring buffet offerings and with only other huge hotels and no town to escape to for a bit of a variety. The breakfast choice was enormous and very good quality, the only poor element was the fruit juice. The hotel really strives to vary the evening buffets with 'themed' nights, for example an Asian night; Soul food; Italian: Oriental; Brazilian; beach barbecue etc, often with music and once some dancers. I'm aware of how naff this all sounds but actually it wasn't! The German owner, who is always in evidence, is rightly proud of the cleanliness of the kitchens and on one evening served food from the kitchen so you could have a look around. There's a huge screen in the rooftop bar and films are shown on some evenings.

I've read complaints about the prices so just to give you an idea a 1.5 l bottle of water costs 16, lge draft beer 28, bottled beer 26, bottle of red 140. It would be a nice touch if they provided water foc as you will get through quite a lot.

We used a company called A2B Shuttle to/from Hurghada airport and found them reliable and reasonably inexpensive. It was particulary helpful on arrival as their rep picked us out at the airport and issued our visas for us whilst other travellers were stuck in quite long queues.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank helenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just one of the best hotels, I have stayed in a very long time. Everyone is here for 1 reason, that is to have fun out on the water, whether it is kite surfing or diving. I can't think of any negatives for this hotel, other than the rooms are slightly small, but hey are you there to spend time in your hotel room? or make use of the excellent kite surfing conditions.

The hotel is just the right size, big enough to provide economies of scale, but still being able to provide a very intimate and personalised experience. Food is excellent, rooms are to a very good standard and the after sport, chill zones with bean bags are hard to beat. Staff are great. The house reef is awsome, we saw every fish etc. you would expect to see, eels swimming around in fact the snorkeling is so good it is hard to justify a scuba dive. Orca the local dive school is fantastic. Kitsuefing, is the best I have had in a long time 6/7 days kiting, Breakers has very regular bus service to 7BFT the local kitesurfing spot and house, only criticism is that it stops at 12:00 and starts at 14:00 which makes it very difficult to get a descent kite in and dive in the afternoon.

If you are going to Soma Bay Egypt, this is the place to put number 1 on your list, if you love your kitesurfing or scuba diving, this is very hard near impossible to beat!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms above the restaurant, they can get very noisy due to music and staff prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiterKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

the location is just perfect for divers & snorklers. very friendy and helpful staff of orca dive center as well as from the hotel. our room was really perfect! enough space, tv, minibar, very comfortable bed, big shower and a balcony to get things dry or to enjoy the sunset. the equipment of orca dive center is really well maintained and the organization is
great!...by the way, the b.fast as well as the dinner bufet were very delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh33140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is a sure bet on the Red Sea.
Food: The food is delicious and well presented. On some days the dinner is presented in the hotel kitchen itself, which is spotlessly clean and seems to be very well organised.
Service: The staff are friendly and helpful
Hotel diving centre: the Orca Diving Centre is well organised, the prices reasonable, and you even get nitrox tanks at no extra charge. The boats for the half and full day diving trips are nice and very clean (Alia1 and Lady Christina). The lunch served on the boats is tasty and good value for money.
Room: the rooms are a bit small, but given the price, very good value for money. The room amenities are good: safe, minibar, TV, broadband cable internet. The room was spotlessly clean,
Guests: Mainly German speaking folks, very quiet
Beach: nice beach with great deckchairs and spotlessly clean white beach towels. The beach is perfect for relaxation - very quiet. You can order your food and drinks to be brought there.
Roof bar: The hotel has a fanastic roof bar and terrace where you can chill-out.
Atmosphere: very relaxed, quiet, chill-out.
I highly recommend the hotel if you like quality boutique hotels with an individual character and a great atmosphere. In Egypt, by the Red Sea, I guess the hotel is unbeatable in its class.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldWideReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.6 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#4 of 11 in Soma Bay
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
4.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
691 reviews
3.2 mi away
SENTIDO Palm Royale
SENTIDO Palm Royale
#11 of 222 in Hurghada
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Property: The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Address: 48 km Hurghada-Safaga Road, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers is a novelty, a water sports hotel, a home for demanding individuals who want to relax completely. With lots of high quality interior design, excellent cuisine, friendly service, and direct ocean location it is a delight for all senses to stay at the Breakers. You will have a lifestyle experience, supported by a casual lounge atmosphere, friendliness and high quality. Here you can enjoy an easygoing lifestyle at the house reef by diving, kiting at the "7 Bft Kitehouse", or just reading and hanging out in the beautifully decorated lounge areas that are overlooking the red sea. Spend an unforgettable time in an El Dorado of the simple pleasures of life - surrounded by a lot of style and service, but still very relaxed and in your personal daily rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Diving And Surfing Lodge
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing