We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect place to visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had so much fun
Perfect place to spend your holiday in, everything here is perfect.
Water sports was amazing, diving snorkeling and all the water sports.
Rooms are very clean and everything you'll need they will provide you with.
Perfect stuff :))
I'm gonna come again next holiday.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ahmed S,

Thank you for such wonderful review about our hotel

We are proud always to have you at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort where every body wears a smile

Should you wish to book for your future reservation, please let me know to arrange for your next booking.

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    264
    59
    27
    18
See reviews for
459
418
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qena
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good staff
good design
good restaurants
beach very good safe for children
Good water sports center
Kids club
main pool
suites pool
amazing view from inside the lobby
free water bottles all over the hotel
free towels without cards

Room Tip: beach suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Hasan N,

Thank you for your review and nice comments about your last stay at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation

We will gladly wait your call to book your room whenever you will decide to come to join the club of our repeater guests which is getting wider and bigger every day and after every guest experience at our hotel

With our best regards to you and your family

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

1. our room should b paritial sea view yet we got a room 95% blocked with a building and after complaining we were offered a real partial sea view room but so far from the beach , pool and the main building

2. after a whole day on the beach we went back to our room to find it not cleaned and no fresh towels, we called the houskeeping and waited for more than an hour b4 getting z towels

3. the dinner buffet is very very very poor and not tasty at all

4. towels on the beach are disgusting

really dissppointed, should have stayed at kempinski, food there is great and the hotel is new

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mghazawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear mghazawy,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on our website

We are sorry that you have been disappointed during your stay at our hotel

We do respect the rule that people are different and seeing the things from different perspectives, however thank you for letting us know what you want in your room for the next times.

The rest of comments regarding the room, the food and the towels will be forwarded to our colleagues in the concerned departments to take the suitable actions to improve the service.

We wish to see you soon back to arrange for your next holiday as you expect

Once again thank you for telling us how to satisfy you

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We came in after a long trip, the reception desk was extremely nice and the workers there are so kind to the guests. We had a sea view room which was wonderful view and premium facilities. They have really good activities. Well, that what I really like to call a holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for writing your comments about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

It is our pleasure that we have been able to gain your satisfaction

As a true friend of our hotel, we would like to welcome you again at our hotel whenever you will

be able to come back.

Last, but not least we will be glad if you will contact us to for your next stay at our hotel

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice Hotel but boring for kids
Traveled in last 2 days in Ramadan on end of July 2014 and this is my experience for this hotel:
No Night Life
No Animation Team
Service is good & people are friendly & rooms are clean
Quiet Hotel
Good for golf players
Food is good
Most rooms are near to the pool & the sea
Only one pool & its OK
The beach is nice sandy with a very shallow water where u can walk a lot & still have height, no rocks but after a while there are weeds below u, no waves at all.
Good Facilities
No shopping area at all
Prices are high
No near areas for shopping or activities

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hossam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Hossam77,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are sorry that some of our services were not up to the level of your family’s expectation

Please stay assured that we will take your comments seriously and to remedy any shortfall in the service that you might experience for the improvement of our future guests

We can feel from your comments about the hotel how much you have been engaged with our location and services even that some of them were not up to your

Also I would appreciate if you contact me to give me more details about your stay as there are some facts about the hotel I wanted to share with you like that we have DJ music or live show on daily basis from 8 pm to 11 pm, our animation team are working during the day time by the beach and the pool, they can share your family in the mini disco, also some of our colleagues can open our adults discotheque for you from 11 pm to 2 am, we have two pools beside the mail pool plus the children pool, the shopping area is limited, but it is existing and reachable with a free shuttle bus every day from 6 am to 11 pm.
I hope that we will be able to see you back at our hotel enjoying the services that you have missed.

Wish you and your family a nice celebrations season

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a week at the Sheraton in June. Wanted to basicallt sleep on the beach and relax and the Sheraton was perfect. The hotel can only have been about a third full, as most of the loungers on the beach were unoccupied, so there was no rush to reserve your space first thing in the morning. According to my travel agent, many people are avoiding Egypt because of the disturbances in Cairo and it was at the beginning of the summer season.

Soma Bay is basically just a few hotels and marina, with Hurgadha (about 40 minute drive away) being the nearest town. If you are looking for night clubs, shops or different retaurants Soma Bay is probably not for you, but for a good hotel, with pretty good "in house" ammenities, then the Sheraton is hard to beat.

I love Egyptian and all Middle Eastern food, but that was in short supply, as the Sheraton main restaurant offers a different themed evening every night. Generally it was pretty good, but I would rate a couple of the evenings as just OK. The Italian restaurant was better with both a table d'hote or a la carte menu every evening

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director Of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Doug B,

Thank you for your nice w about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel services, friendliness of our colleagues and the food.

Should you will consider our hotel for any future booking, please let me know to arrange for your next stay

Best regards from Sheraton Soma Bay

Mahmoud Fathy
mhmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We've just got back from 10 fantastic days at the Sheraton Soma Bay - an enormous private luxury development with its own marina on The Red Sea and dubbed the new Egyptian Riviera.

There are so many good things to say about this hotel and the pictures on the hotel's website really don't do justice to the hotel.

For starters the level of service is truly 5 star (international levels) - no request was ever too much for any of the friendly staff.

The common areas of the hotel are palatial, marble everywhere and everything is very clean throughout the whole hotel.

The bedroom was fantastic - recently renovated, very large with excellent air conditioning, international TV channels, new 42" flatscreen LG TV (take an HDMI cable if you want to watch your own movies from your laptop) and an amazingly comfortable Sheraton sweetsleeper superking bed. The minibar is restocked every day with soft drinks even on the all inclusive deal.

There are 2 restaurants to choose from in the evenings - one is buffet style with themes rotated every week and the other is an Italian a la carte restaurant. Breakfast is a buffet affair and there is a very large selection - pretty much everything you would expect from a 5 star international hotel. Both restaurants are included on the all inclusive deal with a set menu from the latter in the evenings. The Italian restaurant is slightly more formal (men are asked to wear trousers) and the quality of service, plates, glasswear and food (even on the set menu) etc are all premium. We went to the Italian restaurant having read a recommendation on tripadvisor and we're so glad we did - once we'd been there we didn't go back to the buffet!

The pool is large, very clean and then the beach is enormous and again extremely clean as is the sea water in the bay. There's always a breeze and lots of shady lounging terraces so even at 40 degrees celsius it's easy to keep cool.

There's just enough to do to save you from getting bored with activities every day - snorkling, watersurfing etc are included and there's a great hotel gym.

Finally the hotel was very quiet when we were there (hot summer months + Ramadam + general Egypt tourism problems at the moment) - maybe 10% occupancy but this for us was an added bonus as we practically had the hotel to ourselves...

We can totally understand why so many people return to this hotel year after year - it's safe if you've got kids and big enough to find a place all to yourself if you're after peace and quiet.

If you're in two minds don't be - we walked along and the Sheraton is definitely much better than the Kempinski which is more expensive.

We'll definitely be back again!!


TIPS:

We'd thoroughly recommend taking a trip to the Cascades Thalasso Spa. Even if you just use the Aquatonic pool for €30 pp you get to use the facilities including an outdoor seawater pool, sauna and steam room all day. The aquatonic lasts for 1hr 30 mins and gives you a full body massage section by section - amazing...

Golf cart - the hotel has one for hire at €20 per day - a great way to explore the entire Soma Bay site - we used ours to get to the Spa and take a trip round the golf course!

All inclusive - definitely go for this option, if you shop around it's not that more expensive and will end up costing less than paying as you go - beer, wine (which isn't bad at all) and all soft drinks are included with this option. If you drink spirits then you can take 1 liter pp into Egypt which you might want to consider if you're not a beer or wine drinker. The staff are more than happy to serve you a bottle of wine rather glass by glass on the all inclusive deal too.

Sea View room - forget what anyone else says, for the slight extra cost it REALLY made a difference to wake up every morning and have a coffee on the balcony overlooking the stunning bay, we're so glad we upgraded at the last minute. Also go for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get a great view.

Wifi - this is free in the reception and bar area but €15/day for access in the rest of the hotel - as it happens we opted not to take the wifi deal and as a result we found ourselves checking email a lot less which really helped us relax a lot quicker!

Shop around - you can get some great deals online especially is you buy the hotel and flights separately - much better than booking through the hotel direct.

Room Tip: Sea View room - forget what anyone else says, for the slight extra cost it REALLY made a difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveForHolidaysLond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud F, Deputy Director of Guest Service at Sheraton Soma Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear LiveForHolidaysLond,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we wish to see you back as soon as possible

Please let me know whenever you will decide to come back to arrange for your next holiday

Best regards

Mahmoud Fathy
mahmoud.fathy@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soma Bay
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 11 in Soma Bay
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Soma Bay Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
#7 of 11 in Soma Bay
692 reviews
14.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Soma Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Soma Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Soma Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 71 | Hurghada, Soma Bay, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Soma Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soma Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Soma Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Soma Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soma Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Soma Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Somabay is a unique gem of a resort on the Somabay peninsula: with stunning architecture inspired by Luxor's magnificent Karnak Temple, the hotel is situated directly on 800 meters of beautiful beachfront. Its spacious 326 guest rooms and suites are all beautifully designed with chic décor featuring wooden and pastel-colored furnishings. If you are on the lookout for an active holiday, The Sheraton supplies no end of options. Spend your days experimenting with scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing, tennis, squash and a well equipped gymnasium. For golfers, the 18-hole Cascades Golf Course lies within five minutes walking distance of the resort with the spectacular greens directly on the coast line. Guests of Sheraton Somabay have the chance to find renewed harmony of mind, body, and spirit with the restorative powers of thalassic treatments at the nearby The Cascades Spa & Thalasso, the region's largest and most comprehensive facility for thalasso therapy. The No Mummies Kids Club gives parents a much-needed break to enjoy their stay in the resort. The club provides daily sports and activities programs for children 4 to 12 years old. Food is a unique experience at Sheraton Somabay, where a variety of cuisines are provided all day long through different restaurants and bars such as L'Abydos Brasserie, L'Emporio Ristorante, Copper Crescent Grill and the Beach Hut. The Sheraton Somabay Convention Center has five meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests. With the Sheraton's exquisite culinary staff, incomparable service, and stylish décor, the hotel caters to all kinds of events and makes special occasions unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Soma Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Soma Bay Hotel Soma Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing