We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a glorious week of r and r with my younger daughter, neither of us can fault the hotel, beautifully located and landscaped on the Red Sea in a quiet area at Soma Bay about 45 minutes from the airport. All the staff are exceptional, they always have a smile on their faces and nothing is too much trouble. Ideal place with those with young children as well as so safe, lots of shade on the beautiful sandy beach. Plenty of space to escape to and everywhere was was so clean. One always has a little fear of 'buffets' but the food was exceptional, plenty of attention to detail and variety throughout, with freshly cooked meat and fish dishes. If you do not wish to be too lazy there is snorkelling, water aerobics, tennis and squash courts and gym! Disappointing that tennis is not free there is a 10US$ hourly charge which is worth knowing about. I hesitate to return to places, as love trying out new venues but feel this maybe an exception!!! If you are looking for a week to recharge your batteries this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothy2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Bothy2473,

Thank you for this top review, we are glad to know that our attention to details resulted in your glorious holiday.
Recharging your batteries in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the best choice with all year around sunshine and activities.
Your plan to return to our hotel makes us feel happy, therefore we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    150
    39
    22
    8
See reviews for
358
482
49
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've been to Egypt before, both on business and pleasure trips, so I'm aware that there is a gulf between perception and reality in traveler's expectations. I'd have to say though that the Kempinski Soma Bay exceeded my expectations in pretty much every way.

We booked a Laguna Club room with a spectacular view over the bay and took advantage of the private 'club lounge', which I thought was well worth the extra cost...but it does mean you eat and drink a lot more than you should so don't expect to lose any weight during your stay!

The staff are exceptional. Friendly, polite, hard working; nothing is too much trouble for them.

Sports facilities are of a good standard and I took advantage of the small but well equipped gym, the sauna/steam room and the watersports facilities (which are run by the neighbouring Robinson Club).

Dining facilities are also of a very high standard. The main buffet-style dining gives varied menu options and I always found something local and interesting to eat, particularly the amazing Arabic salads and fresh grilled fish. Don't be boring, experiment! In the Laguna Club, where we took our breakfast and lunch, there are limited options but everything is freshly prepared for you to a very high standard.

I'm trying not to sound like a press release for the hotel, all gushing and positive, so I've been trying to think of the negative aspects...but to be honest I'm really struggling! OK, the piped music in the Laguna Club did get on my nerves...there is only so much pan pipe music that a man can take! Try to buy some new CD's please ;) Don't go here expecting to have a varied and interesting social scene either, after 10:00 pm the hotel bar is deserted and the guests have all retired to their rooms to watch cable TV. I was somewhat disappointed because I do like a little bit of nightlife and I felt sorry for the staff who put on musical entertainment every night for the benefit of very few guests. The belly dancer was pretty good on one evening but the star of the show was the "whirling dervish" ...it has to be seen to be believed.

The hotel is running at about 30% capacity which gives the impression that it is very quiet but it's a good time to get a great deal and a more personalised service. I will certainly be going back very soon but this time I'll book direct with the hotel and organise my own flights. (The hotel have a VIP limo transfer to-and-from the airport which beats the minibus service offered by our travel agent).

Clientele is 90% German speaking with some French, Dutch and English, but English is the main language spoken by the staff so you won't have any language problems.

Room Tip: Laguna Club is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CavemanRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear CavemanRacer,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate all our facilities.
Exceeding your expectations is a great compliment to the hotel, and knowing that you enjoyed the extra benefits and privacy of the Laguna Club room with the Lounge access is a very valuable and useful feedback for us.
The whole team was happy to hear about your outstanding review.

We appreciate your suggestion about the music in the Laguna Club, our management will discuss about further actions to be taken in this regard.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards from Soma Bay,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

My goodness ... I have claimed before to having slept in the best hotel ever, but I'm going to do it again.
We stayed in this hotel now three times over the last year and it has always been a top class experience. Extremely helpfull and friendly staff, regardless wether you hand out tips or not. Two wonderful "ladies in red" as Kempinski calls them, who are there to assist you with literally ANY wish you might have. A very special thanks to them: thank you Asmaa and Darya!
The food is very high standard, but you will get some repetition when you attend the buffet every night, but frankly; who cares when you have an endless choice of dishes, food personally prepared and an excellent service?
Room tip: get a sea view room in the 8000's block, you won't regret!
When we go to Egypt again the Kempinski will be our first choice, without a shadow of a doubt!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear H D,

We were delighted to read your top class review about the hotel.
Thanks a lot for giving the trust to us every time you return to Egypt, and keeping us as the first choice.
Our “ladies in red” were happy to receive your compliments. Indeed it is the staff that makes the difference in our service.

We are looking forward to your 4th visit.

Kind Regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

i travelled from cairo with my father to this red sea resort for what was an exceptional experience. The hotel is unrivalled with beautiful arabesque architecture and a gorgeous beach. It has first class services including a gym, sauna, steam and activities throughout the day.
The breakfast buffet is varied and delicious!
What is most notable and most impressive however are the staff. The service was first class and the team were always happy to help. Many things were complimentary and the hotel is flexible with regards to dietary wishes and extracurricular activites. Lastly the clientele who stay are all a pleasure to spend evenings with. Just one note as it is a 5 star hotel and lives up to its name in all respects the evening dress for dinner is formal with no shorts and no slippers and most people looking really quite sophisticated!
I had a wonderful and memorable trip and i do not think there is another hotel in the whole of the red sea coast which can rival this experience having been to many in hurghada and sharm.
I cant wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Tamer,

It is great to hear that your stay with us was an exceptional experience!
Thank you for reassuring us about our helpful staff providing first class service, and that you described us living up to the Kempinski Standards, we feel proud.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brescia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Laguna Club suite 5309 and must say that almost all was perfect.
VIP service from and to Airport was excellent.
Check in at 2:00 am was fast and excellent.
Laguna Club lounge was excellent, staff, food,drinks, atmosphere. Only one little note for the cook the pasta (we are italian) should be just a few minutes more cooked.
Beach very clean and staff very nice.
Pools fabulous.
Surroundings clean and outstanding.
Bar no atmosphere and performance offered well the belly dancer seemed very artificial (chewing gum while dancing!!!!!!!) and performed without any enthusiasm have seen much better.
Suite perfect and very nice when you arrive and find fresh flowers, cake and fruits, outstanding sea view, only one problem with the turndown on 2 evenings but all got settled and from there on perfect.
We will certainly return asap.
Thank you to all the staff you are all doing a fantastic job.
See you all soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyBrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear mistyBrescia,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate the hotel.
Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Your suggestions about the pasta and the bar atmosphere/entertainment will be discussed with the management in order to take the necessary actions and to constantly improve our service.

We are looking forward to your soonest return.

Warm Regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The best place in Soma Bay! Very professional staff, cosy, clean and with a great breakfast buffet.
It is expensive but great value for your money. Its worth every penny!
Even though the hotel it self is big, you still feel very special and taken care of. The staff remembers your name and room number, they are polite and eager to please you.
Can't wait for another visit!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheKitchenCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear TheKitchenCairo,

We are happy to read your compliments and pleased to know that you had a wonderful vacation with us.
Our attentive staff members are a great asset to our hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Super service, super rooms, super staff. everythingis super. we really enjoyed every minitue in this lovely hotel. even the hotel smells super. i would like to thank all the staff we met from the bell captain to the resturant managers. for sure we will visit again and will be recomended to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Wael,

Describing our hotel as super in every means makes us feel proud.
We keep on getting great comments about our staff who makes the difference in our service, we will make sure to deliver your message to them.

We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you back again.

Warm regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#1 of 10 in Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 10 in Soma Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Property: Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Southall Travel so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing