We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amwaj 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amwaj 2014”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We just came back from holidays in Amwaj hotel,we stayed for 10 days and enjoyed every single moment.All staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful,they would do anything for you.We tried out all of the restaurants and the food was delicious.the beach bar,swimming pool and lobby bars had best barmen ,animation team very entertaining and friendly,we loved Fady. We booked scuba diving trip,Quattro bikes,and trip to Hurghada from hotel,all of them were very well organized and well trusted .Just one thing,90% of guest were Russians.But we loved it,good experience.We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you can choose the room close to the beach and far from the lobby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vaidasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    361
    250
    149
    121
See reviews for
377
543
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We are just back from a 1 week all inclusive stay at this hotel and although I am not usually taking the time to write reviews, I thought worth doing it this time.
Positive points: recently built and reasonably well maintained. We were staying at a family room (two rooms connected) at first floor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Furniture OK but already showing signs of wear and tear.
Very friendly staff, very nice with kids. "Amazingly" all staff speaks Russian...the hotel has a big pool, which water was too cold unfortunately. I has also a well sized heated pool and a small one heated as well for kids with a toboggan.
The beach is nice with plenty of sun beds. Good access to shallow water, although shoes are needed, as there are many stones . A nice jetty gives access to a snorkeling spot. Very active entertainment team, proposing many activities for adults and kids. Mini disco for kids every night and kids club during the day.
The spa has good amenities and competent staff, although expensive. The gym is small but with good equipment. Soma Bay is the kite surfers' paradise and there is possibility to learn it just next door. Ask for Ali. Definitely worth trying.
Special mention to the guest relationship manager: Xenia (sorry not 100% sure of her name) very helpful and lovely.
Weather was nice most of the time during our stay but sometimes very windy.
Disappointing points: don't expect late wake up as life in the hotel starts at 6:30 am and you can hear it very well from your room. Food at the main restaurant (very noisy and crowded) is average, repetitive and not really tasty. Very little selection of fruits but vegetables OK. Hygiene is more or less OK, although don't look too closely at the plates and below the tables.There are 3 other restaurants that serve either "Italian", Arabic and fish. The Italian and Arabic are very far from the real stuff. The fish one is OK, but not part of the all inclusive package.
To conclude, this hotel is definitely not a 5 stars but offers decent value for money. If to recommend, I would recommend it for families, not really expecting gastronomy and quietness and not afraid of being in a Russian environment in Egypt.

Room Tip: For families, try to get 2 connected rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have mixed reviews for this hotel though plenty on the positive side. All guests seem to be in agreement regarding the staff and I can only endorse this. Everyone was extremely pleasant, eager to please and more than happy to go out of their way on our behalf. The hotel is very clean and the gardens are maintained to a high standard. I would grade the food as average though when solicited for our opinion, standards improved considerably with the addition of personal service! The main restaurant is devoid of atmosphere or any kind of ambiance and populated by guests who don't know when to stop; many of them would have found a wheelbarrow helpful on returning from the buffet. A much better option is the fish restaurant or the Italian where there is waiter service and a more pleasant environment. I am a wine drinker and wine was not an option at any of the bars, only the restaurants. The hotel is very isolated (as are most in this area) so a walk after dinner is impossible - we did manage a couple of daytime walks along the shoreline but the volume of rubbish on the beaches is revolting. A point worth noting is that if you're British/ Western European you will be in a minority of roughly 1%!

Room Tip: Request a room on the sunny side of the hotel on the third floor overlooking the gardens. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you take a look at my review of May 2013 for this hotel you will see that we had a great time and loved our holiday. We have NEVER been back to any hotel or resort in the past but really wanted to go back. We booked with some concerns though, wondering if it could be as nice as last time. Well it was, it was better. They have made a few changes and we loved it even more. The first thing to say was about the greeting we had....From the porter, to reception, to the beach, we were remembered, hugged, kissed and welcomed back amazingly, with lots of "welcome homes!"... We were upgraded on arrival to a gorgeous room. There are more bottles of water now, a big improvement as it was one of my issues last time. The internet access was better. You still have to pay which is a shame as so many hotels have free wifi now, but it seems to be common in that area to pay for wifi. However you can buy bigger vouchers that work out better value, for example buy 3 hours, get 1 hour free and so on. We were also bothered far less on the beach and around the pool, just a few people trying to promote the spa, dive centre etc, but they were all lovely and no one pressured us at all. The whole place is spotlessly clean at all times.

The main restaurant has been refurbished and has just reopened. Far lighter, brighter and more spacious, with less of a canteen feel, and more of a dining feeling now. The food is wide and varied and caters for everyone from so many countries. If you complain about the food or can't find something you like each day, then you really are one of life's moaners.... You are in Egypt, not Benidorm remember! The food in the bedouin tent was SO good, far better than the gorgeous food last time. The Italian evening meal was lovely too. The pool restaurant was closed due to the time of year, but still 4 restaurants open gave enough choice. There is a seafood restaurant that you pay for, unless you have an upgraded package. We went to the seafood restaurant last visit and it was superb.

It was totally safe! We stayed in touch with a couple of people from the hotel from our last stay, and checked with them before we went that all was safe and quiet now and it was. No problems at all and they all seemed happy that their country is on the mend. Thank goodness. These lovely, hard working people deserve that. It is a lovely country, full of kind and lovely people. They adore children and can't do enough to make sure kids were having fun and happy.

I would just like to say about honesty and safety. There is a good and free safe box in the room. My husband left his ipod on the table in the lobby bar , and only realised when back in the room. He rushed back presuming it would be gone but the waiter had it safe. The waiter (Raji) then refused a thankyou tip, saying "he did not expect a tip for honesty". Commendable!

The animation team are great fun. Thanks to Sulu, Jana and the team for lots of fun and laughs, and teasing when we didn't join in! All fun and banter, what a great lot. Huge thanks to Radi (beach bar) for so many laughs, gorgeous Mohammed (lobby bar), to the lovely guest relations Randa, who can't do enough to help and is a star, to Hytham on reception for being so helpful and kind, to the wonderful chef Bahaa who is a charming and helpful gentleman and now friend, Mohammed ('Antonio Banderas'!) and Hosny, 2 special members of staff who we had laughs, chats and fun with and who looked after us so well. Sobhy, Mahmoud and Jamal on the beach who again looked after us and were a great team. We hardly lifted a finger and came home so very relaxed....

You can now upgrade with various packages from bronze to 'sultan' which you pay far more for, but get an amazing sun bed area, free massages, unlimited seafood restaurant meals and so on. To be honest you get treated so well it doesn't matter but if you want to upgrade you get extras. Your choice, depending on budget, preference and so on...

The staff work so hard, they can't so enough to help. Smile, tip, be friendly, ask about their family, life, and so on, and you will make friends... you won't leave this place without some new Egyptian friends. They give back what you give. If you are friendly and kind, you will get that back 100%. We LOVE this place and the people, and we will be back again. Thanks to everyone at the Amwaj once again. We miss you and your lovely weather!

Room Tip: We were top floor, nearer to the beach end of the hotel, so very quiet. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacks68l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are very happy that we choose this hotel. Room was spacious, conditioned with balcony, tinted windows. Food range was really wide and tasty (nothing to compare to Turkey 5 stars hotels). The biggest happiness this hotel brought with it's customer service - everyone pays attention to u and helps u with any issue. Surprisingly, even cleaners could speak English-great!!! The best people with the greatest customer service skills and knowledge about their work were: head chef Bahaa, barman Mostafa Abdou and animation team member Gana! Big thanks to them!
One bad thing - loads of moaning russian people about ridiculous things without willing to pay a small price ;/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arunas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

At first I would like to say big-big thanks for the staff of the Amwaj hotel. You are the best!! We stayed from 8th of March for 1 week. My 6 months old baby boy Peeter is in love with You!! Our standard hotel room was very big and always clean. Trip from airport was about 45 minutes by bus.
Food was very good. Every day new and fresh. Pool was always clean because pool boy did a very good job.
All together I can say Amwaj hotel is the best hotel I have been in Egypt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holyday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would like to say a huge thankyou to all the staff at this fab hotel.Every one went out of there way to make our holiday so enjoyable, I have never met such lovely and friendly staff any where that i have been on holiday before and i have been to many places around the world. A big thankyou to M. Rady at the beach bar, Mohamed Moktar reception bar, Mostafa ,Sobhy and Randa guest relations who nothing was to much trouble. We stayed 21st Feb for 1 week our first time to Eygpt.On arrival we were upgraded to deluxe room with sea/pool view. The room was beautiful as was the weather. Beach was fab with music playing for some part of the day, Sobhy the towel man was so lovely. Food was great really didn't want to leave I booked through Love Hoildays . com and have been trying to book again but for some reason the Amwaji isn't on there site now really dont know why as we want to go back same time next year if not before. Will keep looking. Thank's again to all the staff you do an amazing job always with a huge smile,making all your guest feel very special

Room Tip: room 2207 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janetplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
3.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
19.2 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#67 of 222 in Hurghada
1,389 reviews
11.7 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
19.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa is located directly on the beautiful sandy beach of Abu Soma, 45 KM from Hurghada international air port, Abu Soma enjoys its reputation for being one of the best location for underwater diving, home to a vast array of magical and mesmerising under water species, Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa offers luxury accommodation with Red Sea views and private beach, enjoy the water colures merging with sun and moon light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Blue Beach Hotel Soma Bay
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing