We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant snorkelling and lovely quiet hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant snorkelling and lovely quiet hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Unlike many of the more recent huge monster hotels on the Red Sea (!), it's small -about 170 rooms on 3 floors, grouped in a square round the pool. This is quite small but who cares as the reef is fabulous. Unfortunately there is no sandy beach but you can walk out on the long jetty and then snorkel or dive to see the usual suspects- parrot, butterfly and surgeon fish, tangs, etc and the coral gardens really do look like gardens as they are relatively intact and wonderful blues, greens and yellows. There are plenty of sunbeds with proper big straw shades on the artificial beach built on rock overlooking the sea. There is a proper sandy beach near the Sheraton hotel about 5 minutes walk away for people with children. Food is delicious--plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. Lots of nice little touches like a daily newsletter giving the weather, wind etc throughout the day as well as useful information about Egyptian life and history. Also a roof terrace to gaze at the stars and on some nights at the film shows- good choices eg 'Life of Pi', 'Inception'! Spacious bedrooms with comfy beds, soft pillows and immaculately clean.
When we went we were the only English people there; the other guests being almost entirely German. But staff speak English as well as German. Lovely cool breeze in May. This can make the sea a bit choppy at certain times of day but it is calm at other times. There is a current but not too strong, especially if you have flippers. Most of the guests are there to dive or snorkel and so there don't seem to be noisy late night revellers! As other people have said, it is quite isolated in the sense that Soma Bay is entirely constructed as a resort with golf course and various hotels. So you would have to go to Safaga or Hurghada for any proper shopping.
But we had a great, restful week there and we thought this was really good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side , as you stand in reception, are probably quietest as they look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    125
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
83
222
99
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went to the Breakers hotel for our Four day holiday last weekend. It was a great little Gem on the red sea of Egypt. The hotel was clean and friendly and the rooms had a great view. The staff was very nice and helpful and the ambience overall was very cozy. There is a social area with a bar, pool table and bean bag chairs that we comfortably occupied both day and night, with other visitors to the hotel. We especially enjoyed the long walks along the Pier and promenade that extends to the other hotels in the development. Although the hotel doesn't have a beach directly in front of it, it does have a sitting area that looks over the coral reef, and if one wants to swim at the end of the pier there is a lagoon that looks like any caribbean resort. Surrounding the lagoon are coral reefs, colorful and full of life. Guests can rent snorkeling gear and jump off the end of the pier to look at all the amazing sea life. When we preferred the beach, we took our stuff to the Sheraton next door which has a great pool and beach swimming area. All the hotels in the development allow you to charge to your room, so you never have to bring a wallet. Also, there is a Kite house located on the far side of the development for those who are into kite surfing. On a windy day, it was fun to watch (there are umbrellas and chairs for onlookers) and participate (you can get lessons if you're brave enough). Most of the tourists are foreigners coming from charter flights, so don't expect to see a lot of Egyptians around. We really loved our stay and are planning to go back soon. The food was good and the whole trip was well priced for what you get, especially if you are used to spending dollars or euros. There was no worries about security or safety so forget what you hear about on the news. Other great options to take advantage of around the hotel, spas, golf and parties which are thrown by different hotels each night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah81Cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galiano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Friends who work in Cairo arranged to meet us at the Breakers for a weekend of snorkelling. The facility is somewhat isolated from mainstream local and foreign tourism in Hurghada and along the coast to the north -- in fact along with adjacent resorts the area is somewhat "gated" with a requirement to hand over the vehicle license papers to drive in. Likely as a consequence there are no peddlers flogging foreign-made souveniers.

Arriving before our friends there was some initial confusion about our reservation but in due course we were shown to a ground floor, beach view room with sliding doors to a small, enclosed patio. The room was clean and comfortable with everything in working order, though lacking anything to sit on other than the bed.

Breakfast and dinner were included (water, beer and wine were extras with Egyptian wine at somewhat more than double the street price and our splurge on gin and tonics providing drinks with little evidence of the gin). However, the selection and quality of food was excellent. If the facility is busy, as it was during our visit, table space is limited and unless you arrive early, by the second round of seating you can't take too long before risking missing out on second helpings and dessert.

There's a large pool in the courtyard of the resort. We tested the water temperature and decided to pass on a swim.

The hotel's dive shop offers snorkelling equipment at reasonable prices and we rented fins and a snorkel to replace one of ours that met its end during airline baggage handling. The long boardwalk provides water access inside and outside the reef. The outside was really good if not the best we've ever experienced. For anyone who has time during their Egypt experience to check out the Red Sea, the Breakers is easy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trincomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was our second Autumn stay at the Breakers and once again for a very reasonable rate, we had a nice room with a sea view (if rather noisy aircon) and easy access to the (artificial) beach in front of the hotel and best of all, a walk along the jetty to the wonderful reef for snorkeling. The only difference this time was that because the hotel was fully booked it was a struggle to get a decent table at breakfast and especially dinner.The waiters did their best to cope (and responded magnificently when it rained during breakfast!) and the overall restaurant service was very efficient.The food was reasonably varied with the breakfast being the most enjoyable whilst the lunch options were very limited.
Our only real frustration was the poor wi-fi service which was confined to few public areas and sporadic at best.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went to the Breakers for 2 weeks in September 2012 following the recommendation of a friend who has also stayed here and loved it. We needed a very relaxing, no hassle holiday with good snorkelling and this was perfect. The snorkelling was great, I even saw an octopus.

Everything is absolutely spotless and they take great pride in the kitchens in particular, which they open up so that the guests can see how clean they are. The food is really good and there is plenty of variety.

We slept incredibly well for the whole two weeks as the beds are very comfortable and there is very little noise from the bar or anywhere else. The beach is lovely, and so is the hotel pool. There was never any problem about finding sun loungers.

We absolutely loved this hotel and our holiday, which was incredibly relaxing. We have been to Egypt several times before, so didn't feel the need to go on many trips. We just snorkelled, sunbathed and sometimes went for a walk along the sea front (if you walk for about 25 minutes you get a the Marina, which has a few shops and a small and pricey supermarket.). Other than this and the hotels, and golf course, there is very little in Soma Bay. We absolutely loved this tranquility, but it would not suit anyone who wanted anything a bit livelier.

If you want to be sure of getting regular internet access then take a laptop, and reception will give you a cable to connect up in your room. If you just have a smartphone and are relying on the hotel wi-fi then you need to be quite laid back, as it is a bit temperamental.

Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tizzyh149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

There have been a lot of positive reviews and a lot of positive aspects have been mentioned. The same goes for us as we have been totally satisfied with the service, food and staff. We've been there a bit in the off-season and still everything was available, the personnel perfectly friendly and the food just tasty. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is better in reality than it looks in the brochure. It's well laid out and attractive and very well maintained. Our room was a good size, had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, a good shower, firm but comfortable bed, TV with some English channels, safe etc. The public areas were immaculate. Wifi in public areas and foc, also a terminal in reception. They run a half hourly (except at lunchtime, beware) free shuttle to the kite bar. There's a good sized pool, well laid out sun beds with umbrellas on the beach, beach towels etc but the real reason for selecting this hotel is the jetty with steps at the end making getting into the sea very easy. The water's choppy (not surprising in view of the wind - it's not a great location for kite surfing for no reason) but pretty clear and there's a good range of fish if not a particular abundance of them. If you're not a strong swimmer (I'm not) flippers are particulary helpful as there's a definite current. Some snorkellers were wearing wetsuits but we just wore a T shirt over our costumes and didn't find the water too cool in May.

The big surprise for us was the quality and range of the food. We feared the worst, imagining the usual boring buffet offerings and with only other huge hotels and no town to escape to for a bit of a variety. The breakfast choice was enormous and very good quality, the only poor element was the fruit juice. The hotel really strives to vary the evening buffets with 'themed' nights, for example an Asian night; Soul food; Italian: Oriental; Brazilian; beach barbecue etc, often with music and once some dancers. I'm aware of how naff this all sounds but actually it wasn't! The German owner, who is always in evidence, is rightly proud of the cleanliness of the kitchens and on one evening served food from the kitchen so you could have a look around. There's a huge screen in the rooftop bar and films are shown on some evenings.

I've read complaints about the prices so just to give you an idea a 1.5 l bottle of water costs 16, lge draft beer 28, bottled beer 26, bottle of red 140. It would be a nice touch if they provided water foc as you will get through quite a lot.

We used a company called A2B Shuttle to/from Hurghada airport and found them reliable and reasonably inexpensive. It was particulary helpful on arrival as their rep picked us out at the airport and issued our visas for us whilst other travellers were stuck in quite long queues.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank helenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
0.6 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 10 in Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
3.7 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Property: The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Address: 48 km Hurghada-Safaga Road, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers is a novelty a water sports hotel, a home for demanding individuals who want to relax completely. With lots of high quality interior design, excellent cuisine, friendly service, and direct ocean location it is a delight to stay at the Breakers for all senses. You will have a lifestyle experience, supported by a casual lounge atmosphere, friendliness and high quality. Here you can enjoy an easygoing lifestyle at the house reef by diving, kiting at the new "Kitehouse", or just reading and hanging out in the beautifully decorated lounge areas that are overlooking the red sea. Spend an unforgettable time in an El Dorado of the simple pleasures of life - surrounded by a lot of style and service, but still very relaxed and in your personal daily rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Hotel Soma Bay
The Breakers Diving And Surfing Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing