We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another amazing 3 days holiday to Kempinski hotel in soma bay with my girlfriend,and it was just wonderful.

Starting with checking in,everything went smooth and simple as planned,a very warm welcoming, staff were extremely friendly,no hassles or anything,we got our double room with sea view within minutes,we were surprised with the amazing view,as we could see the entire Kempinski,and also the room was spacious,clean and furniture was very classy and modern.

Food was scrumptious ,omelet in the morning buffet was tasty,and same at dinners,we really enjoyed the food and sweets,and of course the fresh fruits.

We were a bit disappointed because the pools weren't heated but we still managed to swim in the Red Sea,although water was bit cold,we still enjoyed every bit of it,beach was very clean and good to relax and to sunbathe.

Views at night were really charming,we had nice walks around the pools at night after dinners,very relaxing and quiet.

Room service was perfect,we got our orders in less than 10 minutes,and that bread and butter meals with tea were so nice.

Special thanks for sending the red flowers to our room,was a cute gesture,we really liked them.

After all I'd like to say we really enjoyed our stay in Kempinski,our memories there shall never be forgotten,it was our second visit and hopefully we will come back very soon!

Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diaa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Diaa90,

Thank you for this great feedback and your recommendation.
We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay again with us.
The whole team is happy that you were satisfied with our facilities and the level of service; this is a great motivation for them to keep up the high standards.
The views at night around the hotel are really one our highlights, creating an amazing and cozy atmosphere for an evening walk.

We are looking forward to your third visit in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay!

Sunny greetings,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights in early May. I travelled with my Mum for a relaxing break,.and got exactly that!
Stayed in a Laguna Club room so had access to the club lounge for all meals, afternoon tea and drinks. Great value as we paid €1000 euros for this. People we met there had paid a touch less just for drinks. So well worth the extra. We has a problem with our transfer going home and Nasser was extremely helpful even though we had checked out and left the hotel.

There was enough choice for us at breakfast and lunch here but at dinner we went to The View (drinks not included) for a wider range. Every day there was fresh fish and pasta for evenings as well as another cooking station which had various choices through the time. There was a wide range on the buffet, not you usual chips etc either so this was a lovely change from the usual fare.
The hotel was pretty empty so we had a choice of sunbeds, the pool guys are are lovely and helpful and Alaa, who also does the aqua gym which is great fun, always knew where we wanted to go and that I wanted sun and my mum the shade.
The ladies in red are lovely and very helpful, and the ladies in black in The View are great and we smiled, joked and laughed with them every day.
The staff here are the biggest asset, everyone from maintenance and gardeners to front desk,management and chefs were friendly and helpful. No one expected tips and the focus is on making the customer happy. My mum has a throat condition and everyone was keen to make recommendations and check she was ok.
The only thing I would have liked is a little more signage around the hotel and some bikes or scooters to zip along the beach promenade!
I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike, for those who want a relaxing break, If you're looking for action packed, dancing and drinking every night it's probably not for you.
I can't wait.to go back with my family as soon as possible

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank LisaF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you very much for this excellent review and recommendation.
We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing break, meeting your expectations.
Knowing that you enjoyed the extra benefits of the Laguna Club concept is a great feedback.
Thank you for the compliments to all our staff, and personally to Nasser and Alaa, they were all happy to hear that you were satisfied with the level of service.
Thank you for your suggestion about more signage and bikes/scooters, these will be discussed with the management and taken into consideration.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sunny greetings,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having been more than 30 times to the Red Sea and having been to all major Resorts, we can easily say this place is second to none by all means : interior and exterior design, 5 star service, food,...
You name it, George Ganchev and his professional team will make it !
We have already stayed several times at this wonderful, top class hotel and have already booked our next visit.
All in all, we can only highly recommend this luxury resort, for sure offering the best value for money on the whole Red Sea.
The only small thing missing perhaps is a 5 star, boutique-typed diving centre up to the hotel's high quality standards, but I'm sure these talented people will get this fixed too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gapkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear gapkar,

“Second to none by all means” Sounds great, thank you for this description.
We are happy to hear that each stay in our hotel was a great experience for you and thank you for recommending us.
Your suggestion about the diving center will be discussed with the management team.

Our professional team is looking forward to your soonest return.

Warm regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from another Great 2 weeks stay at The Kempinski Hotel Soma bay Egypt.This is our 4th stay and can't recomend it enough.Food excellent, staff & Managment could not do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble they really look after you , a great holiday will be going back in September. ( "CAN'T WAIT") please do not be worried about problems you read in the papers, there are none. These are the best beaches in Egypt.We have been going to Egypt for over 16years now go and try The Kempinski you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Colin,

Thank you for staying with us for the 4th time, our loyal repeater guests are adding a great value to our hotel.
We also can’t wait for your next visit in September, therefore we are looking forward to welcome you for the 5th time to enjoy another great holiday at the “Jewel on the Red Sea”.

Greetings from Soma Bay,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Have just returned from 6 days at Kempinski with my family, loved every bit of it! Its a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. The staff are welcoming and friendly starting from the reception, to geach boys, to waiters are with a lovely smile( they are friendlier to non-Egyptians though). The public areas are beautiful and very well kept, re eption impressivel rhe beach is the best Ive been to worldwide and the pools are very big and clean. Kids club verynice, my kids loved Verraand Menna. Sultan Bar every night had entertainment for the whole family, we loved its open area, staff there were amazing.
The food was impeccable, breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant was a real 5 stars experience, dinner every day a different buffet and you could always order a lacarte if you need to, but we all found what we wanted and loved it. Lunch at the pool was very good, a little expenssive, but you get what you payfor, its the Kempinski after all!
My room had a beautiful sea view but was a little small. Best hotel bed Ive ever stayed in, super comfortable ( I rarely have good sleep in hotel beds!) Only thing I disliked is the lack of coffee and tea making facilities in the room.
i would def come back very soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is better if you get a top floor (3rd)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Basma,

Thank you for the great review, we are happy to hear that you found your favorite beach holiday resort.
Your compliment about the staff will be shared with the whole team as they are the key of our success.
It is great to hear that your kids enjoyed the kids club activities. Our hotel is famous for being kids and family friendly.
We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our culinary offer and that you were satisfied with the room and bed quality.
Your suggestion about the tea and coffee making facilities will be forwarded to the management.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sunny greetings,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel Kempinski in Somma Bay is nice hotel in bay situated nearby the see. The beach is sandy. Sunbeds, cold watter and towells always free of charge. Rooms not too big, but nicelly furnished.
We had room with a sea view and balcony, which was pretty small. The stuff a little slow, but friendly. Specially nice the cook at the breakfast buffet. He even remembers what kind of eggs you eat. The dinner was self service whit a lot of different sorts of cold and hot dishes. Every evening fresh meat and fish from the grill. A large choice of deserts and fruits. Good wines for fair price. I think hotel deserves the second opportunity. We will certainly go back and share our experiences with our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Lid64,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are happy to read your positive feedback, and that you are planning to return to us.
It is great that you liked our culinary offer; our live cooking stations are truly a highlight of the breakfast and dinner as well.
We are looking forward to your next visit in Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay.

Warm regards,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have been staying at the Kempinski Soma Bay for the last 5 years, going 3 to 4 times per year.
even though I have tried other holiday destinations (Maldives, Mauritius, Corsica - to name just few) my preferred choice remains this place.
The service, the architecture of the establishment, the friendly and always smiling staff, the excellent food, beach and sea to rival the Caribbean.
not to forget that you get an excellent value for your money.
I will recommend Kempinski Soma Bay to the most discerning and demanding traveller.
Irina Hartmann

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irina_hartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganchev, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Irina,

Thank you for the great review and your recommendation, we feel proud to get the title “Best place in Egypt Red Sea” from one of our loyal returning guests.
We shared your compliments with the whole team about the excellent service and staff, they were happy to hear that you had another nice vacation with us.

We are looking forward to your soonest return.

Best wishes,

George Ganchev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay

Address: PO Box 15, Soma Bay 84711, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: £77 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by this striking resort destination on the Egyptian shores of the Red Sea, an idyllic leisure retreat blessed with more 7000sqm of picturesque landscape of pools, lazy river, waterfalls and lagoons, flowing down to an immaculate 400m sandy beach. Inspired by the mystique and nobility of the ancient Moorish fortresses, the ultimately luxurious hotel features 325 elegantly-appointed rooms and suites, ranging mostly from 39sqm/42sqm to 185sqm, mixing contemporary decor and European flair, with warm Egyptian hospitality and attention to detail. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. The accommodation at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay captures the nostalgic elegance of an age where quality and care were a way of life. Indulge in an upgrade with any of our unique and generously spacious suites dotted by unmatched views of the Resort and the Red Sea. Explore an abundance of unparalleled choice enhanced by seamless amenities, direct access to the Laguna Club Lounge while enjoying flawless services and inspirational settings. 22 Junior Suites, 10 Deluxe Suites and 2 Presidential Suites are all confirming the luxe-appeal of Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay. A host of deluxe leisure arrays and inspiring culinary choices harmonize your refined stay. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is the ideal location for family holiday, honeymooners, incentive program for companies and definitely a heaven for golf players. A charming KIMO kid's club is operating daily from 9am to 6pm with lots of exciting activities under the supervision of a professional attendant. A voyage of epicurean and entertainment pleasures beckons at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay restaurants and lounge. Assuage your palate with luscious and idyllic ethos from around Asia at Bamboo Shoot or authentic international treats at The View, the hotel's main restaurant with inspiring views. Dine at "The View" restaurant or on its inspiring terrace with stunning sceneries of the Red Sea while enjoying a tantalizing gastronomical treat as you savor the unique signature dish, artistically created by our creative chefs. It is juicy, tender and sensually intrigues your taste buds, guaranteeing a wonderful culinary experience. Indulge in a timeless tasty culinary at Al Mar from noon till sunset in a serene setting. Savor premium light meals at the enjoyable Beachcomber. Revel in the epitome of luxury at Sultan Bar with high-end cocktails and heart thumping entertainment. Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay is definitely a heaven for golf players. Being part of Soma Bay luxury destination, the Hotel guests have access to the spectacular "The Cascades Championship Golf Course". If you're feeling inspired to get fit and try a new sport this summer, head to the luxurious Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay on Egypt's Red Sea and try out a complimentary introductory session of various leisure and sports activities including diving, snorkeling with a guide, windsurfing, kite surfing, catamaran, golf, beach tennis and volley ball... These are some of the leisure excitements waiting for you to explore in your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing