We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From home to home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The only negative.....we had to leave!!!
This is our 10th, 11th, 12th....can't remember how many times we've been, and every time....it feels wonderful, like home to home! Dr. Franz and his team really make this hotel unique. The atmosphere is very special.....elegant, classy but comfortable. The staff are ALL very friendly and helpful! The mornings start with a breakfast for everyones taste....the choice is great! Next stop the beach...clean, comfortable, the walk to the snorkling reef is not too far, the beach bar always welcomes one with a smile and a cool drink!! At lunch time, the beach restaurant also has a good choice!!! There is entertainment if one wants but not pestered if one doesn't want to take part!
After a day on the beach....back to the comfort of a spacious room with a very luxurious bathroom. Then off to dinner......this is the highlight of the day! The welcome from the staff in the restaurant is amazing! The waiters are so friendly and always have time for a chat......the food, delicious from starters to dessert....Chef Omar and his team are really the best! Omar, we miss you!! Then a relaxed evening in one bar or another before returning to our room for a good nights sleep.....and this day in, day out, for us, a week long! Paradise!!
Thanks to everyone for making our week so enjoyable!!
Yes, we will come again and we hope soon!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Marina K,

Thank you for your great review and high rating to our hotel

We are pleased to know that your stay was as you expected from Sheraton about all the services you stated like the food, the hotel conditions and the treatment of our colleagues.

We wish to see you back soon at our hotel to enjoy the same level you experienced during your last stay at our hotel

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Super like for chef Omar and his team chef Samir and chef fathay and chef Ali and for Mr.reda sports team and animation I really enjoy every time my stay :)))) thxxxxxxxx allllll for your hospitality :)

Room Tip: Near the pool and reasturant :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Mohamed A,

Thank you very much for your nice review about your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay resort

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the remarkable service from our colleagues.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my second visit to Sheraton Soma bay; the first visit was more than a year back. The hotel is still in an excellent condition. The best thing about the hotel is the friendly and professional staff members. They are genuinely helpful and kind, you can feel it since the check in till the check out. We were a big group of 10 people who are booking directly via internet and we communicated with the hotel in advance to know the most recommended room types and to book connected rooms, not only that the communication was very smooth and clear with Mr Emad Gad but also when we arrived we found everything ready and we checked in in no time.
Rooms are spacious and clean and we were lucky to have two rooms among the 4 we booked overlooking the sea.
We were booked on half board; the waiters in the restaurant used to prepare out favourite table before we arrive which was so thoughtful. The food is tasty and there is a good variety in both the breakfast and the dinner. The special thing about the hotel is the location by the sea the water is not deep and the it is so transparent that you can see your toes this is perfect for kids as it is so safe, the spot is perfect for snorkelling as well. The only thing that the hotel need to work on is the animation team and the kids club, the kids went twice there and there was no one in the kids club. Also the kids club supposedly offers a 30 min dance for kids after dinner when we went like 10 min before it ends the animation team rep. didn't stop looking in his watch and he actually left early. Animation teams are usually more proactive in Red Sea Resorts.
Despite this ting flaw I would love to go again to the hotel as everything is just perfect, 3 days there would re-generate your energy for such a long time. Finally the weather was great for May I was under the impression that it will be hotter but it was sunny and warm but not as hot.

Room Tip: A Sea view room is recommended -Room 2231 and 2232 were sea view front and connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Ms. DHafez,

Thank you for your nice review about Sheraton Soma Bay

We are happy to learn that your stay was as you expected in terms of hotel conditions, professionalism of our colleagues, food and location.

We have informed Mr. Emad about your nice comments towards his service to you and he was so happy to hear from you about him.

We are so sorry that the entertainment for the adults and the children was not as you expected, however we will improve the entertainment program in the light of the facts you stated.

Of course it will be my pleasure to contact me on my e-mail address below or you can contact Mr. Eamd Gad on his e-mail address emad.gad@sheraton.com if you wish to plan for another holiday at our hotel.

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Hotel to stay at if you want to dive in the Red Sea.

Good restaurants with a good selection of food, and a superb swimmingpool if you dont like swimming in the sea with the small sharks and other funny fisch.

Very friendly and help full staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Allan A,

Thank you for your great review about Sheraton Soma Bay

We are thankful for your nice comments that you enjoyed the friendly service of our colleagues, the diving and the swimming pool

Please let me know if you want to come to enjoy another stay in the future for your booking arrangements.

Best regards from Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Soma Bay (the area) felt like a really secure and wonderful place, and it really is! Actually all hotels in the area seems to be top-notch, helping each other to be the best they can be. Sheraton was really nice and we enjoyed every minute.

First of all - Great staff at the hotel - By the way, where do you find all the good people? (A question directed to the hotel manager)

For us the food quality and cleanliness was really important when we planned the trip to Egypt. I think Sheraton really matched this. Also great variety of the menu. If you want more variety they have a voucher system so that you can go and eat on Kempinski and the other hotels.

It was also important to be able to do different things (sports) and I think the area (Soma Bay) offered everything that you would need during a one/two week vacation. We both had a feeling of "lets get back here one day" Which I personally think is the best rating a hotel/area can get.

The diving club which is located at the Breakers lodge does not overprice diving/snorkelling tours (which they in reality could), that was a major plus for us. About 15 Euro for a half day trip (one dive) and 30 Euro for full day trip (snorkelling). A bit more for diving.

If you are diver/snorkeller I would prefer asking for a room "close to Breakers lodge",or "close to the jetty". We had to do a pretty good walk every time we wanted to snorkle but I guess I was tired after running 10 k every day :) By the way, a lot of joggers and "well being people” in the Soma Area.

Mostly German and English speaking people at all the hotels.

If you are into sports you have to try the Kitesurfing - Sheraton does not offer courses but there is a minivan transfering you to the well established kitecenter 5 min away (minivan comes every hour). Great experience, but more of European prices I would say. A full day course with everything was about 240 Euros. They offer a special package 4 day course (which is prefererable if you plan to stand on the kite and get the feeling of everything...). So why should you consider kiting? Well, actually the wind can get pretty strong in these areas and the snorkelling/diving gets less interesting/poor visibility.

Sheraton offered among other things sailing, windsurfing for free (if you can handle the sports which we couldn´t) so we were not able to take advantage of that offer.

Needless to say I think we were the most sporty couple on the hotel - 70-80% of all guests took it really easy, relaxed, called for drinks, drank coffe, read books and focused on eating, and I don´t blame them :)

Thanks to the hotel staff!

Room Tip: If you are diver/snorkeller I would prefer asking for a room "close to Breakers lodge",or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Peter H,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed all the activities you did during your stay at our hotel

Beside all the pluses you stated in your review, I agree with you regarding our hotel colleagues who are helpful by nature and our training enabled them to show our guests how professional they are.

We can see that your above review is hiding a welling to visit our hotel again and we would like to let you know that we will be happy to answer your requests whenever you will decide to come.

Sincerely,

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've been to this hotel around 10 times and every time the experience is the best! This is a place where you can feel like home! The staff is very friendly, hard working, in a good mood and always ready for a joke! you really feel like you're meeting friends and family!
The location of the hotel is wonderful! right in front you can find the reef where you can see the beauty of the sea.
The hotel itself is nice too, with its swimming pools, nice gardens and terraces!
What can I say more? Take the chance to visit this piece of heaven on earth and you'll see it yourself how wonderful it is! :) :) :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jenny792,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel

We are grateful for all the points you stated especially our hotel location and our work colleagues who we believe that they are the best asset we have at our hotel.

Once again thank you for your review and wish to see you soon at Sheraton Soma Bay where everybody wears a smile.

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ok if I really want to complain THE ONLY THING is the pool or at least one of the pools should be HEATED. That is all, otherwise this resort is PERFECT. Great food, great ambiance, beautiful. If you're considering the Kempinski hotel, don't think twice, book here! Alot of people from that hotel come to our to spend the day. PS - IF you like animation, sorry have low expectations for entertainment then you will be happy (I don't care for that, but if you have kids they will be entertained!)
room is very clean, beautiful ocean/pier view, they bring a "treat" every day (not chocolate like traditional hotels but something random like cake..)
sports/activities are included which my husband enjoyed
gym is great
and location is great
CREPES station at the breakfast buffet is great
if you like food get the all inclusive package - you will be happy!
staff is normal, they are friendly, kind and not trying to hard
if you're thinking of going, we went in april (not the best month)

Room Tip: BEST ROOMS are furthest away from main pool, BUT the next door resort plays LOUD music (disco)... (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MINAYOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear MINAYOUNG,

Thank you nice comments and review about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are sorry that the pool was not heated during the month of April; also there will be monthly revision to our entertainment program to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.

We are glad to know that you considered our hotel as one of the best of its area based on your evaluation to our service to the resident or outside guests who we are proud to be at their service.

Please note that it is our pleasure to welcome you always

Looking forward welcoming you soon at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any special wishes that will make your next holiday at our hotel as enjoyable as we can

Once again thank you for being loyal to our hotel

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soma Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range: £35 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing