We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant diving, great location , great people”
Review of Roots Red Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roots Red Sea
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went in May with my Dive Club . Every detail was taken care of, from the transfer to the well organised daily diving whether it was from the house reef or local shore diving.Nothing was too much trouble ( thank you Steve) for sorting out my minor issue so promptly.
My club booked via the Scuba Place , and we all were somewhat disgruntled with the price that we as a large group paid compared to smaller groups on exactly the same package paying anywhere between £250 to £300 PP less ( the same week) .Needless to say I will not be booking via them again.
Steve the owner did raise an eyebrow at the price we had paid,a man of very few words so I will book direct with the organ grinder in future and leave the monkey out of the equation. I will however be going back in Sept on a Safari down south followed by a week at roots , travelling solo.
Cannot wait as Steve and the lovely Claire run a slick well organised dive based holiday in a stunning location. If you like night life and bars this is not the place for you, If you like great diving on your doorstep, simple, clean ,comfortable accommodation, most with fabulous views, dive and fish chats over a few cold beers after a hearty supper and if as a single female diver you want somewhere safe quiet and relaxing look no further .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank theresasolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

A great stay, staff outstanding, service outstanding. Would go back again and again. Diving was great, every dive was different. Roots is run by divers for divers and so they fully understand the needs and levels for diving from beginner to advance and beyond

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was a great week of diving holiday! Just what you need, when you live a too busy life: a quiet diving camp where everything is arranged to make your diving absolutely comfortable, a lots of personal attention, good food, interesting company. A great variety of diving sites makes diving divers and very enjoyable. Skilled staff helps you to discover the best routes under water and looks after your equipment between the dives. I had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TatianaLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I went to Roots following a recommendation from a friend. From arriving at Hurghada, where transport was waiting, to departing a week later we were looked after and guided brilliantly. Weather made the first two mornings a no go for diving due to wind but the staff were completely aware and had an alternative arrangement in place immediately. The trips out were nice but I wouldn't be worried about sticking to the House Reef as there is plenty to see and the night dive is fantastic. The site is pretty remote and geared towards diving so don't expect any entertainment beyond what you provide yourself. Should you want to go out I can recommend the fish restaurant in El Quseir, worked out about £10 sterling per person plus £3.50 sterling for the taxi each way. There is a Reef tax to consider and additional charge on the boat that are not included in the packages, nothing too onerous but adds about £50 sterling to the overall cost, based on one weeks diving. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: There are a variety of layouts to the rooms. The air conditioning was welcome particularly through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After a recommendation from John at Scuba Place and speaking to Steve at the London Dive Show in February, we took a chance and booked a week at Roots. After arriving, checking and settling in we awaited the first dive the following morning. No rushing to the dive centre at ungodly times, after a quick bite for breakfast? No pressure to complete the dives early in the day so the staff can clean up? No rushing back after the mornings' dives to find all the food gone? What was going on? Was this all a wonderful dream? Nope! Roots camp was relaxed and accomodating. Pharoah Dive Club staff ran the Diving like a well oiled machine! Whatever we wanted was no trouble! As we were repeatedly reminded, "You're on Holiday, relax, chill, don't worry! You're on Egyptian Time now!"
I can't praise the staff highly enough! From the technical staff, the dive guides, the boat staff, housekeeping and bar staff, kitchen and chef (even my allergy to peppers was successfully catered for), all of whom went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Special thanks should go to Martina (more paperwork?), Claire (thanks for the kettle) and Moudi (after you've had enough coffee)! The Diving was special, no diver soup or racing the other dive boats to the location. Corals and life in wonderful condition. We saw our first Slipper Lobster and it was huge!
You made us feel welcome and part of a special family! I will recommend you to anyone I care about because I know, with your high standards, no-one will come away wanting! A Safe, relaxed, quiet location. We will be returning soon and will say Hi to you all at the next Dive Show.

Room Tip: If you have any specific needs I would encourage you to contact Claire via their website. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have just returned from my first visit to Roots camp wish I was still there .. Everyone so very friendly patient and helpful . I cannot thank Tito enough for his patience and understanding whilst teaching me to dive,amazingly with his help I passed my open water dive course . The week was amazing .. Outdoor cinema , stars , popcorn .. BBQ on the beach full moon, wonderful food . And fish ,coral and other beautiful sea creatures .Clare ,Steve ,Moudi and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly . I will be going back .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tseptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very quiet, (very) basic, very good. Although not too basic, seeing the swimming pool ...
Excellent house reef (!!!), plenty to discover on several repetitive dives. Goes quite deep too, so plenty of options.
Food is ok and variation is good ... but could benefit from some "added twists". The plain tomato and cucumber, although a healthy option, are less attractive after a few days.
Staff is excellent, helpful and very friendly.
The campfire-evenings are great to have a deco-beer!
Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Close to the restaurant or close to the dive centre/entrance ... that's the only question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Quseir
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, El Quseir
19.9 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#15 of 68 in Marsa Alam
613 reviews
21.3 mi away
Pensee Royal Garden
Pensee Royal Garden
#8 of 11 in El Quseir
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fanadir Holiday Resort
Fanadir Holiday Resort
#9 of 11 in El Quseir
29 reviews
14 mi away
Rohanou Beach Resort & Ecolodge
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort El Quseir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roots Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots Red Sea

Address: 14km North of El Quseir | El Quseir - Safaga Road, El Quseir R1, Egypt (Formerly Roots Luxury Camp)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Quseir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in El Quseir
Price Range: £32 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roots Red Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots Red Sea is situated on the southern part of the Red Sea coast,just north of El Quseir town. Ideally situated between Hurghada and Marsa Alam Airports. We are surrounded by magnificent colourful mountains and unspoilt Red Sea beaches making it both a beautiful and a relaxing destination.There are 3 styles of accommodation, Superior Boutiques & Deluxe Chalets which all have Sea-view,en-suite facilities,AC,flat screen TV and fridge or the standard Eco-Huts with shared facilities and fan giving a more rustic feel. We provide breakfast, lunch and dinner options as well as Soft all-inclusive. On site we have a fresh water swimming pool and volley ball court as well as a 5* Padi Scuba diving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Roots Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing