We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exeeds expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This particular hotel is perfect for a sportive but relaxing holiday. I went in June for a one week stay with my mother and was pleasantly surprised by the very friendly atmosphere and service that welcomed us there. Most guests will be busy doing sports like kite surfing and diving during the day so that the pool is mostly empty which can be a plus for people looking to relax. The kite school was also excellent with great teachers for beginners like me and a shallow beach that made the first attempts easy.
The staff is more than nice and the whole hotel facility has a flair of familiarity that makes you feel welcome and connected from the first day on.
The daily changing entertainment program and food themes kept the food interesting and I was looking forward to each nights surprises.
All in all i would love to go back and would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a week of sports and entertainment. I think it is also a more comfortable place to stay in if you are traveling by yourself.

Room Tip: the Seaview is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ikr098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Unlike many of the more recent huge monster hotels on the Red Sea (!), it's small -about 170 rooms on 3 floors, grouped in a square round the pool. This is quite small but who cares as the reef is fabulous. Unfortunately there is no sandy beach but you can walk out on the long jetty and then snorkel or dive to see the usual suspects- parrot, butterfly and surgeon fish, tangs, etc and the coral gardens really do look like gardens as they are relatively intact and wonderful blues, greens and yellows. There are plenty of sunbeds with proper big straw shades on the artificial beach built on rock overlooking the sea. There is a proper sandy beach near the Sheraton hotel about 5 minutes walk away for people with children. Food is delicious--plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. Lots of nice little touches like a daily newsletter giving the weather, wind etc throughout the day as well as useful information about Egyptian life and history. Also a roof terrace to gaze at the stars and on some nights at the film shows- good choices eg 'Life of Pi', 'Inception'! Spacious bedrooms with comfy beds, soft pillows and immaculately clean.
When we went we were the only English people there; the other guests being almost entirely German. But staff speak English as well as German. Lovely cool breeze in May. This can make the sea a bit choppy at certain times of day but it is calm at other times. There is a current but not too strong, especially if you have flippers. Most of the guests are there to dive or snorkel and so there don't seem to be noisy late night revellers! As other people have said, it is quite isolated in the sense that Soma Bay is entirely constructed as a resort with golf course and various hotels. So you would have to go to Safaga or Hurghada for any proper shopping.
But we had a great, restful week there and we thought this was really good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side , as you stand in reception, are probably quietest as they look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went to the Breakers hotel for our Four day holiday last weekend. It was a great little Gem on the red sea of Egypt. The hotel was clean and friendly and the rooms had a great view. The staff was very nice and helpful and the ambience overall was very cozy. There is a social area with a bar, pool table and bean bag chairs that we comfortably occupied both day and night, with other visitors to the hotel. We especially enjoyed the long walks along the Pier and promenade that extends to the other hotels in the development. Although the hotel doesn't have a beach directly in front of it, it does have a sitting area that looks over the coral reef, and if one wants to swim at the end of the pier there is a lagoon that looks like any caribbean resort. Surrounding the lagoon are coral reefs, colorful and full of life. Guests can rent snorkeling gear and jump off the end of the pier to look at all the amazing sea life. When we preferred the beach, we took our stuff to the Sheraton next door which has a great pool and beach swimming area. All the hotels in the development allow you to charge to your room, so you never have to bring a wallet. Also, there is a Kite house located on the far side of the development for those who are into kite surfing. On a windy day, it was fun to watch (there are umbrellas and chairs for onlookers) and participate (you can get lessons if you're brave enough). Most of the tourists are foreigners coming from charter flights, so don't expect to see a lot of Egyptians around. We really loved our stay and are planning to go back soon. The food was good and the whole trip was well priced for what you get, especially if you are used to spending dollars or euros. There was no worries about security or safety so forget what you hear about on the news. Other great options to take advantage of around the hotel, spas, golf and parties which are thrown by different hotels each night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah81Cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Friends who work in Cairo arranged to meet us at the Breakers for a weekend of snorkelling. The facility is somewhat isolated from mainstream local and foreign tourism in Hurghada and along the coast to the north -- in fact along with adjacent resorts the area is somewhat "gated" with a requirement to hand over the vehicle license papers to drive in. Likely as a consequence there are no peddlers flogging foreign-made souveniers.

Arriving before our friends there was some initial confusion about our reservation but in due course we were shown to a ground floor, beach view room with sliding doors to a small, enclosed patio. The room was clean and comfortable with everything in working order, though lacking anything to sit on other than the bed.

Breakfast and dinner were included (water, beer and wine were extras with Egyptian wine at somewhat more than double the street price and our splurge on gin and tonics providing drinks with little evidence of the gin). However, the selection and quality of food was excellent. If the facility is busy, as it was during our visit, table space is limited and unless you arrive early, by the second round of seating you can't take too long before risking missing out on second helpings and dessert.

There's a large pool in the courtyard of the resort. We tested the water temperature and decided to pass on a swim.

The hotel's dive shop offers snorkelling equipment at reasonable prices and we rented fins and a snorkel to replace one of ours that met its end during airline baggage handling. The long boardwalk provides water access inside and outside the reef. The outside was really good if not the best we've ever experienced. For anyone who has time during their Egypt experience to check out the Red Sea, the Breakers is easy to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trincomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was our second Autumn stay at the Breakers and once again for a very reasonable rate, we had a nice room with a sea view (if rather noisy aircon) and easy access to the (artificial) beach in front of the hotel and best of all, a walk along the jetty to the wonderful reef for snorkeling. The only difference this time was that because the hotel was fully booked it was a struggle to get a decent table at breakfast and especially dinner.The waiters did their best to cope (and responded magnificently when it rained during breakfast!) and the overall restaurant service was very efficient.The food was reasonably varied with the breakfast being the most enjoyable whilst the lunch options were very limited.
Our only real frustration was the poor wi-fi service which was confined to few public areas and sporadic at best.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went to the Breakers for 2 weeks in September 2012 following the recommendation of a friend who has also stayed here and loved it. We needed a very relaxing, no hassle holiday with good snorkelling and this was perfect. The snorkelling was great, I even saw an octopus.

Everything is absolutely spotless and they take great pride in the kitchens in particular, which they open up so that the guests can see how clean they are. The food is really good and there is plenty of variety.

We slept incredibly well for the whole two weeks as the beds are very comfortable and there is very little noise from the bar or anywhere else. The beach is lovely, and so is the hotel pool. There was never any problem about finding sun loungers.

We absolutely loved this hotel and our holiday, which was incredibly relaxing. We have been to Egypt several times before, so didn't feel the need to go on many trips. We just snorkelled, sunbathed and sometimes went for a walk along the sea front (if you walk for about 25 minutes you get a the Marina, which has a few shops and a small and pricey supermarket.). Other than this and the hotels, and golf course, there is very little in Soma Bay. We absolutely loved this tranquility, but it would not suit anyone who wanted anything a bit livelier.

If you want to be sure of getting regular internet access then take a laptop, and reception will give you a cable to connect up in your room. If you just have a smartphone and are relying on the hotel wi-fi then you need to be quite laid back, as it is a bit temperamental.

Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tizzyh149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

There have been a lot of positive reviews and a lot of positive aspects have been mentioned. The same goes for us as we have been totally satisfied with the service, food and staff. We've been there a bit in the off-season and still everything was available, the personnel perfectly friendly and the food just tasty. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.6 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 11 in Soma Bay
297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge

Address: 48 km Hurghada-Safaga Road, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: £60 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers is a novelty, a water sports hotel, a home for demanding individuals who want to relax completely. With lots of high quality interior design, excellent cuisine, friendly service, and direct ocean location it is a delight for all senses to stay at the Breakers. You will have a lifestyle experience, supported by a casual lounge atmosphere, friendliness and high quality. Here you can enjoy an easygoing lifestyle at the house reef by diving, kiting at the "7 Bft Kitehouse", or just reading and hanging out in the beautifully decorated lounge areas that are overlooking the red sea. Spend an unforgettable time in an El Dorado of the simple pleasures of life - surrounded by a lot of style and service, but still very relaxed and in your personal daily rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Diving And Surfing Lodge
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing