We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one week in that hotel. So...the hotel is very nice,the rooms are clean and have all the things that you need. There is plenty of delicious food to chose from. We used the pool just two times, because the beach is very clean. The staff is amazing!!!!!! We feel sorry for them because they have to deal with all the Russian guests every day. We also have some minor negative connotations: the wifi is very expensive (it's supposed to be free ) and 80% of the guests are Russians, who are very rude & arrogant. The price for the cigarettes is very expensive compared to standard Egyptian prices but anyways, we were in a resort.

Nina and Alex, Slovenia.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank alexzaki1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    347
    238
    143
    108
See reviews for
360
524
53
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from here (July 2014), many great memories and couple of problems. This is my 4th time in northern Africa (2 times in Tunisia, 2 times in Egypt) so here we go...
You will need around 45min from the airport to come to Amwaj hotel (by bus). When asked for a room - if you want a view ask for higher floors (2nd or 3rd). Each room has a balcony and partially sea view (and garden and pool). If you want to be close to pools and to have your own garden then ask for a ground floor room - not recommended because you will have no privacy from guests passing by. View from balcony is great, this hotel really looks like oasis in the middle of nowhere. It is surrounded by send but everything inside is green. Rooms are nice and air-conditioner works perfectly.Also poor choice of TV channels - there was no mtv/vh1 like music channel (or anything similar).
If you like laying on the beach you will be delighted ! They have palms, beds, sandy beach, private bungalows - one of the nicest beaches I've seen. But it will be hard to swim here because it is very shallow (you need to walk at least 50m to find deeper water) and you must not enter barefoot because of corals. On the positive side you can easily see colourful sea life very close to the beach. Place is great for wind-surfers. There is one really bog pool and 2 smaller ones.
There is also a gym (included in All Inclusive package), basic one but with nice view.
Food was nice but nothing special. I was disappointed by desserts. Don't go at the beginning of the meals because you will have to wait in lines for some time ! There is one main restaurant (View) and 2 smaller ones (Italian and Bedouin). You can reserve a place in Italian and Bedouin for a dinner but do it as soon as you check-in because they fill up quickly. They have self-service machine for drinks but at the bar you can get original Coke, Sweeps and Fanta.
If you want to go to Hurghada (or anywhere else) you must use hotel shuttle or taxi service. Shuttle is 10$ per person and it will get you to the city, leave you there for 3 hours and take you back to the hotel. If you choose a taxi you will get your own limousine with the driver to get you where you want to go and will wait for you there (45$ for 2 of us for 3 hours in the city) - it was really great experience !
They have great staff - every one of them is smiling all the time, they are good with languages English, Russian... and hard working. Don't forget to tip them !
Last 2 days we have occasionally lost electricity (problems in down town) and water for couple of hours.
Wifi is not included in all inclusive and is very expensive (1 hour - 7 $ !?) Late check out is 10$ per person (from 12h 'till 15h).
We paid 480eur for 1 week of all inclusive per person (paid in first minute offer)

Positive:
Really nice hotel with beautiful view. Great beach, nice pools. Excellent staff.
Negative:
Not close to Hurghada - must use expensive hotel shuttle/taxi, no free wifi, most of the guest are east europians

Advice to newcomers in Egypt:
Don't forget to tip ! Always bargain when shopping. Don't be intimidated by the street sellers, it is just their way of selling :)
Do not drink tap water ! Avoid ice in you drinks. Avoid salad and fruits (that was washed in tap water). All of this leads to stomach problems :) Find a good pro-biotic and start drinking it one or two days before you go to your vacations.

Enjoy ! :)

Room Tip: If you want a view go for 2nd or 3rd floor - higher the better. If you want your own little garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ShoelacelessShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On an opening note i would like to say that people who come to write to this site do it for 2 reasons: either they feel like they have been robbed of their money by being given bad services and complain or the ones that enjoyed their stay and would like to congratulate the managament out of the bottom of their own heart. How about an objective review, over here.


Why oasys ? You re practically surrounded by desert and the only place cool to cool off with cold drinks is this place.

We've just spent a week in the Amwaj Blue Beach Resort, during end of June - beginning of July, and so far at the end of our vacation i can confirm positively all the good rumours read, here, regarding, cleanliness of the hotel, and the warm welcoming feeling that you pass by every day by socialising with hotel staff at any given hour, yes even taking some late cocktails at 3 am in the morning.

Im gonna go on and brag a little about the hotel: the rooms and outsides of the hotel are really 5 stars, especially the rooms, hot water all the time, A/C which is so much needed goes crucially to 16 degrees in a few minutes, and believe me, you will need it to cool off in some part of the days and very important, something met here that others hotel lack: non-stop open bar in the lobby.

We arrived around 22:00 in the night, and so far from what i've seen, there is an unusual way here in Egypt which with they check you in. The travel agent got all of our passports in the bus arriving in the hotel and gave them to front reception and then, formed some inexistent line to check in for real.
That took some minutes unfortunately, and although i asked for a room with a view to the pool, i returned later on in the lobby asking to change it because it wasn't what i asked. Off course, 10$ is 10$ and it made a whole lotta change, because this time we received a beautiful pool view - sides sea view, asked for 2nd or 3rd level. Better view changes all of your time there.

I liked the scenaries here, and i was for starters shocked that far too less people knew that this was a resort surrounded by dessert actually, the scenary actually is pretty great, down in the morning strolling the beach, or having a walk down that long, never ending pontoon. Walking my view towards the pontoon i could turn my back to everything and watch in the abyss blue of the sea or turn my back to the "never-ending" and get that deja-vu of an oasys in the dessert: the water and the pools the buildings and the palm trees all along with the green life there, all surrounded by a far view of rocky stone mountains in the far plain all together with the harsh lines of heat beating the earth with unforgiving mercy.

Yes this is Egypt, and it is both beautiful and harsh. At the beach you cand find southing temperatures, the breeze is very strong, powerful winds in the morning and noon, and you can add that you could always find replenishment in bathing in the sea, taking a shower, or swimming in the pools, and you can add the numerous drinks that can be ordered from both of the two bars opened throughout the beach.

Talking a little about the drinks: both their bottled beer and tap beer is super good, european standard, i tasted a very good beer, made in Egypt, funny name : Pharohs Beer, drinks of all sorts are always cold, and the bartenders are always overworked and apologising for your time waiting for your drink. As a positive note: this hotel serves Coca-Cola, Fanta, kinley and Schweppes, the genuine bottled kind that you would only get in Ultra all inclusive hotels, and also to top that some sort of Guava juice, a natural drink, a very good juice, soothing on that temperature alike in taste like peer juice. So you won t be thirsty either, here.


Food choice: You can always get picky in eating here for a whole week but truth be told, there was always something to choose from, even the pickiest could have something to eat there.
Book in advance from the first day: a one stay dinner both at : Bedouin tent restaurant and Italian. Very good and a well deserved change in scenary. There is another buffet here, and the food is mostly served here. A dually noted point here to take on is that they "measure" on giving too larger portions of meat sometimes, but not does not come of out some cheapness of the management but rather than from respect to their own nation, giving their nations situations it seems rather than humanly not to waste food, so on this note you could always ask for more, the trick is to make the trip to ask for more.

Every employee struggles to leave a good impression and this surpasses their good english speaking, but good willing gestures have no boundaries in interactivity. I personally didn't have a problem waiting in lines sometimes at the bar for my drink, because they are over overked sometimes with the on going high capacity of tourists flux. A strong hello and my best wishes go to Ahmed, the night beach-bar waiter who always made us laugh and has the best attidude in the whole resort.


Trips in Egypt are somewhat tiring, a trip to Luxor was about 900 km and the trip in Cairo is 1200 km, and both occupy a day of your stay, so if you are mixing your trip with history researching and relaxing be prepared to ask for a 2 week stay.

Room Tip: Book a room near the pools. Avoid pool bar during closing times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Skazy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in March very quiet, not much in means of entertainment. Food had a reasonable choice and good quality. Rooms were clean and modern. I would not stay in this particular area again as it was a bit too quiet for me.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

No water during the entire stay.we had to refull the bottle of the water from the room which they gave us at the beginning of the holiday. I had diareea and voma because they weren't clean.I went to hospital and I had to pay 100 euro for one perfusion. They didn't t care about the cleaning from the room.the pillows were spoiled and dirty from the other guests....so horror....Please Don t go to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I spent 3 days at this hotel and it was a nice time.
Positive feedback : many of the stuff are helpful and try to offer you a great service- the food is good with enough variety especially the Italian restaurant was excellent in food and stuff - the rooms are wide enough - you can do snorkeling at the marina of the hotel.

Negative feedback : no enough towels on the swimming pool.
Few of the stuff are rude specially the pianist was very aggressive and un polite if anyone touch the piano as it's not allowed for gussets to play on it unlike other hotels but it's not a problem if she asked that in a respectable way, but what happened with me was very irritating and made me angry.
The soft drinks are bad with no soda..The beer is sometimes hot.- no safe car barking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafik--Ibrahem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was in this hotel from 4.6.-11.6.2014.kada I came, I had no particular expectations, but I was really pleasantly surprised especially friendly staff and very nice hotelom.Samo little to enhance the nutrition and everything will be super.Želim particular praise for the animation team especially beautiful and unparalleled Ghana beautiful Tunisian who his smile and spirit captivates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
1.4 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
24.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#71 of 222 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
20.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#99 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
19.7 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#52 of 222 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
20.8 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#27 of 222 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km 50 , Hurghada | Safaga Road,, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa is located directly on the beautiful sandy beach of Abu Soma, 45 KM from Hurghada international air port, Abu Soma enjoys its reputation for being one of the best location for underwater diving, home to a vast array of magical and mesmerising under water species, Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa offers luxury accommodation with Red Sea views and private beach, enjoy the water colures merging with sun and moon light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Blue Beach Hotel Soma Bay
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing