We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
1,258
197
56
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,258
197
56
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river laguna club bamboo shoots sultan bar holiday designers the club lounge breakfast and dinner steam room junior suite sea view view restaurant main restaurant professional staff free shuttle large bathroom other hotels half board
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Kempinski Soma Bay was recommended by a friend for our recent family holiday (senior people, kids, young couple).

I am glad we took this recommendation and booked our holidays at Kempinski Soma Bay.

Everything was perfect: room (enough space, elegant and clean), the housekeeping services were timely responding to all of our needs even late at night. They have even introduced some changes to the room facilities to accommodate our request.

Overall, the Staff was friendly, smiling and helpful.

We were on half board package and the open buffet for both breakfast and dinner were always higher than expectations, with new dishes introduced on a daily basis, in addition to the classic fish / meat grills, pasta, salad and ice cream bars.

I have to explicitly mention "Chef Islam" who was responsible for the fish gril bar during 3 out ot 4 dinners we had there (5th, 6th and 7th of November 2017). From day one, he picked up my special request of spices and made sure it was automatically available in the following days.

The coffee/bar was quite entertaining at night with the live music.

The kids were busy playing at Kids area, the pool and the beach. The Sailing club next door was also accessible, though eventually I couldn't sail because of the wind: not their fault :-)

We didn't have time to rent the bikes. But, I managed to use the Gym which was good enough.

As a conclusion: I strongly recommend this hotel for any type of vacations (couples/romance, family, senior people..etc).

Thank you Kempinski Soma Bay - goes to both the Management and the Staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ismail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Soma, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Ismail E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to read through your words of praise about the facilities and services offered and will gladly share your motivational feedback with everyone, and personally with Chef Islam. No doubt they will be happy to hear that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We thank you once again for choosing Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay and we are already looking forward to your next visit to us soon.

Greetings from the Red Sea,

Lars Pursche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We just spent a few days at the hotel for my wife birth day. The hotel landscape with the lagoons, palm trees, lighting at night is amazing by all means. The breakfast buffet is excellent, dinner is very good. The beach and the sea are perfect.

Our only annoyance we arrived on friday it was my wife's birthday, i tried to book in a different restaurant rather than the main restaurant but they were all closed and the told me they set up a special table for us and serve us a cake, although every body seems to remember I was reminded during the reservation that i have a booking at 7 and when i arrived to the restaurant my name was marked but nothing happened they sat us on the available table in the middle of the restaurant very noisy and they totally forgot about us.

In general the hotel is great we had a great time but some minor improvements in the staff would be great, the waiting staff is a bit over worked thus they are late in fulfilling your requests and you have to ask for the item a few times to get it even for simple stuff such as an extra fork. The mini bar was never restocked during our stay. These are minor things that you dont expect during your stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Waelkhalifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Soma, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Waelkhalifa,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for this special occasion and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and found our hotel excellent, which we will share with our team.

We deeply regret to hear about the mistake with your table arrangements, the shortfalls in the restaurant service and the refilling of the mini bar, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Rest assured that this is not the normal standard we usually provide and your feedback has been addressed already to the responsible department heads to ensure this does not occur again in the future.

We hope that your overall positive memories will dominate and that you will visit us again so that we can serve you better next time.

Yours sincerely,

Lars Pursche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The hitel is nice and clean, well equipped, food is very good. Sea view room is recommended. Beach activities is great, fantastic place under water life is nice just in front of the hotel, recommended to dive or snorkel at breakers hotel bridge. Never forgotten experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hossam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Soma, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Hossam M,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view, our culinary offer, the friendly service and snorkeling by the jetty. Indeed underwater life is amazing in Soma Bay.

On behalf of everyone, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another unforgetable experience in Soma Bay.

Greetings from the Red Sea,

Lars Pursche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Go for it, a real 5 star Hotel at a perfect Laguna at Soma Bay.
We got an upgrade with a nice view to the Beach.
The staff very friendly and engaged to enjoy a perfect stay.
Beach with possibility to swim including a coral reefs infront, lot of impressions.
For catamaran sailing always good conditions, beach party with live music, we enjoyed with Aperol Sparkling.
A real relaxing week, will for sure come back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank now1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Soma, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear now1969,

Thank you very much for choosing Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you especially enjoyed the friendly service along with the beach facilities and entertainment.

On behalf of the entire hotel team, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Lars Pursche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

• This was my second visit and I am definitely planning to go again
• It is the perfect place for a relaxed vacation
• One of the best hotels in Egypt and by far the best buffet in Egypt
• Staff is extremely friendly and cooperative
• The beach is beautiful. It is not the best sandy beach but it is quite vast and relaxing
• The snorkeling experience is awesome; a lot of colored fishes very close to the beach
• Soft Drinks are refilled daily in the rooms FREE of charge in addition to FREE water on the beach/pool
• Supermarket inside the hotel
• The animation activities are modest yet the after dinner entertainment is good
• One of the best spas and access is inclusive in the half board reservation

Room Tip: Close to the pool to be in an intermediate location between the restaurant and the rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_MGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski_Soma, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Michael_MGR,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your flattering comments about the friendly service, our culinary offer, and the recreation facilities are highly appreciated. We will gladly share your compliments with the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another relaxing vacation.

Sunny greetings,

Lars Pursche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews