We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience all around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gridley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gridley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Waterloo B&B and Inns
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely experience all around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were traveling with a group of 6, 4 of whom had never stayed at a B&B and we were all very happy with the beautiful antique home and the inobtrusive but efficient staff. We felt like we had rented a villa along with the help!! Food was very nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
woonsocket r.i.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

What a gem of a place to rest after a busy day of wine touring and sight seeing! We've been staying here each time we go to n.y. and haven't been disappointed yet!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibeaultrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

My daughter and I stayed here during our roadtrip and found it to be all we had hoped it would be. The bedroom (Academy) was adorable and most comfortable and we felt quite safe and secure. While the house was huge and "formal" in appearance, we still had a sense of "small town, down home" comfort and felt right at home. We loved having early morning coffee on the porch. Caren made our breakfast experience very special, serving our delicious meal in courses, by candlelight, with lovely instrumental music playing softly in the background, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We loved that she was willing to take the time to sit and chat with us like old friends rather than treating us strictly as guests! It made our stay all the better. :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustCallMeMarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Very nice bed and breakfast! Beautiful old house, nicely maintained in small town of Waterloo, NY. Lovely people as host and hostess and very good breakfast. Rooms were nicely furnished!

The area is somewhat off the main drag, but that's what we were looking for and it was still easy enough to find a restaurant within driving distance. Would stay there again if in the area.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank babbrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

I stayed at the Gridley B&B in the Fall of 2008 with my daughter and we both really enjoyed our stay. The price was fair and the room was lovely! We stayed in the Academy room with 2 single beds a lovely window seat and private bath at the very end of the hallway looking onto the backyard. It was quiet and clean and very cozy. The breakfasts were amazing first morning we had eggs benedict and the second morning we had crepes.

Fresh juice and fresh strong but not bitter coffee - the perfect way to start the day. I would recommend dinner at Henry B's at nearby Seneca falls - but bring a hearty appetite!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuba-junkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

My stay was absolutely wonderful, warm and the people were great. The place has so much history with character through and through.
It was personable, clean and breakfast and service were outstanding.
I recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to just get away for a quiet weekend.

  • Liked — Service, solitude
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like about this place
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ttmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland area
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Unique property but it was a little dated. We stayed in the Harmony Room and the shower is in the corner of the room with just a curtain. The AC is a portable unit that woke us up several times at night when it cycled. The breakfast was good and we did enjoy sipping wine on the front porch which overlooked the main street in Waterloo, NY.

  • Liked — Front Porch
  • Disliked — The shower stall in the bedroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winer_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
3.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
6.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gridley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gridley Inn

Property: The Gridley Inn
Address: 36 W Main St, Waterloo, NY 13165-1329
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Waterloo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gridley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm and welcoming Victorian Bed and Breakfast, built in 1869. We are nestled in Waterloo, NY, in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Trail. Artisan Cheese Farms, Fine Dining and many other exciting activities are just minutes from our Inn. Our chef will prepare a full service 3 course breakfast each morning. Enjoy dining from our family table where friendships and warm conversations enhance your experience. The Owners live on site and are there to serve you needs. "Come as a Guest, Leave as Family" These the is our motto, and guiding principle we put being each and every guest that walks through our doors. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your The Gridley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing